We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Continent Hotel
Ranked #54 of 92 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a group. The hotel is well located close to the airport, which is a bonus after seeing what the traffic is like into the city. The staff are friendly and helpful, though the service was slow. The rooms are spacious overlooking the pool. We stayed here for 1 night on 3 occasions during our tour as a convenient stopover between flights, so I had 2 different rooms. They had a large king- size bed and a day bed, which meant one of us had to sleep on the daybed since we were sharing and wanted a twin room. The first room had a fridge that worked, the shower was ok. there was nowhere to hang anything up and nowhere to put a wet towel. There were no mosquito nets, but I don't think Tana is an area to worry about malarial Mosquitos and as long as you use insect repellent it isn't a problem.
We ate in the hotel as a group and were well looked after. Food was average and after travelling around we discovered that generally food was not terribly exciting in most places we stayed. As our flights out of Tana were usually early morning breakfast was brief and not very exciting. French bread and jam or honey, yogurt, bananas, an omelet or cold pancakes and watery juice.
I wouldn't want to stay here for more than 1 night, but for convenience as a stop en route to the airport it's acceptable.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LareineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
14
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nashville
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My group of fifty-two stayed here one night before flying out to Paris. Tana was so much cooler than Mahajanga that we were instantly more comfortable. Many rooms had shortcomings...no TV, or slow drains, for example. Some had fridges, most did not. Generally sketchy upkeep. We were served good meals, and found the staff to be very friendly. Super close to the airport. One night stop over O.K.. Would not book a week there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jostvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Having been in hotels across Africa, I don't expect too much, but this was one of the worst. The rooms had no mosquito nets, which was a problem in my room as the windows/doors did not fit at all. I asked for someone to come and fix it, and despite the promise noone did.
I used gaffer tape where the gaps were small, but the large gaps took duvet and sheets and mats to block up the holes. There was no light in the toilet or shower, nor did rooms have the other facilities mentioned in the website.
Breakfast was a piece of french bread with jam, and bad coffee, juice with insects in it. Avoid eating there in the evening, despite having an a la carte menu they were very reluctant to cook from it, trying to sell the expensive buffet, which was not served until after 8pm. Many of the drinks on the bar menu were not available.
The pool was rather murky, and the chairs had no cushions so rather uncomfortable. On Saturday there was a loud open air disco at the compound next door for much of the afternoon/evening

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool (south facing) they have to listen to the loud disco in the next compoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antananarivo hotels

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here on our arrival in Madagascar after 11 hour flight it is so nice to be meet by friendly staff as we were here.
Big plus is its location it is no more than 5 minutes from the airport.
Overall stayed here twice on our arrival then on evening we left Madagascar after a days internal transfer as a place to rest, shower and eat
Hotel is fine, clean with well prepared food, if you are looking for 5 stars then its not for you however if its value for money then it's well worth considering.

Room Tip: We stayed in 101 and then 102 both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton on sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

if your in transit around Tana then this is the hotel of choice, its close to the airport (but not too close to get all the noise) its clean and does the job.
it doesnt have mosquito nets in all the rooms which is quite anoying but the rooms are a good size and all the ones we saw had Air Con and good views.
its out of the main town so i wouldnt recormened it for a stay if you are planning on staying in Tana but as an airport stopover it ticks all the boxes.
we ate there twice and both occasions were good, nice food and we had tranditional music being played live while we were there.

when we were there the pool didnt look that clean, was a good size but didnt look like super clean water

Room Tip: downstairs rooms were nicer but louder (with people leaving for the airport at all hours)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We spent one night at the IC Hotel during an overnight transit stop, catching a flight early the next morning. Great location, only about 5 min drive from the airport terminal and you don’t have to battle any of Tana’s notorious traffic. The hotel is located down a narrow back alley in a local neighborhood, several 100m from the main road. If you want to eat out, it is about a 15min walk down the main road to some good eateries like Gastro Pizza and only about 5min from Le Cheval Blanc restaurant. Otherwise you have to eat in the hotel. We opted to eat out.

The hotel itself is fairly nice, but definitely showing its age in places. It could use a little more maintenance and upkeep. The grounds are well kept and attractive, including an inviting looking pool, which looked nice and clean. There are reasonably good views over the surrounding neighborhood and fields.

The room was of fairly good size, clean and comfortable, with a nice wooden floor, however it was very dimly lit at night – you need a flashlight if you want to read. The room had a good AC, small TV, and a small fridge, and was nicely decorated with Madagascar art. There was a nice little balcony but the surrounding wooden railing was rotting away and not very stable. Free Wifi was a nice bonus. We had no problems whatsoever with the hot water in the room and enjoyed nice hot showers.

The hotel provides a pick-up and drop-off service to and from the airport and charge a minimal amount to do this – really a handy service. All staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay.

I would recommend this hotel to all travelers for an overnight transit stop near Ivato airport. Otherwise, you are better off just staying in Tana. I would definitely stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My trip that I'd booked started at this hotel, so hence why I booked. I really wished I hadn't though. This hotel is in a very undesirably location, with nothing that you can walk to close by - it really is down a back alley!

Don't beleive the photos - the swimming pool is a green pool of algae, with broken furniture around it - certainly not the blue inviting water that the picture shows and there were loads of kids running around the hotel too, which was a little off-putting

The rooms to be fair aren't bad and the beds quite comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are old, cracked and we barely got a trickle of water from the shower. No hot water whilst we were there either and a warning that the water is muddy (which it was!)

Breakfast wasn't great. The french bread was stale and the dining room isn't an appealing space either

I would not recommend this hotel. If you want somewhere close to the airport, that is more comfortable, friendly and the same price, go to the Ivato hotel instead

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#40 of 59 in Antananarivo
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anjary Hotel
Anjary Hotel
#36 of 59 in Antananarivo
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
#19 of 59 in Antananarivo
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#7 of 59 in Antananarivo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Continent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Continent Hotel

Property: Island Continent Hotel
Address: Lot 043 MMAII, Mamory Ivato | Tana 105 Ivato, Antananarivo, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small structure of 2 stars in the suburb of Antananarivo, 3 minutes from Ivato International airport. Very handy for people on transit and also people avoiding the heavy traffic jam in town. Composed with nice and cosy 10 standard rooms with mini bar,TV with TV sat, hair dryer, ensuite bathroom. Internet with Optic fiber for free. Large swimming-pool of black colour to keep the water warm when guest swims in the evening. Price is 44 eur per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Continent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Continent Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing