We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel, handy for airport”
Review of Le Combava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Combava
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The rooms are really nice, big and clean. The showers are great and the beds comfortable. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and the food in the restaurant is good (dinner better than breakfast). It's really convenient for the airport and is close to the huge handicraft market. Would recommend for short stays in Tana.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the sunset over the paddyfields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday_postcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here for one night only during our holiday in Madagascar, to be closer to the airport than the Lokanga Hotel where we had previously stayed - see review.
Room was large and had a small kitchen area in it. It was clean and well presented.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening, from which we weren't expecting too much to be honest, but the food and service was very good.
The hotel is on what appears to be a ring road in 'Tana', but it was very quiet, and we could not hear any noise from outside. Unfortunately the bed was rather too soft for our liking. Staff were helpful, for example providing a hair drier immediately when we asked for one.
If you need to stay nearer to the airport, this is a very good hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cocoa room on the second floor, which was large and very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spenceleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very reasonably priced stay, inclusive of breakfast. Room had a small kitchenette, sitting space and comfortable bed. The television magically turned on just as we were falling asleep, and it happened to be a CNN special we were excited to see.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozReliefWorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Combava has nice rooms and a superb staff. The restaurant was very good, with a lot of daily specials. And, if you ask, they can even go beyond that.

The staff was responsive and helpful.

The only odd thing is that I had almost a suite (sitting area, sleeping area, kitchenette) but the bathroom had the smallest shower stall I have ever experienced. I understand the at least some of the rooms have tub/shower combination.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinecone-sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Very nice staff, large room and great air conditioning. However, they have a problem with food poisoning. The third night I was there I got so sick and dehydrated I had to go to our company nurse and get IV's and antibiotics. She told me I'm not the first to have gotten sick from eating here. But others at work rave on how great it is to eat there, so your experience may vary. I was sick for 3 days and moved hotels because I couldn't trust the food.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were put here by our travel agent when our trip went wrong. We stayed for 1 night. I will try not to be too negative but the fact is the room we stayed in had bed bugs. We were on our honeymoon! Top of the stairs, 2nd right. The room is spacious but more like a motel with a mini kitchen. After pointing out the bites, they did let us move rooms, but by then half of my body was covered in bites!
They did us a nice takeaway breakfast as we were leaving early. My husband ate in the restaurant, the food was average, service very good.
The hotel is close to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikki781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The first time, i went to Combava, and after 2 years of staying in Tana, i quoted it as my best lunch i had since my arrival in Tana.
The second time, i ordered exactly the same, and it was unfortunately a deception.... Of course, the food was not bad, but it did not reach the delicacy of the first time.... a pity there is no consistence in restaurant in Tana.... but it is still a very good one!

(i cannot review the hotel as i didnt stay there...)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tioioyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
2.4 mi away
Garden Square
Garden Square
#32 of 59 in Antananarivo
16 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
393 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Le Chat'o Park Hotel
Le Chat'o Park Hotel
#18 of 59 in Antananarivo
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Palace Hotel
White Palace Hotel
#40 of 59 in Antananarivo
4 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Combava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Combava

Address: Ambodihady route digue Aeroport | Bp 8271, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £57 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle way between the International Airport and the town, Le combava will enchant you with his typical rooms, tropical garden and beautiful landscape. Each room is differently decorated. Warm colors or pastel colors, fragrances from Vanilla room to Telomiova room, le Combava will amaze you with the marriage of the traditional Antananarivo and the comfort of modernity. All rooms are equipped with air conditioner/heater, TV-sat, mini-bar, dining room, lounge, safe box , Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Combava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Combava Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing