We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Ekaterinburg
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is placed in the heart of Antananarivo, on the mountain near Queen's Palace. The owner made total reconstruction and now the hotel looks very respectable in Provance style. The hotel is full of antiques everywhere: in restaurant, inside rooms and in the hall. Food in restaurant was also very tasty and staff is very friendly. We had a nice view to Tana from window. The internet connection and satellite TV were good surprises. We had 2 stops there on our Madagascar trip and we didn't change plan to have a second stop in Lokanga. Usually we like to change location for new impressions, but not in this case..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    37
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
104
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you're in Tana, this may well be the pick of locations for the view. It is fantastic, located high on the hill overlooking the town. That said, it is poorly located to the airport or any destinations out of town and in very bad traffic, it could take a few hours to get here from the airport.

The hotel is charming boutique 1930's hotel. It's essentially a big 4-5 storey house with rooms throughout and a lovely restaurant and lounge on the bottom floor. Serve was friendly and efficient and the food was great, though the dinner menu is very much a SE Asian theme. Breakfast was very good and gets bonus points as there was Nespresso espresso coffee available - real coffee is a rare find in Madagascar - it's usually the undrinkable "American style" coffee.

My main negative is the noise. This is a retrofitted heritage building so in some ways it's not ideal for accommodation as it's hard to address noise issues. Sadly this was my noisiest stay in 4 weeks in Madagascar. The problems were multiple. Firstly, the restaurant is below all the rooms. This would normally be fine but on our stay there was a large dinner party and this meant I was kept up until around 11-12 pm when guests left as they were below our room and on the terrace. Similarly the dinner party were actually outside the door of my friends room so he had it worse. Next noise was the kitchen which is located below the stairs and with it's open door, noise carries up the stairs to all rooms. The kitchen also opens into the garden so noise comes in throughout the bathroom too. You can hear all the kitchen talk as well as chopping, pans banging etc. This wakes you up early as well as keeping you up during dinner times. Next noise was the stairs. They creak loudly whenever they are used and as they are literally outside your door, guests disturb you each time they use the stairs. Lastly the room we were in had a shared balcony with three rroms. This was strange and not only meant no privacy but that you had (in our case) guests talking, drinking and smoking directly outside your windows until late. We also could hear the guests in the room to the other side of us, as only a locked door separated the rooms.

Lastly a minor issue. We initially were given a very lovely suite room but we had to swap it due to the fact that it had only a claw-footed bath in the middle of the room, with a small hand-held shower nozzle. This meant no privacy whilst bathing and no option to have a shower. Secondly and very strangely indeed, the toilet was also plonked in the corner of the room with a small dress screen around it. This meant that there was no privacy when using the loo. Alright for some perhaps but not really the sort of romance one needs in our opinion.

So in summary, this is a lovely hotel in nearly all ways, but if noise disturbs you, I really would not recommend, particularly not at busy times.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pezoporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This has got to be one of the most unique places we've ever stayed in. The history of the house itself is very interesting and the way it has been restored is beautiful. Being so small it only takes a few guests at a time which adds to its appeal.

We stayed here for four nights (non-consecutively) throughout our time n Madagascar and it was like a little oasis where we knew we would feel at home and get some rest before the next adventure. The food is mostly quite lovely and the staff are so friendly and welcoming.

Little niggles do exist but even they add to the charm - it has old wooden floorboards so you can hear people come and go a lot, but to be honest it just made me feel like I was staying and my grandmother's house or something!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmilemmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I fell in love with the layout and decor of this hotel. We stayed only two nights (each a separate stopover in the city between other trips), but the romantic and relaxed atmosphere meant it didn't seem a rush. The views over the city as we enjoyed wine on the terrace at sunset were stunning and even better when the fork lightening came down later at night. The food was delicious and the staff friendly and attentive, if a little un-rushed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We only stayed one night in transit but would quite happily have stayed longer. The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. As mentioned in other reviews, they spoke excellnt English. We had requested a room with a large bed (as advised by a review I read online) as my husband is 6'3" and we were not disappointed! We were shown to the Baroque suite, which is huge and furnished in French Colonial style with antiques and a big bed overflowing with white fluffy pillows. The bath is freestanding - not in a separate room but in the same space as the bed - and the toilet is behind a screen in the corner! However, in the event of someone needing some 'reading time', there is a shared balcony with good views over the city for the other person to go to give them some privacy.
The hotel had prepared some handouts on guided walks so we followed one route and walked to the Queen's Palace, a nice stroll for an hour or two.
The dinner was excellent, local food freshly prepared, only marred by the fact we had to be indoors and not on the balcony as the smoke from the slash and burn on the outskirts of the city was as thick as a pea-souper and made it unpleasant to sit ouside and also obscured what would have been a beautiful sunset. Obviously not a fault of the hotel and doesn't seem to be mentioned in other reviews so I guess our timing was just unlucky. We had to leave at 4am but the full buffet breakfast was laid out for us and the restaurant manager was there to greet us despite the hour. All in all, a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: As mentioned, if you are tall, let the hotel know in advance to be sure to get a room with a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

This is a pleasant hotel but was arranged for us as a stop over between flights around Madagascar the hotel is a considerable distance from the airport especially difficult in the rush hour traffic, it has no air conditioning or mosquito nets the floors are wooden and there are people walking about all night there are also a lot of local dogs. If you are only in town for 1 night and travelling on this May not be the hotel for you. The food and views are very good

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

A small but amazing hotel. Rooms are different but well apppointed. Has been furnished in the old french style. Menu has good choice and well cooked.
Not a criticism of the Hotel, but avoid the Sundowner Foie Gras!!!!! when we found out how Foie Gras prepared in Madascar

Room Tip: I don't think there is a preference, but ours overlooked the Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
1.0 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
#12 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokanga Boutique Hotel

Property: Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Address: Lot VW 115 Ambohimitsimbina, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lokanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a genuine traditional Malagasy House, all in red bricks with a balcony with breathtaking views over the city. lokanga is centrally located in the heart of an historical area, perched on the royal hill of Antananarivo a few step from the Queen's Palace. All the rooms are individually styled and decorated with family antiques and full comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Lokanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokanga Boutique Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing