We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated for airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Relais des Plateaux
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well situated for airport”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for several individual nights whilst travelling around Madagascar
It is conveniently placed for getting to and from the airport and has a pleasant outdoor swimming pool the restaurant is good but the staff can be stretched when the hotel is full
The rooms are somewhat variable in size and outlook and they may try and put you around the back near staff rooms and kitchen if you are not careful otherwise the hotel is fine

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    182
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
52
129
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Due to a massive mistake by Air France, we found ourselves stuck for 3 days in Antananarivo. Not wanting to face the horreur of the town, we decided to stay at the Relais, and I cannot find enough words to describe the helpfullness, of the reception staff, the comfort of the hotel and the excellent meals provided. Yes, it is not as cheap as most hotels of the country, but you get also a very different kind of service and quality of room. The pool was refreshing and an added bonus during our wait - Thank you everyone for helping us to deal with Air France's incompetence and making our last few days in Madagascar enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for one night transitting through Tana, and the hotel was perfect for this. The staff were very attentive almost to the point of making us feel a little guilty, and the large swimming pool was warm and perfect for the kids after the flights. The food was pretty good, although nothing special, and the beers were cold!

We did feel a little disconnected from Madagascar, and believe there are other good options in town with more character - however this was 10 mins from the airport, so the convenience was worth it.

It was however a little pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSafari_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madagascar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you need to be close to the airport, this spot rules! Super hotel, gorgeous clean rooms, yummy food and service is second to none. The grounds are especially pretty filled with beautiful flora. You don't feel as if you are I. The city when you stay here. Perfect for a solo woman traveller.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed one night at Relais de Plateau at the end of an exciting 3-weeks tour through Madagascar. The rooms (no. 9 & 10) are pretty modern and spacious. The décor of the lounge and restaurant is also modern and appealing.
The rooms are in good condition, with in-room safe and TV with BBC and Euronews (nice after all other places with TV had only French channels). The bathroom was also spacious; soap and shower gel are provided. The layout of the bathroom is not well planned; instead of the large counter with double sinks, it would have been nice to have a bathtub.
The dinner was tasty, and the breakfast buffet had a good selection of items.
WIFI is complimentary and worked well.
The lodge is not too far from the airport which is given Tana’s horrendous traffic a good thing. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProHospitalityCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have had a number of one night stops at this hotel over the years because it is really handy for Tana airport. Although it is close to an incredibly busy road, it is pretty peaceful and the gardens and pool are relaxing for such a location. The rooms are a little 'motel' style and you have to watch the bathroom grilles for invasions of mosquitoes - but they are clean, well equipped and comfortable. Except for room 20! This room and a few near it are squeezed into the site and have no view. What makes room 20 so bad though is that the air conditioning plant is right against its wall so you have a load oppressive throb from machinery all night long.
Dinner is pleasant - limited choice for vegetarians - and breakfast is really good.
Cheerful and welcoming staff, whatever the time of day or night.

Room Tip: Just avoid room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

You don't appreciate hot showers until you've had one here after days of forest trails and cold water showers. Oh and air conditioning - bliss. The friendly local nightjar made a pass across the bottom of the pool one evening whilst I was swimming. The most amazing pudding in the world - a chocolate tour of Madagascar..................... words cannot even begin to describe. Just do it!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
262 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
6.4 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
220 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
242 reviews
6.7 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#22 of 59 in Antananarivo
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais des Plateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais des Plateaux

Property: Le Relais des Plateaux
Address: Lot 66 B Antanetibe Ivato, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#5 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais des Plateaux 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 7.5 miles from capital city of Madagascar and 5 minutes from Ivato international airport & the International Convention Center in a wooden site of 6,000 sq. meters. Family-owned French & Malagasy hotel created in 2005, furniture is a combination between local tradition and international modernity. The park is full of bird and vegetal species which is part of our success for nature lovers. Buildings are incorporated in this surrounding which makes us "an oasis at the gates of Antananarivo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Relais des Plateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Des Plateaux Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing