We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madagascar Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Antananarivo
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It was my first time to Madagascar on a business trip, I was very pleased with what I seen, the hotel even though it is an old building, the room was lovely with great views, and excellent room service through out my visit

Room Tip: Higher flooers have a lot better views of the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hooch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear guest,

We are glad to read that you have spent good times with us during your stay, and thank you for taking time in sharing your feedback here. As our slogan says "feel like home", we are pleased to have you again with us and make really feel like home despite the distance.

Looking forward to seeing you.

Regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

After the bustle and vibrancy of the city, it was always a sigh of relief to come home to the hotel.

The staff was always helpful. The shuttle to and from the airport made life simple.

Food in the hotel bistro/bar was sufficient for an evening meal and not as expensive in the restaurant. The food was excellent.

Breakfast buffet in the morning was abundant.

I'd pass on the poolside pizza. I'm too spoiled by good NY pizza.

If you spend any time in the lobby or adjoining spaces, bring your mosquito repellent.

Nice gift shops in the hotel. We brought home some fresh vanilla pods we purchased there. I was surprised we could not find vanilla pods in the city markets.

This is where I'll stay when I return to Antananarivo!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SequimWATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear guest,

Greetings from Carlton Hotel!

Thank you very much for choosing Carlton Hotel during your visit in Tanà and for sharing your point of views here. These feedbacks really help us in the improvement of our services. All the staff of Carlton is always ready to make your stay as much comfotable as possible so do note hesitate to contact us for your next booking.

Kind regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Distant from airport: The hotel is about 30-45 minutes drive depending on the traffic condition.

Front office: Staff is friendly and making sure you are checked in smoothly.

Room: Stayed in a single standard room. Comfortable bed and pillows with a nice view of the Queen's Palace and lake. Basic amenities in the room except there's no toothbrush and toothpaste. So remember to bring your own set.

Facilities in hotel: Restaurant, pool, DFS, money exchange, hair salon, jewellery shop, casino, etc.

Doorman and Chamber maid: Very friendly and demonstrate a high level of customer services.

Breakfast: Selection is very limited. Feel free to order eggs with the waitress/waiter.

Wifi: Available but unstable. Also, once the IP addresses were taken up by the hotel guests, you would not be able to login until the next available one.

Overall: A cosy and comfortable hotel to stay in Madagascar.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the lake for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldenSunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time in leaving your comments, they really help us in the improvement of our services. All the Carlton staff is always ready to serve you again for your next visit.

Looking forward to having you with us soon.

Kind regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Carlton Hotel is a very classy hotel, especially good for business stays. While I was there, there was a Tourism Expo going on all week and it was always interesting to be received by beautiful ladies dressed in different kinds of wildlife themed costumes. Brought lots of life to what I'd think would be a mundane experience.

Highly recommend it. And always keep your 8th floor window locked if you don't want to hear the high-pitched howls due to the strong gusts of wind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raybesiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Gear guest,

Greetings from the Carlton Hotel,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to get the opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Yes, the rooms are cozy and the staff and service extended by them is homely. Location could not be better. So convenient to go in any direction. Good Bargain on branded item's shopping. The Lounge is beautifully designed and comfortable and the decor is great with dim yellow lighting.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest,

We are glad to read such comments from our guest, thank you indeed. You are always welcome and all the staff is ready to serving you again and make you feel like home as our slogan says.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is well-located with a nice lake view and the Palace. Decent breakfast buffet with a good selection of fresh fruit, charcuterie, and pastries. Dinner at the main restaurant was surprisingly good and reasonable, and service was prompt and friendly.

Only negative is that the gym was not very good -- old equipment, you have to bring your own water or pay for bottled water, and windows are kept open so got bitten by mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityGirlDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest,

Greeting from Carltn Hotel.

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback, we did appreciate. We are glad that you have spent good moments with us and that our services had met your expectations.

Your comments whether positive and negative help us in the improvement of our services and will be taken into account to make you feel more comfortable.

Looking forward to having you with us soon.

Kind regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The Carlton is a nice hotel with a lovely outdoor poolside area and a great gym, for a hotel. The rooms are nice, the service in the restaurant, bistro bar and gym are great. Service from the front desk and outside is hit and miss and so is the food: the same dish on a different night is a different dish, for better or for worse. Theoretically there is internet available in the rooms, and yes, you can check your webmail and use "light" websites if you have the patience to switch between different networks to keep it going, but actually if you need to get anything done on the web you must base yourself in the bistro bar or the lobby, which really is fine. It's nice downstairs and it's quiet enough that you can concentrate. I would recommend the Carlton and I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100_NicS_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Greetings from CArlton Hotel,

Dear guest,

First of all,we would like to thank you for choosing the Carlton Hotel during your visite in Tana, and for leaving your comments. These really help us for our improvement We are glad to see that you've spent a nice stay with us and that our services have met your expectations. And for the internet connexion, your remark will be taken into account in order to make you feel more confortable in using it for you next visit.

Looking forward to serving you soon.

Kind regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.6 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 60 in Antananarivo
410 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
0.6 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#12 of 60 in Antananarivo
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 60 in Antananarivo
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 60 in Antananarivo
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#25 of 60 in Antananarivo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar

Address: Rue Pierre Stibbe Anosy | PO Box 959, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Antananarivo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#4 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#10 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £105 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hotel Carlton, central location with genuine view on lake Anosy and the Queen's Palace, conference and meeting facilities for up to 550 persons, business center, outdoor swimming pool, tennis court, fitness, center, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, 24 hrs rooms service, casino, free private parking, arcade shops. Since September 1st, 2008 Hotel Carlton is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts in the Lifestyle Collection. IPrefer is the loyalty program that enables guests to have special benefits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing