We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central & convienient for business trips.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
“Very central & convienient for business trips.”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Colbert on many occasions during business trips to UCB Bank, up to & including year 2000. Measured against other international brand hotels I found Hotel Colbert vibrant, full of character with the most friendly & wonderful staff & spotlessly clean rooms. Although the Hotel is more "French/Malagasy orientated'' I felt very comfortable as an English speaking person. Most business establishments are within walking distance, lots of steps & lots of exercise !! The poor beggars can be a pain, it's perhaps a reflection of their hard life on the streets - Just feel fortunate you are not in their situation and enjoy the amazing experience of Madagascar. Great view of the Royal Palace. Ms Dave Farrell.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter. I prefer the main Hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    106
    47
    26
    7
See reviews for
17
45
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Colbert is a large and somewhat confusing hotel with several buildings linked through walkways. The new wing, with the more expensive rooms, is right on top of the reception, while others are a small hike away. I have stayed in various rooms in the hotel and find all comfortable. They seem to have a rolling renovation program as a result of which one may find oneself in a brand new room or one in need of updating; however, all are in good state of repair. The junior suites are no larger than standard rooms, but have somewhat more (fake) antique decorations, and allegedly better security (although I never found security an issue in any part of the hotel). Service is overall friendly and efficient. During my most recent stay, the main lift was out of service and the stairs in the main tower of 8 floors became rather busy. The restaurants are good, but not special.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plagist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Hotel Colbert is a very good hotel in the heart of Antananarivo. The service is nice and quick. The rooms (new wing) are very nice, quiet and has a nice view over the city The internet access is good. The hotel Spa is great with a very good workout area. The restaurant is nice but, the menu could change a bit more often.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zevadrouilleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here overnight and after experiencing the stay here, we decided this will be the hotel for us when visiting the capital.
Friendly staff, good ambience in the lobby, choice of restaurants,a bar , casino and a patisserie in the complex. A few gift shops for those last minute presents.

Room was well equiped, Large bathroom and nice amenities. Separate toilet. Bed was comfortable. No internet in the room but wifi available I think in the lobby.

Great location, close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

If this hotel was a used car it would read "body and interior tatty and in need of attention". We don't mind - the staff were friendly the food very nice the room adequate. Nice dining room with a balcony used for cooking when it is not raining. We usually travel without making reservations. The taxi driver took us to this hotel. It rained a great deal when we were there and we soon left for South Africa, a week early. I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DopeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed for 6 nights here over the June period as stopovers from our 5 Internal flights.
Booked by Cactus Tours for us, and very happy they recommended it for us.
Found it to be perfect for this, as an interesting area to walk around, not after dark though.
I would also take a map as the streets can be quite confusing.
We stayed in the new wing and found the rooms quite comfortable although we did ask to change as the aircon wasnt working in one room ,was blowing but not cool air. This is Madagascar so these things are expected.
Anyway no hassles they immediately they put us on another floor, this time a room with a balcony which was great .
The rooms at the rear are quieter and have Balconies interspersed with normal rooms.
Just ask at the desk. We stayed on 3rd and 4th floors and never found the traffic noise an issue although we didnt leave the window open when we in the front room.
Rooms were very clean, bathrooms expansive, and beds fine.
Staff excellent and very helpful.
We ate in both restuarants and found the food excellent. Not cheap by Madagascar standards but cheap by Aussie standards. Breakfast was a buffet and all you would ever need. Eggs were cooked outside on the patio so make sure you check that out.
The trip from/to the airport took us around 30 minutes but this can double in traffic jams. Although a couple times we were in peak hour and still made good time. Maybe the Cactus driver knew the back streets well !.
And the attached bakery is a real danger for those of us who have a sweet tooth !. It also provides table/chairs and tea/coffee etc. Perfect for a quick lunch.
I also changed US$ dollars at the Hotel at a very good rate, much the same as the airport and bank.
There were a couple of "sellers" hanging around the front but a "no thank you" soon saw them moving on.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony and to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I think this is supposed to be the best hotel in Tana. Right opposite the presidential palace. Quite an old hotel, but also very nice. One side has a view of the presidential palace, the other a lovely view of the city. Some very nice restaurants/bars on the property. I think the health club was also very nice, my friend checked it out, I didn't. A very good bakery on site as well.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil_Advani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#22 of 59 in Antananarivo
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
2.2 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#12 of 59 in Antananarivo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino

Property: L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
Address: 29 rue Prince Ratsimamanga | BP 341, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Antananarivo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colbert Antananarivo Welcome. "The elegance, tradition and prestige are united with an attentive hospitality requirements since 1928" Hotel Restaurant Spa Colbert shines in the heart of the capital Antananarivo, in a perfect central location, prime location that will satisfy you, offering panoramic views of the different monuments city. Our goal is to make you feel at home, ensuring the effectiveness of a service associated with a unique travel experience. Whether on leisure travel, business, or romantic stay, we will answer all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colbert Hotel Antananarivo
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing