We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated”
Review of La Varangue

La Varangue
Ranked #1 of 192 Restaurants in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$66
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: In a cozy atmosphere "" The Restaurant "La Varangue" is open from breakfast to dinner to enjoy in a unique kitchen "World flavors and fragrance of our island" concocted by the chef.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I were looking forward to our dining experience at La Varangue. We were so disappointed at the quality of the main course served. Zebu was tough and the second worst Zebu meal that we had during our 28 day Madagascar trip.

Desert was excellent but did not make up for the poor main.

Meals very pricy and the wine, well, just too expensive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetoootravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at La Varangue, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your constructive review.
We are upset to learn that the zebu served was not up to your expectations.
For over 4 years, our restaurant on Tripadvisor is considered as the best table Tananarive and we regret that you are left unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    128
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants ever”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I adored the charming old fashioned style of the restaurant, which was full of antique objects and which made of that place a warm and welcoming place to spend a good time in couple or with friends.

The cuisine is perfect, tasty and elegantly presented when the dishes come to your table.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Uma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best food in Tana”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The interior is like a marine museum. You will be otpically entertained as you wait for your food and drinks to arrive, which wont be too long too. Within walking distance from Hotel Colbert and Du Louvre

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kintu z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Well worth a visit. Went for dinner while in Tana, and along with the view from the veranda, the food is top quality gourmet. I ordered the Cœur de filet de zébu poêlé, which was cooked to perfection - this is not always possible in a continent where well done steaks is the norm. My desert Crème brûlée ala bière was one of the best I've ever tasted. 5 star food in a good location!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Highly priced”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Not as great as I was hoping. Service great, room and atmosphere excellent just food was OK and expensive for what i received - maybe I was unlucky...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rupertcdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Varangue also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to La Varangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing