We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Booking.com
£51
No prepayment needed
Agoda.com
£37
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
29
62
23
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
62
23
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff were fantastically friendly and helpful and English was spoken by a number. Renovation work was going on when we stayed there (one night, July 2014) which makes it a little hard to review but the pool looked fine, our room was good and the breakfast was excellent. I consider the location useful as well. This is not really a 'holiday' hotel (I don't think), more of a businessman's place; it is clean and comfortable and convenient - which is why we stayed there. We stayed at Grand Mellis because our Transport Premiere Classe bus to Mahajanga departs from this hotel. Staying here meant we didn't have to traipse around Antanarivo at 0545...

But I would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Titus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rishi Chandarana, Propriétaire at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2023

Good morning
Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion on our establishment. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the services.
We hope to welcome you soon among us
The Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at the Mellis for 3 nights and enjoyed a great service, a spacious and very clean room with all the facilities i need! Location was just perfect, hope to be back soon when i am back in Madagascar

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ketan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rishi Chandarana, Propriétaire at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2023

Good morning
Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion on our establishment. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the services.
We hope to welcome you soon among us
The Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Really nice place with good facilities, though note that they are undergoing construction at the moment. Gym is small but has the basics. Pool is also small but you can manage laps if you are determined and not prone to nausea. Breakfast has granola and fruit for vegans. Otherwise, meats and cheese, bread, eggs cooked to order. There is a great assortment of homemade jams. There is a great shower, bed is lovely, everything is clean, and they also provide a kettle. My only complaint was that noise from the corridor resounds throughout the rooms. Staff is very helpful. Restaurant is fabulous.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Brenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rishi Chandarana, Propriétaire at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2023

Good morning
Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion on our establishment. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the services.
We hope to welcome you soon among us
The Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Matching cost to value for money staying at Le Grand is worth every cent, its not a quiet environment but it sure does help you relax with a small selection of a spa and a gym to sweat out tention from your system. If you have to spend less than 3 days or are transiting on work or holiday basis then it`s a deal.

Room tip: Request for a terrace room
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 660victorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rishi Chandarana, Propriétaire at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2023

Good morning
Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion on our establishment. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the services.
We hope to welcome you soon among us
The Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Tana is a difficult city to love, and has that hard edge noticeably absent in the rest of Madagascar. A steady stream of migrants flock to the city from the provinces and there sadly isn't enough opportunity to go round.
With that it mind it is more reassuring to have something safe and comfortable, and may be worth paying that bit more to ensure you do. We travelled to Madagascar with an agency and another hotel was nominated for our last night in the country at first, which changed to the Grand Mellis upon arrival. The agency were generally very good, but this was one of the bum notes. The Grand Mellis is serviceable and has pleasant staff, but has little else to recommend it.

Our room was clean, but dated and tired looking. Moreover, it had that unmistakable reek of old tobacco that suggested "no smoking" was taken with a pinch of salt or refurbishment was long overdue.

There is a restaurant out front, with a decidedly canteen-like ambience and an unremarkable menu. It is plonked in the mid of the bustle of the bar and reception desk, so there isn't much peace or quiet. The fact that not one solitary table in the place failed to rock was another irritation. It doesn't cost the earth not to have see-sawing tables, as opposed to having to improvide with folded coasters to correct the thing.

I suppose our negative take on it was coloured by the fact that it was the last night of our honeymoon, and romance and the Grand Mellis are at opposite ends of the compass, but it is a 2-star business hotel at best. Even then you'll be discussing your affairs in a fairly open reception area, so privacy is a non-starter. At least in that respect it is quite central, just off of Avenue de L'Indpendance, so that is a redeeming feature. Breakfast is a boring buffet affair with a mix of low grade luncheon, chewy pastries and tar coffee. Sub-par for Madagascar, where the food is generally decent despite modest resources.

If you're on a budget and not fussed about cutting corners, it is a decent option, otherwise go elsewhere and treat yourself.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rishi C, Guest Relations Manager at Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We want to thank you for the review you posted. It is important for us to enquire about our clients opinions.

For your information, we are trying hard to ameliorate our services step by step. It is taking time, we move slowly but surely.

For instance, comfort in rooms is planned to be renewed this year. We have already brought some changes, however big work will come later. Carpets will be replaced into tiles in rooms this year. Despite our « no smoking » notice people still smoke in the area. Room and lobby are ventilated everyday to avoid such unpleasant smell in the hotel. But we hope to find a better way to fix these inconveniences.

The restaurant is separated in two hall. As you already noticed, one is located near the bar and the reception desk. But we have also a better place behind the lobby where you can fully appraciate intimacy and it is unfortunate you could not enjoy it last time, as far as diner and private business or affairs are discussed.

We also hired a new director in charge of the restaurant to improve quality of food and service. Breakfast is a buffet but the basis are pastries and we are trying every day to serve new hot dishes.

We are taking much consideration on all of your remarks and we will ensure your next stay at Grand Mellis will be better.

We hope to see you again

Good bye from Grand Mellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews