We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How on earth can the rating at Tripadvisor be so wrong! Not worth the money at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo,
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“How on earth can the rating at Tripadvisor be so wrong! Not worth the money at all!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Arriving at the hotel you have to descend some 5 1 steps in wood and stone. The hotel is situated in what looks like a delipidated villa. Entering, it smells like the cheff has forgotten the fish in the hot oil. Not a subtle wiff but so strong that you feel it in your eyes.
No reception.
We had chosen The English Room.
The stairs to the room are real narrow & steep
Coming to the room-the best thing is a large veranda that you have to share with others.
The bathroom has an outdated tub which older people will not be able to enter, since the hight is roughly to the middle of your thigh. There are no steps.
There is no shower curtain.
The washbasin has 4 taps (faucets) but no possibility to mix the water and no plug for the drain. It is yellow stained at places, it is dirty, it is scratched, it is chipped. The soap holders are rusty.
A sun-downer was served at the veranda in two different wine-glasses one for white and one for red wines with a slice of fois gras (half coocked and red inside)
The door to the veranda cannot be closed from the outside which leaves plenty of space for mosquitos which in our case entered by the dozen. No mossie -net.
The paint is falling off here and there the wood is splitting up e.g. on the easy chairs, it is dirty, dirty, dirty.
Look at the photo of the towel after i moved it along the window in the bathroom!
The double bed shrieks horribly loud when you sit on it or turning during night.
When people upstairs (?) Are walking on the floor it sounds like they are walking through your room

Dinner 7-9
Ordered red wine: yes-wine good but served at 12-13 degrees.
Ordered starters: malagacy assiet - very good
Main dish: Shrimp - ok- Baked potatoes is boiled potato afterward wrapped in foil. (That is how you recognize the not caring kitchen.)
Thai soup= vegetables served in a cream sauce! None of the special Thai-taste. Cold! and on cold plate. No spoon!
Re-order: beef in malagasy pepper sauce. Beef ordered rare to medium. Appears as well done to medium in a onion cream sauce! No peppers! And a cold plate.
When serving the waitress is stretching over the food in one place to give the food to the the other party
The picture was made complete when the napkins first came together w/dessert. (But we had paper serviettes, probably left over from the previous meal.
The staff had no clue how to serve food.
The china ware -all- had chips- and it is a known fact that that is the way to promote infections.


Situation:
Way out of the city, you would need your own transportation I guess.

All in all:
not worth the money! There are so many other places which are clean and without all the nuisance of this place and with excellent trained staff. And today I know, with so much better view of the town

Positively:
There is a heater in the room
The view is OK but not the best, and the only selling point.

It is amazing that they are said to be the Winner 2012 (?). And they are displaying a Trip Advisor award where there is no year mentioned!

Room Tip: I really don't know if it possible to find a room which will satisfy anything but a first time b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abut0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    37
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
104
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was the first of three hotels we stayed at in 'Tana', and it was by far the best of the three. It is a fabulous hotel, and the one I would chose to stay at again if visiting Madagascar.
We stayed for one night only, in the Rose room, on the second floor, which was excellent, and gave us the opportunity for a much needed bath, after several days of showers only. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. As with the rest of the hotel, there were quirky items of furniture and light fittings, which really made the room feel 'different'.
Evening meal was superb, and very good value, and breakfast was also extremely good, with fresh fruit, home-made muffins, etc.
The hotel has fabulous views over the city, but was very quiet, and the staff were excellent. If you need a hotel in 'Tana', look no further. Superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spenceleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We just stayed here for 1 night and it took a while to get there from the airport but it was worth it!

The staff are wonderful and have thought of everything, including giving you the directions to get back to the hotel in Madagascan for the taxi drivers to understand.

The views are breathtaking and the food was fab. If you stay in Tana stay here as long as you don't mind the hilly journey

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrtTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is indeed a top choice. Not only are the rooms beautifully decorated, is the breakfast and any other meal of great quality, and are the views over Tana fantastic. Probably the best thing is the friendly and very service-minded staff in the hotel. They did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible and not a question or a request was frowned upon.
One point of critique is however that not all rooms are equipped with mosquitto nets and for a place like Tana you definitely need that. Bring your own and have a very memorable stay in a wonderful hotel !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roeland_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I found the Lokanga Boutique Hotel on Tripadvisor and booked it on the basis of its great reviews and quirky style - and I'm so glad I did. I stayed for 1.5 nights on my way back from a diving trip to Nosy Be (which I thoroughly recommend!). Fabiola and the rest of the staff were very helpful in sorting out the booking and the arrangements for my transfers to and from the airport. When I arrived on the Saturday evening I was welcomed with a glass of red wine and a comfy armchair by the fire to do my check in which was great! Being English I was put in the English room which had a great comfy bed and wonderful bespoke linens. The bathroom was enormous with a large claw foot bath and a range of organic soaps and toiletries. The room (and indeed the whole hotel) are furnished with all kinds of local antiques and curios and pictures both contemporary and historic and it has a great feel of 'home from home'. Being on the first floor I also had a shared balcony to make the most of the stunning views over the city.

Fabiola and her staff were attentive and made sure I was looked after throughout my stay. I was given a plan of a walk from the hotel past the Queen's Palace (2 mins walk) and the museum down to the town which was great so I spent my Sunday strolling around and taking in the sights.

The quality of the food was superb and I enjoyed great food and wine throughout my stay.

I would highly recommend Lokanga to anyone thinking of visiting Tana - it's got a great position overlooking the city and the welcome was warm and friendly. I'll definitely stay again the next time I'm in Tana!

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor so you get to have the added bonus of a shared balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I admit I have not stayed in another hotel in Tana but when I walked into the Lokanga Boutique Hotel, what a wonderful surprise! The hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff incredibly helpful. The location can't be beat for drinks overlooking the city at sunset as the hotel is on the tallest hill in the city very close to the Queen's Palace. We had the opportunity to stay in two of the 6 rooms and looked in the rest after the other guests had checked out, we were not disappointed. The beds are comfortable and each room has a refrigerator - if you are on the first floor both rooms share a lovely patio which the rooms on the top floor (the attic) do not have. We found the rooms in the attic to be the most quiet as the stairs are a bit creaky and if other guests are inconsiderately loud the other rooms can be a bit noisy.

Dinner in the hotel, both times, was fantastic and reasonably priced for the quality of food served. Try one of the house rums as a digestif after your meal! The staff in the hotel were very well trained and the manager came by each night we were there to make sure everything was ok. When we had an early flight, leaving the hotel at 4:30 AM, they ensured that breakfast was waiting for us, including hot coffee. I just can't say enough about this hotel. There are MANY mosquitos in the area and the hotel provides buy repellent for them as the rooms do not all have mosquito nets. Additionally as the building is old the hotel can be quite cold but on the ground floor (reception and dining) the light a fire in the fireplace and each room has a space heater which when put on immediately when arriving in your room, is adequate.

We were thrilled to begin and end our magical trip in Madagascar in this hotel - thank you Fabiola and your wonderful team for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent three nights here during a recent visit to Tana and really enjoyed our stay! The hotel is beautifully decorated, largely with antiques, and the unique rooms have beautiful views of the city. We particularly appreciated the large, comfortable bed and enjoyed watching the sunset on the 2nd level porch shared by three of the rooms. The staff was very courteous and professional, and the food (both breakfasts and dinners) were delicious. The hotel is a very short walk to one of Tana's main tourist attractions, the Rova, and Haute Ville, the historic part of town, was readily accessible on foot. After a busy day of exploring the city, it was nice to come back to the hotel for foie gras and wine on the patio, and to sit by the fireplace on a chilly winter evening. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone vacationing in Tana!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
1.0 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
#11 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokanga Boutique Hotel

Property: Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Address: Lot VW 115 Ambohimitsimbina, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lokanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a genuine traditional Malagasy House, all in red bricks with a balcony with breathtaking views over the city. lokanga is centrally located in the heart of an historical area, perched on the royal hill of Antananarivo a few step from the Queen's Palace. All the rooms are individually styled and decorated with family antiques and full comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Agoda so you can book your Lokanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokanga Boutique Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing