We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise - Do not miss while in Tana”

Restaurant Sakamanga
Ranked #3 of 200 Restaurants in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Kfar-Saba , Israel
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise - Do not miss while in Tana”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Sakamanga is an experience ! You need to take your time , stroll in the museum and watch old , some even antique Malgash items . Ask to visit one of the unique hotel rooms Sakamanga can offer .
The menu is rich and interesting , flow with the stream and taste the warm wine as an appetizer,' try to taste as many plates as you can - sharing is a good idea if you want experiencing multiple dishes.

The service is very good and the restaurant is nicely organized . During the two weeks I spent in Tana I visited twice Sakamanga . (The only negative point I have is that they made a significant error on my bill , it only means we need toi check )

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    315
    86
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sucre, Bolivia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, good price, good service”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Had dinner with friends at the restaurant and we were happily surprised. I had foie gras as starter and it was delicious, it melted on my tongue. The mixed kebab was also great and the brownie with coco icecream too. They serve Lavazza coffee, so that made me happy too! Certainly go to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anayim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tananarive, Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great midday self service”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Usually go there for midday self service, and it's really nice for the price...almost all courses are there! However, beverages are quite expensive. But a nice place i would recommand ..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrianaivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We ate here four times during our 2 different stays at the hotel here. Great food and service. Very crowded, good to make reservations.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had a quick mid-afternoon bite to eat here of camembert pizza! It was delicious. The service wasnt great but it could have been because of it being in between the lunch and dinner crowds. This place is like going into a museum! There are so many artifacts and the building itself is an interesting maze of corridors, rooms, going indoors and outdoors. Very interesting place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suebri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Sakamanga also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to Restaurant Sakamanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing