We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night”
Review of Hotel Tamboho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tamboho
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good night”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night after arriving from the US. There is a steep incline to get to the reception area so be prepared. Also there are a lot of steps to get to the rooms. The rooms were clean and spacious with a mini bar available. the breakfast offered was a variety of rolls and bread with fruit and cereal. Eggs were cooked to order. Porters are readily available to help with luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank captain_parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, 16 November 2014
Thanks for your review


Happy to see you next time

Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    73
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
38
11
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here twice in July. Rooms are spacious and clean. The only issue is the large hole which means you can see the person in the bathroom from the bed. Its a little weird! The restaurant is excellent as is the little shopping centre outside as its all within a gated community so very safe for kids etc

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
I am pleased to announce that we have a door to the bathroom and closing the circle on the wall.
You can see the pictures on the tripadvisor site.

Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovoth, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We arrived Antananarivo and were taken straight to this modern, western hotel.
The room was very spacey, with flippers and robes waiting for us. It had a flat screen TV, and a big shower.
But - be prepared for something strange: it has a big round open window between the bathroom and the main room where you sleep. Very little privacy. We asked the reception if there is something that can be done about it, and they told us that all the rooms are like that. They did put on some kind of curtain which improved the situation just a bit. A funny experience, though...
The hotel also has a wifi connection in the reception area, along with a computer for the guests. It has a large, nice outside pool, overlooking antananarivo's rice fields. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Madagascar's hotels.
All in all it was very good, if you have to spent some time in Tana (which you shouldn't, because there is nothing to do there...).

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amnonyarom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your review,

your sincerely

Dimitri Salichon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I highly enjoyed this charming hotel, with the dining area and rooms over looking rice fields with egrets. Sitting on the balcony of my room at the end of the day was lovely. It's location is also within an upper-end, secure shopping area that can provide anything further you may need.

At every level, the staff was exceptionally eager to accommodate guests. The food was good, fresh, and offered a special every day. Internet access was good, but bandwidth could be limited at times. I might suggest the hotel possibly consider adding screen doors on to the sliding doors to the balcony, so guests have an option of shutting off the air conditioning.

Thank you Hotel Tamboho, for such welcome and terrific experience while on business in Tana. My colleagues have widely agreed this is the best hotel to stay in Tana. I hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirportQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your review,

your sincerely

Dimitri Salichon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Great hotel with nice rooms and good food. This was our first and last stop on our honeymoon. The rooms are decent, they have WIFI and TV and you have access to a free universal fridge of drinks in the hall. The only thing I would say, is the rooms have large circular gaps in the walls through to the toilet which we found a bit odd. The food is fantastic and also decent portion sizes. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, 16 November 2014
Thanks for your review
we already close the gaps with a woven circulare windows for more privacy.

Happy to see you next time

Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I loved every minute of my stay there - from the decor to the staff - they went the extra mile to make me feel at home and help with taxis etc. The pool was quite nice as well and the massage was good (need to book in advance). The food was great - I binged while there - that was how good it was! :) Definitely recommended for a stay.

Room Tip: Liked all the rooms I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ier J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, 16 November 2014
Thanks for your review and for your recommendation


Happy to see you next time

Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Small and charming hotel. I been to other hotels but liked Tamboho very much: Clean rooms, good food, good service, friendly staff and a nice view on the lake and rice fields. The downside is there's not many TV Channels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks you for your opinion.
We will thinking to add some TV channel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
5.8 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
259 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
0.9 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#12 of 59 in Antananarivo
242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamboho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamboho

Property: Hotel Tamboho
Address: Tana Water Front | Ambodivona, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamboho 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an exceptional location, with a combination of authenticity and modernity, in a peaceful atmosphere, close to downtown and the business district. This boutique hotel is ideal to stroll around Antananarivo, and get into its specificities: the Zoma market, the Independance Avenue, the Queen's Palace, the Tsimbazaza zoo with Madagascar's Nature's beauties, the lemurs, the various handicrafts markets, wood sculptures, semi precious and precious stones.The Tamboho hotel and restaurant comprises 30 air-conditioned rooms with all the required comfort, offering a refined cuisine serving European meals as well as delicious local and spicy flavored dishes.You will enjoy the designed style of the lobby, the western services quality with all the Malagasy charming care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tamboho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamboho Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing