We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Relais des Plateaux
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Mercer Island, WA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The staff may be this hotel's greatest asset. Every person we encountered made every effort to make our stay pleasant.
Having said that, it is worth adding that this clean modern hotel is a very comfortable facility with a restaurant where we had some great meals.
The room was large and comfortably furnished with a TV which has BBC, so much better than the usual selection of all French stations.
Although our travel agent put us here because it is convenient to the airport. We were apprehensive about possible noise, but it was blissfully quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelhurst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    189
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
52
131
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at in Madagascar when we stumbled off the late flight via Paris.
The swimming pool was lovely the next morning with a very welcome outdoor shower. I managed to burn my English white legs rather badly because it was so nice with a fresh breeze that made me forget how strong the African sun can be.
The food was good and the wifi better and more stable than most places we stayed.
We were there two nights and the location meant a long trip the next day through Tana traffic when we went to see the King's Palace, but Tana traffic would have caused problems wherever we stayed.
I bought a hand woven silk scarf at the hotel shop which the owner, who had been locking up when we arrived, re opened for me. I was pleased (and grateful) that she had, as the scarf was not only more beautiful than most that I saw, but considerably less expensive, which is unusual at a shop in a tourist hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Used the Relais as a base for our many trips around the island. The restaraunt has had a make over since our last visit 2 years ago. Bedrooms extremely comfortable. Food good as ever in very pleasant surroundings. A good hotel to stay as it is so close to the airport

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood Middlesex
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A surprisingly comfortable room in pleasant safe surroundings. Hot shower and good bathroom. Breakfast was pretty good with all the usual continental breakfast offerings and eggs any way if wanted.
We returned here at the end of the holiday and were able to pay the airport tax at the hotel (although they did require cash in Ariary, Euros, Sterling or Dollars, rather than on the credit card - and only accept Visa (not Mastercard)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and supportive looking after my daughter who was travelling unaccompanied, abroad for the first time.

She felt very safe and was extremely well looked after, the rooms and restaurant were excellent and she had no trouble being collected and delivered back to the airport (despite long arrival delays by the airline).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

So glad we choose this hotel!
After a great holiday on the Yacht Gecko (where we've got engaged!), we flew back to Tana, and stay for one night here
When we arrived we didn't have time and energy to go somewhere else for a dinner, so decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant, always a mistake by our experience, but not this time- food, service, presentation deserved 5 star! And at the end of our dinner we got the congratulations cocktails from the hotel
Really nice rooms, friendly service, nice breakfast, what else do you need?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mal2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

About 4 years ago I had a few uncomfortable nights in the Relais, with a threadbare mattress which a room change didn't solve the issue. I capitulated and stayed there again this time around because of logistical importance.

The rooms that I stayed in, room 21, was splendid. The bed was comfortable, the pillows a little lumpy but spotless. But a great stay. I was there for a week this time around and the staff were very attentive and always willing to be of service. The food was good and restaurant service slick. Always a smile and a willingness to assist.

The wifi in the rooms was an issue, but after a reset of the unit, the wifi worked, albeit a slow connection. The wifi in the restaurant was also a bit slow but for email etc it is acceptable, Video Skype is not an option when the broadband is saturated.

I would liked to have seen on the menu a more diverse selection of local meals (Malagasy). I did ask for a local dish and the staff ensured that on the one evening I had a traditional Malagasy meal served. It was delicious! Thank you! It may be an idea to serve a local dish of the day for tourists who would like to try the local fare.

All in all it was a pleasant stay and has won me back as a client.

Room Tip: Rooms set back from the main road are quieter. Suggest between 15 - 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilotdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
263 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
6.4 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
262 reviews
6.7 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
228 reviews
6.7 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#22 of 59 in Antananarivo
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais des Plateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais des Plateaux

Property: Le Relais des Plateaux
Address: Lot 66 B Antanetibe Ivato, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#5 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais des Plateaux 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 7.5 miles from capital city of Madagascar and 5 minutes from Ivato international airport & the International Convention Center in a wooden site of 6,000 sq. meters. Family-owned French & Malagasy hotel created in 2005, furniture is a combination between local tradition and international modernity. The park is full of bird and vegetal species which is part of our success for nature lovers. Buildings are incorporated in this surrounding which makes us "an oasis at the gates of Antananarivo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Relais des Plateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Des Plateaux Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing