We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best attraction around Antananarivo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lemurs' Park

Lemurs' Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.00*
and up
Full-Day Antananarivo, Ambohimanga and Lemurs Park Private Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best attraction around Antananarivo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

In my opinion, this is the attraction I preferred in Antananarivo area. I rented a taxi for a full day (went at Lemurs Park in the morning, Ambohimanga in the pm).

In the Lemurs Park, you'll find 9 species of lemurs (2 nocturnal lemurs), some chameleons and some turtles. All of them aren't in cage, which is nice since they can freely move. The lemurs aren't afraid anymore of the visitors, so if you keep a safe distance you'll enjoy the experience and be able to take some nice photos. Guide I had was really competent and I learned a lot of things. Another good thing about the park, is that it's employing 30 locals (it's a bit out of Tana).

I would suggest to do in the morning since lemurs are more active early in the day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank b-noy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    216
    56
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

While this is by no means the best way to see the lemurs, it is worth a visit. You can get very close to the lemurs so it makes for good pics, I feel it's better to get out into the rainforest and see them completely free. Saying thus though, our guide was good and informative. Nice way to spend a morning or afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesinTana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3,368 reviews
1,906 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,523 helpful votes
“Plenty of Lemurs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is worth the effort of braving Antananarivo traffic! Entry fee of 20,000 MGA + guide tip and park closes at 4.30pm. You need about an hour to wander around and see the lemurs (accompanied by a guide). The lemurs are quite friendly and it's possible to get remarkably close, although they tend to move fairly quickly so a DSLR is probably a good bet.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This place is absolutely fabulous!!! Definitely a must! All kind of lemurs walking around you and quite frienly.
Remark: Credit cards not accepted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could get very close to the lemurs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The staff at the park are working hard to make a nice habitat for the lemurs and the lemurs are free to come and go as they please. They are quite habituated and you can get very close to them which is great. Overall the park is a little small, it would only be half a day out rather than a full day out but still good value for money! If you want to see lemurs I would definitely recommend this over the zoo due to the space and freedom the lemurs have.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mishmash895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lemurs' Park also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to Lemurs' Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing