We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - so delicious!”
Review of Creperie le phare

Creperie le phare
Ranked #32 of 200 Restaurants in Antananarivo
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "LE PHARE" est la creperie de référence à Madagascar. Située au centre du quartier d'ISORAKA, elle propose uine variété de galettes et de crepes dans un décor marin et une ambiance bretonne
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OMG - so delicious!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This place is worth driving around a bit to find! We happened upon it by accident - just happed to drive by one of the little signs with the name and the arrow and I asked the driver to remember it for later. We came back and had lunch and it was beyond amazing. I had a savory buckwheat crepe with cheese, tomato and basil. Simple and outstanding. Then I couldn't resist a sweet dessert crepe - chocolate and salted caramel.

The staff were quite friendly. Sit upstairs - offers a lovely view of Tana rooftops.

Best meal (so far!) in Tana!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Err I had two...”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Once you have found this Creperie (no cab drivers knew where rue de Belgique was!) you will not be disappointed. Its white and pastel blue decor is refreshingly clean for Tana and the whiff of cooking crepes takes your mind of any problems you may have. Great menu with a mix of savoury and sweet crepes. You can have buckwheat or just the usual crepe. I had a buckwheat 'Forrestiere', which is leeks, bacon and cream, and it came with a simple side-salad. Because I'd eaten all my salad I felt I HAD to finish with a melted chocolate & toasted almonds crepe....and all at pretty good value, three of us had six crepes in total along with soft drinks, all came to 80,000 Ariary ($35, and we tipped heavily) ps. nice to go somewhere in Tana that is not trying to stuff you with Zebu or Foie Gras!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I did not know crepes could be that good...”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A perfect place for a Sunday family retreat in Tana. Very quiet location in Isoraka. Crepes with almost anything you can think of, and extraordinarily good salads. No other place like Le Phare. I would give it full 5 stars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank simporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy crepes”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Restaurant is nice. Food was very good, the savory crepe was good and the sweet crepe was excellent. Would definitely return.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Creperie le phare also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to Creperie le phare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing