We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Relais des Plateaux
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near the airport”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay near the airport. Free WIFI all over the area. There are two rooms in one "cabin". Very thin walls, so you can easily hear conversations from the neightbour. Not so fun at nights.. The breakfast is a very easy buffê. Bread, cheese and ham. A lot og juice and omelett. The restaurant it self is beautyful and for dining it's perfect. Friendly staff and a great place to stay for one night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erlend H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    175
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
52
126
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
712 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It is clean, comfortable and close to the airport plus it is walled off with 24 hour security which is a really good thing to have in Magagascar. There are not that many choices in Mada to begin with so if you have to overnight in the capital awaiting a flight this is a good choice.The pool is clean and the restaurant and hotel bar are nice. The food in the restaurant was much improved this time and no issues with noise or wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Relais in December. We are frequent travelers through Antananarivo and have stayed at several hotels in and out of town. Relais has always been ok, but on our last visit there was a wedding, which took over the whole of the hotel for the 2 days we were there. Preparations began on the Friday night, so the dining area was out of action. So for breakfast the next morning. For the whole Saturday the entire hotel was swamped with people, the garden looked like a car park, and hotel guests were sidelined for the party that went on until about midnight. If gate crashing is your thing - no problem, but you could not even use the swimming pool without starting the "how do you know the happy couple" conversation. In any case, most of this could possibly have been overlooked, if it were not for the mediocre breakfast they served the next morning. They then had to audacity to charge me the full adult rate for an English breakfast for a four year old who had a croissant and a piece of (wilted) cheese. As for the rooms - the mattresses are full of knee holes, and the cushions are awful. Cost versus benefit - none, if you consider how expensive the Relais is and what your options are in Tana.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RThompson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cédric T, Responsable commercial at Le Relais des Plateaux, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Mrs Thompson, first of all thank you for your helpful feedback.
Indeed we make sometimes private events, mainly for local population who are charmed by our surrounding. However our priority remains the hotel's guests and we focus on their comfort: We show us particularly present "on the field" to make us available for you during such events as we are aware it can be a bit disturbing. I have to admit that since 8 years we are making this kind of events, this is the first such negative feedback we get as main of our guests look at it with more curiosity and amusement than angriness. I am surprised by your breakfast experience, you should not hesitate to report it as Executives are present all along the day for you (From 6AM to 23 PM). As for the rooms, my surprise remains : Our Mattresses date less than two years ago. Anyhow, I feel sorry that you did not enjoyed your last stay. If you intend to come back, you can count on us to make your next stay much more pleasant. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed one full night and then had a day room at the end of our trip as well. On both occasions he rooms were well furnished and the shower was hot. The staff were very helpful and the restaurant service and food were very good. The bar staff were happy to provide us with a glass of milk free of charge to take back to the room for making tea and coffee. We had no problems with the wifi on either occasion. Our second visit was on a Saturday and I don't know if this is always the case but the pool was extremely busy, I think with local families coming in for lunch and to use the pool for the afternoon, so it wasn't the most relaxing of environments. The pool attendant did help us to find a space and some loungers though so we tucked ourselves away in a corner. All in all, a good airport hotel, quiet and safe behind some big metal gate, very conveniently located and with good food and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for several individual nights whilst travelling around Madagascar
It is conveniently placed for getting to and from the airport and has a pleasant outdoor swimming pool the restaurant is good but the staff can be stretched when the hotel is full
The rooms are somewhat variable in size and outlook and they may try and put you around the back near staff rooms and kitchen if you are not careful otherwise the hotel is fine

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Due to a massive mistake by Air France, we found ourselves stuck for 3 days in Antananarivo. Not wanting to face the horreur of the town, we decided to stay at the Relais, and I cannot find enough words to describe the helpfullness, of the reception staff, the comfort of the hotel and the excellent meals provided. Yes, it is not as cheap as most hotels of the country, but you get also a very different kind of service and quality of room. The pool was refreshing and an added bonus during our wait - Thank you everyone for helping us to deal with Air France's incompetence and making our last few days in Madagascar enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for one night transitting through Tana, and the hotel was perfect for this. The staff were very attentive almost to the point of making us feel a little guilty, and the large swimming pool was warm and perfect for the kids after the flights. The food was pretty good, although nothing special, and the beers were cold!

We did feel a little disconnected from Madagascar, and believe there are other good options in town with more character - however this was 10 mins from the airport, so the convenience was worth it.

It was however a little pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSafari_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
6.4 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais des Plateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais des Plateaux

Property: Le Relais des Plateaux
Address: Lot 66 B Antanetibe Ivato, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#5 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais des Plateaux 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 7.5 miles from capital city of Madagascar and 5 minutes from Ivato international airport & the International Convention Center in a wooden site of 6,000 sq. meters. Family-owned French & Malagasy hotel created in 2005, furniture is a combination between local tradition and international modernity. The park is full of bird and vegetal species which is part of our success for nature lovers. Buildings are incorporated in this surrounding which makes us "an oasis at the gates of Antananarivo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Relais des Plateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Des Plateaux Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing