We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orchid Hotel, Antananarivo, Madagascar to be avoided Chris of DBN”
Review of Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchid Hotel
Ranked #56 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Orchid Hotel, Antananarivo, Madagascar to be avoided Chris of DBN”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Orchid Hotel, Antananarivo, Madagascar

I walked in for breakfast and nearly brought up the smell of old overcooked rancid oil.
The chairs awere stained with spilt liquids, well-worn carpet & general dirty.
The offering was Chinese, American or French breakfast. I choose American.
Which consisted of fruit salad various breads a greasy omelette and coffee, which I ate with the flies on the patio.

The room has dirty carpets, uncomfortable mattress linen well worn.
The internet did work.
The hotel has no ambiance or soul. the staff were unfriendly.
All in all unpleasant.
find another hotel if you can.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    10
    4
    11
See reviews for
4
11
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed there one night thanks to Air Madagascar (cancelled flight from Tamatave making us miss the connection to Paris).
The hotel is old, dirty and not friendly at all.
It's close to the airport and that's the only positive thing.
Malagsy food is not good (and sometimes they don't know the menu...), Chinese is ok but very difficult to understand how the menu works even if you are fluent in French.
Staff isn't friendly except a few at the bar.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antananarivo hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We spent 1 night here before we moved to another hotel. This is a cookie cutter Chinese Hotel without much ambiance or soul. The rooms are large but the furnishing and bathroom utilities look a bit tired, a surprise since this is relatively a new hotel. You also need to use your best Chinese in order to understand the remote and AC control (just press every button; sooner or later you will have what you need). The restaurant and bar area is way too bright. We sat in the outdoor terrace over the pool which was a nice and cooler spot. The server we had was new (I hope) and hopelessly lost in terms of understanding the menu and her required duties (pouring water into a half full glass of wine / not knowing what made up certain dishes etc. etc). For those so inclined there is quite a gaggle of Tana’s finest (or not) readily available at and for your service.

Room Tip: Apparantly you can jog on the treadmill without any shoes!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guru57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk,
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

2 good things about this hotel - its proximity to the airport and its WiFi connections. Otherwise hard to find anything good to say.

Room Tip: Try to find a night when they don't have a pool party
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandPNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, TX
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Our flight to Tana from Ft Dauphin was delayed until a late night arrival so we had our FT Dauphin hotel book the Orchid for us because we heard another tourist mention that it was a pleasant hotel. Their van met us and we were delighted with the room--a Marriott look-alike complete with free wi-fi!!! Also had a flat-screen TV showing CNN, a French station and a London station that showed Indian novellas all day and night! Fascinating.

Breakfast was ok.

We took a taxi into town and walked around. We never felt threatened--harassed somewhat but not threatened. Had lunch at the Sakamanga Hotel which we highly recommend. We had tea at Colbert Hotel which we also highly recommend.

They have a website--just google Ochid Hotel.

It is Chinese-owned and impeccably tidy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This hotel is less than 10 mins from the airport. It is very clean, the rooms are comfortable and shower is good. It has a bank and duty free at the lobby level.
After visiting several hotels nearby, this is the cleanest by far, and we felt secure. The Chinese restaurant serves relatively authentic Chinese cuisine and I loved the fresh milk egg tarts that were freshly baked upon order. Although generally expensive compared to the nearby hotels, it is average by international standards. It is about 30 mins drive to the city, but if on business, this is great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.3 mi away
Les Hautes Terres Hotel
Les Hautes Terres Hotel
#53 of 59 in Antananarivo
27 reviews
6.1 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de L'Avenue - Tana City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#50 of 59 in Antananarivo
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunny Garden Hotel
Sunny Garden Hotel
#28 of 59 in Antananarivo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Property: Orchid Hotel
Address: Lot 472 Me, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing