We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't believe it has the first position in trip advisor, who wrotes reviews here has surely NOT visited other hotels in tana!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lokanga Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
prato
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't believe it has the first position in trip advisor, who wrotes reviews here has surely NOT visited other hotels in tana!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

No sense in staying here, if you are not just looking for the colonial feeling that you can Smell here, have visited many hotels in madagascar and this has not the position it should have.

Pro points:

- great view from the terrace.
- looks like you are going back in time if you like this.

Cons points:

- this is on the top of antananarivo, far away from any spot, may be ok if you are on vacation and full of time to waste on the road everytime you want to go somewhere.
- no taxis handy
- have to climb on stairs to go out and reach the road and to go in your room, really climbing.
- bad smell in the rooms from the wallpaper, we had two different and both of them had a bad smell.
- noisy!
- one of the rooms had the loo in the middle of the room with no wall to protect it:-(
- too pricey for what you get, you get much better in tana for less.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anto.tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    37
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
104
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in April, and for me I cannot imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else in Antananarivo. Spectacular views over the city, plain and sunset, each room is completely individual, wonderfully decorated and full of character, the staff are more than helpful and accommodating, the food delicious - I could go on an on. From the moment we arrived down the steps into the garden with the oil lamps lighting the way to the front door, to the foie gras poele which we had as an aperitif together with the late harvest Concha y Toro Sauvignon Blanc (a discovery in itself), wonderful choice of main courses and puddings, breakfast on the terrace and a genuine warmth from all the staff. We have travelled the world pretty extensively, and I cannot remember a hotel which made such a good impression.

Room Tip: We stayed the first two nights on the first floor in the Baroque Suite, with a large balcony which y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This place is very charming. It is small and intimate. The management and service are very friendly and accommodating. The view is spectacular. Unfortunately it was rainy while we were there, but normally I can tell it would have a breathtaking sunset. It is a historic building, so a little quirky, but lovely. I didn't get much chance to explore, but the neighborhood seemed cute. There is a security guard on the premises at night, which is just nice to know. They have a restaurant with what looked like a great menu, but we went somewhere else for dinner, so I did not actually try it. The have nice snacks out in the afternoon though for tea. We were also in a bit of a rush in the morning, but it looked like a pretty good breakfast spread. They say they have wifi, but neither of us could get it to work on our computers. It did work on our phones, however, so that was something. We stayed on the top floor in the rose suite, which is good sized with a sitting area in addition to the bed. It had fun decor and lots of windows facing the great view. It was right under the roof, so you got that dormer feel. I think next time we will opt for a room on the middle floor even though they are smaller because they have patios off of the rooms, which would have been really nice for the view. It is a small hotel, so there is no gym, which is a bummer, but a gym really would be completely out of place there! So other than wifi problems and no gym, I really liked this place and I suspect we will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really lovely. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. Relaxing on the balcony watching beautiful sunsets and lightning storms remains as one of the best memories. We were lucky that we had the balcony to ourselves as it is shared with two other rooms. Breakfast was not included but we both were happy to pay for the good coffee and adequate selection of food. Dinner was also good but check your bill as we were overcharged for a couple of dishes. The location is superb and a good base for exploring haute ville. Hostess Fabiola was also very sweet and it was great to see her working alongside her team. She should be very proud of her hotel and staff. One if the best boutique hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hornstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here around xmas 2012.
+ charming place
+ nice welcome drink!
+ expansive views over city, lakes and hills
+ beautifully decorated
+ good food : they even had pickles similar to indian ones but those are part of madagascar food now..!
+ huge and comfy bed
+ nice bathroom complete with bathrobes :-)
+ you get a feel of staying in a house and i always like that..!

- only bathtub, there is handshower, but u can't really take shower because water splashes all around
- have to climb down a big staircase to get to the hotel reception and then climb up stairs inside the house to get to the room... not for you if you have problems with that..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

There is simply no other place in the capital that comes close to the ambiance and view if this restored heritage house. Even if you don't book room at least book an unforgettable lunch or dinner. The rooms are all themed with creative decor throughout. Being adjacent to the Queens palace you can assume the Queen had a good eye for location!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PercyLipinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

When we came to the Lokanga Boutique Hotel, we had just found out that our luggage was missing. Thanks to the great hospitality of the staff we spent 3 great days here and finally due to their efforts left with our luggage.

The rooms are magical, they are clean, with a wonderfull terasse and a spectaculair view over the city.

Breakfast, lunch or dinner, all are very well cooked, pleasantly served and the rum selection was definitly very nice.

A place where you most definitly would love to start or end your amazing time in Madagascar.

Room Tip: Any room is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inezdeligt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
7.7 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
#11 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tamboho
Hotel Tamboho
#8 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.0 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#19 of 63 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokanga Boutique Hotel

Property: Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Address: Lot VW 115 Ambohimitsimbina, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lokanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a genuine traditional Malagasy House, all in red bricks with a balcony with breathtaking views over the city. lokanga is centrally located in the heart of an historical area, perched on the royal hill of Antananarivo a few step from the Queen's Palace. All the rooms are individually styled and decorated with family antiques and full comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Lokanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokanga Boutique Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing