We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of a perfect stay”
Review of Saha Forest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antananarivo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saha Forest Camp
Ranked #7 of 106 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Saha Forest Camp surpassed my expectations at every turn. We found a brochure for it in our hotel, and decided to go without any knowledge of what was really in store, and we are incredibly glad we chose it. We were picked up by a driver for the Camp and driven about 3 hours north of Tana to the nearest village, where we turned off the main road and continued on a rural dirt road for another 8 kilometers. When the road runs out, it is another 1/2 kilometer walk - at most - to the camp, situated in the most beautiful setting.

The Camp sits on a hill overlooking some small rice paddies and the protected forest area beyond, and after crossing a long bridge over the rice, you find yourself at the steps of a beautiful open air lodge / restaraunt. The "rooms" are individual huts with everything you need, beds, a bathroom with shower and toilet, and a balcony with great views of the surroundings; all of the huts face the forest. They're rather simply adorned, which only adds to the wonderful setting and feeling of relaxation. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the staff was extremely friendly.

We took a guided hike for 4+ hours through the forest, and our guide was also great; it seemed they really tried the entire time to be accomodating, even though we spoke only english and a few words of french; our guides and hosts knew enough english to convey everything, and they really seemed like they were trying to get us as much information as they could and have us enjoy our stay.

At the risk of going on and on, I'll stop here, but to close I have to say that I cannot recommend this place enough for a few days of relaxation and exploring the beautiful forest and village surrounding the Camp. Everything was perfect, and I would love to return again.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, all of the rooms were equal, and shared in the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJerseyTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abie_et_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank layla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die obigen Fragen sind für die Lodge nicht relevant, jeder Bungalow ist perfekt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
42.8 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
405 reviews
42.3 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
41.4 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#52 of 59 in Antananarivo
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
43.8 mi away
Central Hotel Tana
Central Hotel Tana
#29 of 59 in Antananarivo
75 reviews
43.8 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#16 of 59 in Antananarivo
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saha Forest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saha Forest Camp

Address: Andreba-Anjozorobe, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range: £47 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A forest lodge at the gates of Antananarivo A stay at Saha Forest Camp will give you the opportunity to participate in the development of the village community, owner of the facilities and direct beneficiary of the project 2 hours' drive from the capital, in the district of Anjozorobe, Saha Forest Camp is offering you the simplicity of its facilities in harmony of the environment. Nestling in the heart of a humid tropical forest, a terrace opening onto a green landscape is at your disposal in each of its 10 elegant double tented lodges. The restaurant and its large raised terrace are an invitation to relaxation and quietness. As it is located inside a protected area, those who love hiking will be able to admire extraordinary fauna and flora while enjoying thematic tours that can be adjusted to everyone's pace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saha Forest Camp Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing