We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice close to the airport”
Review of Meva Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meva Guest House
Ranked #10 of 102 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in one of the rooms separate from the main house, and it was great, with a verandah to relax on and a huge bathroom with ample hot water. There's tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and they even had our names written on a little blackboard to welcome us. The bed was comfortable and we had no complaints. It's a pretty place and excellent for relaxing at before your flight. Ours was very early morning so they kindly gave us a little packed breakfast in a cute basket to take with. They helped us order a pizza the night before (very good pizza at that) and we had free use of the dining room area and the wifi and so on. They provide filtered drinking water and it's a good experience all round. I don't think you'd want to venture outside the walls of the guest house, as there probably isn't much to see or do, but certainly recommended as a place close to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarveyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in Meva Guest House for three nights and we absolutely loved it!
The house and the rooms are beautiful.
It's only about a 15 minutes ride to the airport which was very convenient.
Best of all are the very friendly and helpful owners and all the employees of Ramartour (their office is located next to the Meva Guest House). The young and motivated team was picking us up from the airport, taking us to local restaurants and bars, guiding us through Tana and helped us organize a trip through Madagascar.
I can highly recommend Meva Guest House and Ramartour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClemensCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed for 2 mights, 1 at the start and 1 at the end of our trip to Madagascar at part of a Ramartour trip. The guest house is tucked away in a little suburb about 30 mins drive from the centre dependent on traffic! (Which in Tana can be bad!) And only 10 mins from the airport so good for a layover.
We stayed in the bungalow separate from the main house. It was spacious, clean and comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing stay. Nice verandah overlooking lush tropical gardens. Staff always happy to help. Nice generous breakfast to help start the day. Would definitely stay again if we return to Madagascar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here to start off our visit with Ramartour. The tour company owns the guest house and it's a nice place to stay. The rooms are comfortable with modern bathrooms. Little extras like edible goodies and a sign with your names in the room make it feel welcoming. Breakfast isn't anything special, but is filling and has a variety of options. The rooms are quite chilly if you stay during the winter months, but they provide a shelf full of extra blankets just for that purpose. Because it's outside of town, you get a quiet nights sleep without any city noises. It's a great place to stay if you are coming are going out of Tana. If you want to explore Tana, I would suggest a place more centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The team of Ramatour is absolutely amazing. They made us feel safe and home.

We compared many tour agencies and they made the best offer and tailored a tour to our wishes which was perfect.

We loved Ramatour and Meva Guest House and we can highly recommend it.

Clemens and Bernhard

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcapek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here in Sept/Oct 2012 on 3 seperate occasions between different legs of our trip organised by Ramartours. We stayed in a different room each time and all were lovely, spacious and clean. Wendy and Jonah are lovely and even had a few little treats organised for my birthday when our flights were changed at the last minute by the flight operator. The Guesthouse is close to the airport but quite a bit out of the centre of the city. There is no restaurant on site but we got takeaway pizza a couple of nights when we were really tired and the lovely Farah (hope I've spelt that right) of Ramartours booked us a table at the amazing restaurant La Varangue for my 30th which was absolutely gorgeous and a real treat. She also organised a driver for us to bring us there and collect us. All in all would highly recommend the guesthouse, using Ramartours to organise your tour and most importantly visiting Madagascar which is a dream destination, especially if you like your wildlife.

Room Tip: The seperate rooms from the main house offer you extra privacy and are really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Meva guesthouse is a very nice and clean B &B ! We loved it ! Although Wendy and Jonah were not there, the familie staff welcomed us very friendly en toke good care of us! Also there travelorganisation, ramartour, is really good! They try to do everything to make your trip a fantastic experience !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.0 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#18 of 59 in Antananarivo
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#15 of 59 in Antananarivo
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brajas
Hotel Brajas
#39 of 59 in Antananarivo
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Jeanne
Chez Jeanne
#8 of 102 in Antananarivo
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Aina
Chez Aina
#4 of 102 in Antananarivo
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meva Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meva Guest House

Address: Lot 70 E Imerinafovoany Talatamaty, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range: £24 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meva Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Talatamaty area. Our guesthouse is only a 10 minutes drive from Ivato international airport and 15 minutes from the big handicraft market. We speak English, French and Malagasy, A friendly and homely place to stay in Antananarivo whether for one night while waiting for a flight, or as a base for visiting the Capital, we can cater for Holidaymakers, Families and Business men. For longer stays we offer self catering rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Meva Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meva Guest House Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing