We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We only stayed one night but could have stayed longer. An excellent little hotel, with friendly staff, fantastic food and a wonderful view of Tana below. On arrival we were offered afternoon tea and then shown to our room which was a suite with the bath in the middle of the room. For some people this may not be suitable and I would suggest the hotel have another screen on standby so if clients wish to separate the bathroom from the bedroom they can do so. It was also lovely to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room, so welcome when we woke up at 3 am the following morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 760Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have stayed in five star hotels all around the world, some with butlers but never have I experienced better service from the desk staff. Madagascar is wonderful but it does throw up challenges constantly. When air madagascar cancelled our flights so we needed another night to stay and lokanga was full they found us another hotel, they hassled Air Mad until new flights were confirmed unlike our onward hotel who charged us for the night and told us to sort it out with Air Mad. When Air France lost our bags they found us toothbrushes and a driver to fetch us more malaria tablets, there is a tip carry your medicines on board!
The rooms are gorgeous but quirky, just let them know what you want and they will do their best though. It is the best hotel in Tana so it is quite full so if you are not prepared to compromise Madagascar may not be the right destination for you!

Food outstanding, restaurant used by locals, prices very reasonable, wifi excellent, stunning views. We stayed here three different times and it was such a relief to come home to the Lokanga. If you are travelling around madagascar then you need a haven to come back to. This hotel is perfect. I cant recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFirkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is situated on top of a hill and so has great views over the city. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent.
Our room was spacious but did not have a mosquito net or AC/ceiling fan. The temperature and noise of bugs flying around meant we did not have a good nights sleep.
There was a roll top bath in the en suite however while this is charming a shower would have been good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely location on the hill overlooking Antananarivo. 1930's home restored in French style décor. Bathroom in the room behind a screen - so french. Good internet, nice restaurant used by locals and a good morning breakfast. No shower, only a 4 clawed tub in the middle of the room (see picture). A unique and delightful experience. Our return visit was in a more traditional room where the bathroom was in a different room - much better

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely place with really impressive linen, breathtaking views of the city and an extensive tea and menu selection.

We only stayed 1 night there but it was a very restful evening..

I would recommend this place without fail to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank phumeleleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is placed in the heart of Antananarivo, on the mountain near Queen's Palace. The owner made total reconstruction and now the hotel looks very respectable in Provance style. The hotel is full of antiques everywhere: in restaurant, inside rooms and in the hall. Food in restaurant was also very tasty and staff is very friendly. We had a nice view to Tana from window. The internet connection and satellite TV were good surprises. We had 2 stops there on our Madagascar trip and we didn't change plan to have a second stop in Lokanga. Usually we like to change location for new impressions, but not in this case..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you're in Tana, this may well be the pick of locations for the view. It is fantastic, located high on the hill overlooking the town. That said, it is poorly located to the airport or any destinations out of town and in very bad traffic, it could take a few hours to get here from the airport.

The hotel is charming boutique 1930's hotel. It's essentially a big 4-5 storey house with rooms throughout and a lovely restaurant and lounge on the bottom floor. Serve was friendly and efficient and the food was great, though the dinner menu is very much a SE Asian theme. Breakfast was very good and gets bonus points as there was Nespresso espresso coffee available - real coffee is a rare find in Madagascar - it's usually the undrinkable "American style" coffee.

My main negative is the noise. This is a retrofitted heritage building so in some ways it's not ideal for accommodation as it's hard to address noise issues. Sadly this was my noisiest stay in 4 weeks in Madagascar. The problems were multiple. Firstly, the restaurant is below all the rooms. This would normally be fine but on our stay there was a large dinner party and this meant I was kept up until around 11-12 pm when guests left as they were below our room and on the terrace. Similarly the dinner party were actually outside the door of my friends room so he had it worse. Next noise was the kitchen which is located below the stairs and with it's open door, noise carries up the stairs to all rooms. The kitchen also opens into the garden so noise comes in throughout the bathroom too. You can hear all the kitchen talk as well as chopping, pans banging etc. This wakes you up early as well as keeping you up during dinner times. Next noise was the stairs. They creak loudly whenever they are used and as they are literally outside your door, guests disturb you each time they use the stairs. Lastly the room we were in had a shared balcony with three rroms. This was strange and not only meant no privacy but that you had (in our case) guests talking, drinking and smoking directly outside your windows until late. We also could hear the guests in the room to the other side of us, as only a locked door separated the rooms.

Lastly a minor issue. We initially were given a very lovely suite room but we had to swap it due to the fact that it had only a claw-footed bath in the middle of the room, with a small hand-held shower nozzle. This meant no privacy whilst bathing and no option to have a shower. Secondly and very strangely indeed, the toilet was also plonked in the corner of the room with a small dress screen around it. This meant that there was no privacy when using the loo. Alright for some perhaps but not really the sort of romance one needs in our opinion.

So in summary, this is a lovely hotel in nearly all ways, but if noise disturbs you, I really would not recommend, particularly not at busy times.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pezoporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#10 of 59 in Antananarivo
61 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tamboho
Hotel Tamboho
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
169 reviews
1 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#9 of 59 in Antananarivo
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokanga Boutique Hotel

Address: Lot VW 115 Ambohimitsimbina, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £78 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lokanga Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine traditional Malagasy House, all in red bricks with a balcony with breathtaking views over the city. Lokanga is centrally located in the heart of an historical area, perched on the royal hill of Antananarivo a few step from the Queen's Palace. All the rooms are individually styled and decorated with family antiques and full comforts (free WI FI, safe, minibar, cable TV) and have amazing views on the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lokanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokanga Boutique Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing