We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamboho(Antananarivo)
US$190
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Antananarivo)
US$38
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sole Hotel(Antananarivo)
US$31
US$30
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Trois Metis(Antananarivo)
US$48
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belvedere(Antananarivo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Varangue(Antananarivo)
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
62
48
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
48
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree massageold housedrawing roombreakfast roomquiet streetcharming hotelfresh fruitsitting areahot waterfrench stylefree wifitop floorcomfortable bedskudetatanamadagascarcity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Had a very nice stay here in this wonderfully atmospheric old colonial building. Beautifully apponted rooms with en suite facilities. There is a lovely garden and I did think they were missing a trick by not selling drinks during the day. As with everywhere in Madagacar the staff were a delight. The buffet breakfasts were top notch. No evening meals but lots of good options nearby (Particularly recommend 'Chez Suchett's).
The location is good in one of the nicer parts of Tana. Easy walk to Avenue D L'Independance and nearby souvenir shops.
We stayed here at the begining of the holiday when the showers were great and at the end, 3 weeks later, when they were less so. The rooms have TV's but only one English Channel (BBC News 24) and free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure our experience was typical but considering we paid UK three star hotel prices we were not thrilled. We were in room 14, in annexe not main building, which may explain why there was not enough hot water to wash our faces let alone shower (it was a trickle at best). Eventually had to go to another room the next morning to shower.

Wifi wasn't working but that was fixed quite promptly. Safe battery was flat - but we were given a key instead. Hair dryer was difficult to obtain as only one held at reception.

Pros were decent breakfast and lounge area to wait for late flight. Staff sympathetic but only given 10% reduction following fairly significant water problems.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexcat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Of all the hotels we stayed in during our trip around Madagascar this turned out to be the best. A bit surprising since it's not ranked as a luxurious one. But perhaps that's actually why, no snobbish feeling and you can tell that they really enjoy serving their guests.

The hotel is an old charming villa that has a very personal and quirky interior design. We had dinner nearby at a good French bistro, and there seems to be many alternatives to dine at close by.

The rooms are quiet (double soundproofed doors!), has modern bathrooms and very comfortable beds with new linen.

A superb and extensive breakfast and a very attentive and kind service made it a perfect place to return to in Tana.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We had one last night in Madagascar after a month of adventures on our honeymoon . We were upgraded into their biggest room which was full of character . The breakfast was delicious and the hotel was a real haven of peace and tranquility in the middle of Tana which we were not that crazy about . The day of our departure my wife really struggled with stomach cramps , the flight to Europe was not until 2 am and we requested to rent a room at a friendly price for a couple of hours so that she could lie down . The manager at 7 pm did not hesitate and offered it for free which we were incredibly grateful for. This is a place that has soul and deserves their success.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecopreneur01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We were not looking forward to our 2 day stay in Antananarivo but this hotel soon changed our mind. A hotel with great character we had an apartment with a terrific balcony. The staff were fun and friendly. The breakfasts were some of the best we had in Madagascar. Around the hotel are some very good restaurants. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews