We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with fun decoration very conveniënt close to airport”
Review of Hotel Au bois vert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Au bois vert
Ranked #1 of 92 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
holland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with fun decoration very conveniënt close to airport”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Nice type of country lodge great to start your travels in mada. Nice decorations And swimming pool in Nice garden too cold in austral winter though. bring sweater. good location if you arrive late of Have to leave early by plane

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    62
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
70
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is not the first time we have stayed at Bois Vert and it will not be the last. The staff are charming and helpful, the restaurant serves an excellent meal with good wine to accompany it.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the attention to detail is good. We particularly love the murals engraved in the cement in each room! Absolutely delightful and a great spot to stay if you are just passing through Tana en route elsewhere. We booked through Madagascat Charters & Travel - another excellent service.

Room Tip: There are great family rooms (Baobab) with plenty of space. The French Onion Soup was superb and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harriet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our group of 8 had day rooms book here for on our last day before leaving Madagascar. When we got there we were pleasantly surprised by the scenic location after winding through narrow streets and the crowded hustle bustle of Tana. What an oasis in the middle of a pine grove and the rooms were very unique loft style with wonderful hot showers and unique décor, we all wished we could stay longer in this spot! the staff were warm and genuine and our dinner experience was just perfect. There is a nice little gift shop, a pool, a relaxing lobby with wifi, a quaint dining room with a fireplace and for a moment you simple forget where you are and what lies outside the hotels walled compound. If I every make it back to Tana this place it # 1 on my list to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Had two overnight stays at Au Bois Vert on first and last nights of our trip. The hotel is located on a large wooded and walled estate about 10 minutes from airport so is very convenient if you arrive late or have to leave early for the airport. Came in quite late due to a delayed flight so was relieved to be met by shuttle and even more surprised that the friendly, thoughtful reception clerk had arranged for supper to be kept warm for us. The pizzas with sundried tomatoes and fresh fruit salads were more than adequate for us. Found the room and bathroom to be spacious, clean with interesting indigenous motiefs. There was an extra double bed on the loft floor.(no privacy if you are sharing). Because of our early departure the clerk also arranged for a basic breakfast. Assistance and shuttle was promptly waiting at our very early morning departure.
On our return to Tana we asked the shuttle driver to take us around the city before dropping us at the hotel for a negotiated fee, Enjoyed a well guided drive around the city that give us a better appreciation for the vibrancy and tempo of Tana as a city and confluences of cultures.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed at Au Bois Vert 2 times in Tana, when we had early flights the next day as the hotel in located only 10 mins from the airport.

Each room we had was 2-storey loft, which could accommodate up to 4 people in 2 double beds. The rooms had Malagasy images etched into the walls, which gives the hotel a lot of personality; it is unlike any other airport hotel I have stayed at previously. The shower was excellent, lots of hot water and good water pressure, the design of the bathrooms is quite funky and they provide wonderful smelling vanilla soap.

There is a nice pool on the grounds and a lovely garden with a resident turtle.

We had dinner both nights and the food was very good, the specialty being zebu steak and most dishes are grilled in the semi outdoor kitchen. The restaurant is decorated with traditional Malagasy arts and crafts and is very atmospheric. One night we had half board and didn’t get a choice with the menu and the other we ordered off the menu. After dinner they offer you some homemade rum, which was delicious.

Breakfast was good, and if you leave before 6am they will provide breakfast the night before which consists of orange juice, some biscuits and a thermos of coffee which is cold in the morning.

Definitely I would recommend staying at Au Bois Vert if you have an early departure from Tana or want to avoid a long drive to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thzeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern new jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Pretty location ... No heat.. Lame breakfast sums it all up. Rooms are very interesting with either being a duplex or triplex with no heat so in all concrete bldgs they got cold at night. Breakfast was a baguette with jam and butter, coffee and juice. Everything else was extra and the restaurant service was slow and not oo friendly. Conveniently located to airport and setting is pretty. Power goes on and off too.

Room Tip: Towards the back of resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
445 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We arrived late so perhaps I should not be surprised that no one was there to meet us. We were told where the keys to the room would be. It was alright, reasonably spacious, with a second bed on the balcony level. The bed on the main level was uncomfortable and too short, sleeping on the bias is not my idea of fun, but you get what you get. The toilet is a separate space leaving a comfortable basin and shower area. I really thought the floor of the shower was cool, large stones placed parallel with small spaces between for the runoff. Really nice design. The water was hot with a strong stream.

Outside the garden area is charming, the hotel is in a grove of tall dreamy trees, very pretty setting.

Breakfast was only a small roll, tea or coffee and some jam and butter, and juice. Eggs are available at extra cost. But the attitude of the young woman seemingly in charge of the restaurant was less than pleasant, bordering on the chilly. She insisted I wait to have breakfast with my friends. I insisted on eating then; a tense standoff and I won. Give me a break!

The reception desk people were equally chilly. I am glad I stayed at the Hotel du Louvre on my return to the capital. I recommend it over this hotel.

Room Tip: I only saw my room. My friends did not have comments one way or the other on their rooms so it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#13 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au bois vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au bois vert

Property: Hotel Au bois vert
Address: Ivato Aeroport, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Au bois vert 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Au bois vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Au Bois Vert Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing