We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
2
3
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
3
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We had a light lunch here, which was delicious. Staff were friendly and seervice good, and the location, sitting at tables on the edge of the lake, very pleasant. The hotel is in a more upmarket part of Ivato and it was so quiet and lacking in the noise and bustle of the main road about 500 metres away.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge R, Propriétaire at Le Lac Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016
Google Translation

Merci de votre visite, on est très honoré de votre séjour, selon notre nouvelle politique de marketing, qui est dans l'investissement du bio. Notre environnement loin de la pollution et des embouteillages quasi permanent de la ville est un atout pour vous détendre auprès de notre hotel qui est une ancienne ferme transformée, relayée de notre passion de se découvrir du monde paysan. Le grand lac devant notre hotel offre à chacun un grand dépaysement illimité avant votre prochaine destination. Veloma vetivety!
Le lac hotel à ambohimarina ivato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

nice staff first of all and beautiful location by the lake. rooms are shabby and in need of repair, rats in room. big drawback is the venue hall next door thats so loud you cant sleep. got to sleep 2ish in the morning so dont stay here weekends. food good though so good place to eat here but needs a desperate revamp

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank keshmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Here are the bullet points:

- inattentive, non-communicative staff
- cockroaches, mosquitos, spiders, ants, and loud beetles in the room; got bitten by bugs in my sleep
- charged more than the advertised price for the room, and refused to change rate when brought to their attention
- my water was turned off briefly, without warning, explanation or apology
- power went out any time there was a rain storm
- poorly-built rooms: holes in the walls and gaps around the doors that let rain pour in, holes in the walls led directly outside and allowed huge insects to crawl directly in
- was not informed there would be construction, day and night, thus the room was rarely quiet and i couldn’t sleep (not just the construction itself, but men yelling in the room next door)
- isolated location, and while they offer rides they’re prohibitively expensive
- the promised 24hr internet access was very unreliable; went out completely any time it rained
- sparse & low-quality amenities (only one roll of toilet paper, lumpy pillows, hard mattress, thin and rough towels, unreliable shower, barely any hot water)

It’s not possible to walk anywhere from the hotel, and yet when I requested a ride to and from a place only 10 minutes away, it cost 148,000 Ar (almost $50). Considering this price and how far it is from anything in Tana, I had to cancel plans because I couldn’t afford the rides.

Even if you are wealthy enough to afford $50 rides down the street, let’s hope you have plenty of cash, in Ar, but also in small enough denominations as to always have exact change. Because even for the largest bills, they will not take cards, or checks, there is no ATM on site, and guess what? You have to pay them to drive you to the nearest ATM. So even getting money costs money.

I was not informed that the restaurant would be closed during my stay. As such, they insisted on driving me to another location for breakfast every morning, and I would often be left there for up to four hours, forgotten while the staff ran errands. One day I informed them upfront that I’d like to leave around 1pm, and I only got picked up at 2pm, when an employee running an errand stopped by the breakfast place.

The few pros— a beautiful view, decent food, and complimentary airport pickup and dropoff— were outweighed by the expensive rides and uncomfortable accommodations. I feel mis-led by the other reviews. Clearly it’s an entirely different hotel when it’s under renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcspringy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

The bungalow - huts look nice, however require better maintenance. The tap at the sink and water flushing of the toilet did not work properly, there was a problem with the lock of the hut.

Other travellers had also maintenance issues. The standard huts are reasonable for 1 person, but for 2 it is tiny, and as triple it is mission impossbible.

Dinner and Breaksfast very good, the restaurant is nicely decorated. Also the garden is very nicely attended.

The big advantage is that the hotel is a minutes walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ushi-Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Under-rated!
Friendly staff, close to the airport but not too close. Right on the lake.
Excellent value.
Restaurant serves cheap tasty local food. Even the beer is reasonably priced.
Kitch décor but clean and well kept.
I'd come here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtommot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews