We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop over hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Continent Hotel
Ranked #54 of 92 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stop over hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here on our arrival in Madagascar after 11 hour flight it is so nice to be meet by friendly staff as we were here.
Big plus is its location it is no more than 5 minutes from the airport.
Overall stayed here twice on our arrival then on evening we left Madagascar after a days internal transfer as a place to rest, shower and eat
Hotel is fine, clean with well prepared food, if you are looking for 5 stars then its not for you however if its value for money then it's well worth considering.

Room Tip: We stayed in 101 and then 102 both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
14
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middleton on sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

if your in transit around Tana then this is the hotel of choice, its close to the airport (but not too close to get all the noise) its clean and does the job.
it doesnt have mosquito nets in all the rooms which is quite anoying but the rooms are a good size and all the ones we saw had Air Con and good views.
its out of the main town so i wouldnt recormened it for a stay if you are planning on staying in Tana but as an airport stopover it ticks all the boxes.
we ate there twice and both occasions were good, nice food and we had tranditional music being played live while we were there.

when we were there the pool didnt look that clean, was a good size but didnt look like super clean water

Room Tip: downstairs rooms were nicer but louder (with people leaving for the airport at all hours)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We spent one night at the IC Hotel during an overnight transit stop, catching a flight early the next morning. Great location, only about 5 min drive from the airport terminal and you don’t have to battle any of Tana’s notorious traffic. The hotel is located down a narrow back alley in a local neighborhood, several 100m from the main road. If you want to eat out, it is about a 15min walk down the main road to some good eateries like Gastro Pizza and only about 5min from Le Cheval Blanc restaurant. Otherwise you have to eat in the hotel. We opted to eat out.

The hotel itself is fairly nice, but definitely showing its age in places. It could use a little more maintenance and upkeep. The grounds are well kept and attractive, including an inviting looking pool, which looked nice and clean. There are reasonably good views over the surrounding neighborhood and fields.

The room was of fairly good size, clean and comfortable, with a nice wooden floor, however it was very dimly lit at night – you need a flashlight if you want to read. The room had a good AC, small TV, and a small fridge, and was nicely decorated with Madagascar art. There was a nice little balcony but the surrounding wooden railing was rotting away and not very stable. Free Wifi was a nice bonus. We had no problems whatsoever with the hot water in the room and enjoyed nice hot showers.

The hotel provides a pick-up and drop-off service to and from the airport and charge a minimal amount to do this – really a handy service. All staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay.

I would recommend this hotel to all travelers for an overnight transit stop near Ivato airport. Otherwise, you are better off just staying in Tana. I would definitely stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My trip that I'd booked started at this hotel, so hence why I booked. I really wished I hadn't though. This hotel is in a very undesirably location, with nothing that you can walk to close by - it really is down a back alley!

Don't beleive the photos - the swimming pool is a green pool of algae, with broken furniture around it - certainly not the blue inviting water that the picture shows and there were loads of kids running around the hotel too, which was a little off-putting

The rooms to be fair aren't bad and the beds quite comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are old, cracked and we barely got a trickle of water from the shower. No hot water whilst we were there either and a warning that the water is muddy (which it was!)

Breakfast wasn't great. The french bread was stale and the dining room isn't an appealing space either

I would not recommend this hotel. If you want somewhere close to the airport, that is more comfortable, friendly and the same price, go to the Ivato hotel instead

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antananarivo hotels

Suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We had use of a day room at the IC hotel, for our transfers to and from Ivato airport.
Ideally situated, a couple of minutes from the airport, but relatively quiet. There is also a good sized pool.
The room was spacious, tastefully decorated, lovely wood floor, enormous bed (equally enormous mosquito net) and large en-suite with bath.
All sounds good.
However, there was no hot water! (I even left the tap running for a good 15 mins, in hope it might just be slow to come through).
There was no explanation when I enquired at reception. They were able to give us a kettle, so could wash and have a shave.

This in no way spoiled our trip. We might have just been unlucky, the water had all been used by other guests?
But we had a day room twice here, both at start and end of our 2 week trip. Once in the early hours of the morning, the other late afternoon. Very unlucky?
I would perhaps expect this at a lower quality hotel out in the sticks. But the IC is priced at the higher end of the budget range. Surely hot water is a basic necessity.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beerwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#40 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anjary Hotel
Anjary Hotel
#34 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Hautes Terres Hotel
Les Hautes Terres Hotel
#53 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Continent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Continent Hotel

Property: Island Continent Hotel
Address: Lot 043 MMAII, Mamory Ivato | Tana 105 Ivato, Antananarivo, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small structure of 2 stars in the suburb of Antananarivo, 3 minutes from Ivato International airport. Very handy for people on transit and also people avoiding the heavy traffic jam in town. Composed with nice and cosy 10 standard rooms with mini bar,TV with TV sat, hair dryer, ensuite bathroom. Internet with Optic fiber for free. Large swimming-pool of black colour to keep the water warm when guest swims in the evening. Price is 44 eur per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Continent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Continent Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing