We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven Standards with Poor Front Desk Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Despite its large size this hotel has very uneven (or no) standards of quality and service. You need luck for a very good stay and if you are out of luck you can have a poor one. First offered a very bad room. When asked for a change they agreed and for the same price gave me a much better one just across the hall. The service in the restaurant is excellent, yet the front desk staff act if they are doing a favor just talking to you. I have never received such bad service from front desk hotel staff as in this hotel. The area of the hotel can be considered cramped or charming depending of your preferences--but it does have character--unlike the Carlton. I may return but I will have to consider it carefully.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, was upgraded to room with lounge, study, dining table. Even has a spa bath!!
Meals at restaurant very good and reasonably priced. Nice area in town with markets and restaurants nearby.
Will stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Horst F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed 4 separate nights during course of 2-week trip around Madagascar, upgrading to Deluxe room each time as these are invariably well-appointed (regular rooms vary) and most conveniently located (on the floors directly above the lobby). All were large attractive rooms with great views (2 had balconies), great beds, linens, towels & amenities.

Checking in & out was quick. Reception happily provided me with small bills (so I could tip the pleasant & efficient porters). Lobby WiFi was free & fast. Not a prostitute in sight!

Ordered twice from Room Service, my grilled ham & cheese sandwich with fries arrived well within the stated 20-minute window quoted upon ordering, well-prepared & tastefully presented. Breakfast buffet was well-stocked, eggs & crepes cooked to order also available from a delightful man stationed on the terrace, who delivered my order to my table when ready (and helped me practice my rudimentary French, tho he spoke excellent English). Other staff delivered coffee & cleared plates in a timely manner & with a smile.

Great location, close to shops & restaurants. A few (mild-mannered) hawkers and a single beggar woman with baby were sometimes patrolling outside the entrance, but I certainly never felt harassed upon arrival or departure, and hotel security was on hand to keep order if needed (which it was not).

So, absolutely no complaints, and I would definitely stay here again if ever I came back to Tana.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is my second visit to "Tana" and the first time staying at the Hotel Colbert.

Location is very good - siting rigt next to the Parliament - although around 30 minutes to an hour from the airport depending on traffic.

The rooms are big but haven't been modernised in maybe 15 years. They have great views over the city and are kept pretty clean. The best thing about the hotel is the choise of facilities with 3 restaurants, a gorgeous casino, shops and bars. Its a small oasis in the heart of a chaotic city.

If you end up in "Tana" I would recommend this as the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

It is quite a large hotel with an old wing forming part of the initial building, and a newer wing with more modern rooms as far as I understand. I stayed in the old wing which is slightly cheaper and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everything has so much character. If you are into contemporary architecture and all the latest bells and whistles, you will probably not enjoy this. Unfortunately this is about as good as it gets as one does not have the luxury of choice when it comes to 4-5 star hotels in Tana.

The room I stayed in had a large bed, safe, minibar, aircon, tv, desk.. all of which were perfectly acceptable and the look of which were in line with the old. colonial feel of the hotel. The bathroom had a bath with shower over the bath. The water pressure was not great, but under the circumstances I did not mind. It served its purpose. If this hotel was situated in a first world country I would probably have felt very different about it, but within context I found it charming and even refreshingly different to hotels I normally stay in.

One of the highlights of the hotel for me was the spa/ fitness centre. I loved the authentic look and feel of it. The fitness centre is quite disjointed with fitness equipment in various rooms but this adds to the charm. There is a lovely pool and hammam. In between the array of treatments on offer, I could have spent a full day there alone!

The only drawback in my experience was that, minus reception, the staff is generally not proficient in English which made ordering room service, for instance, challenging. With a bit of patience you will be ok though.
Unfortunately one cannot explore the area around the hotel care- and hassle-free as there are many beggars that does not easily take no for an answer. You will be greeted by the likes of them at the airport already. Most of the population live from hand to mouth so one can understand their behaviour - as annoying as it may be. Nothing more the hotel can do about this other than the security guards in the street infront of the hotel. Further afield you are on your own - which is sadly not advisable.

Take some time to explore the hotel. There are a lot of nooks and crannies with bars, eateries, a small casino and a couple of shops.

I am sure most would find a short stay of two to three days at Hotel Colbert quite pleasant.

Room Tip: At a slightly higher rate, ask for a room in the new wing with more modern rooms and fittings. For a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel-CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stay at the Colbert on New Years eve 2012/13. We stayed in an upgraded room (one up from Standard). For Madagascar the hotel is very good and covers all the amenities you require. The patisserie is excellent and the hotel restaurant is also very good with breakfast be adequate for everyone.
We did not dine in the restaurant at night as they had a New Years eve party which you had to book and had set menu. So we had room service, which was really good and very satisfying.
All in all a very good hotel, especially for Madagascar.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Chezmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Colbert a total of 6 nights over a period of 3 weeks, using it as a hub for excursions to the four corners of Madagascar. The hotel is located on a hill wnext to the President's Palace and other government buildings. The lobby is always busy with business men meeting government people and some tourists but not that many. Inspite of its location, like most of Tana, it is not a good idea to wander around by yourself, especially at night.
We ate several times at the cooffeshop, both for breakfast and dinner. The breakfast buffet is ok on the whole, but the pastries and breads are great. Eggs to order are included in the buffet price. If you order scrambled, you get a very soft and runny mass of eggs. If you like them a little firmer, order a plain omelet. The dinner menu is very extensive; everything from local specialites to pasta dishes.
Another choice for dinner is Taverne. Inspite of the name it is a white linen fine dining restaurant with very reasonable prices. Try the fixe prix special of the night.
We stayed in the newest wing and found the rooms comfortable and quiet. Most have a view of the city and the queen's palace. There is Internet in the Hotel. Wifi in the lobby which is the most reliable. In the rooms, the intenet connection is via the power plug. You need to get a cable at reception. It worked about half the time.
All in all, I'd recommend Hotel Colbert for friendly , helpful staff, comfortable rooms, and good restaurants.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the new wing, upper floors facing the Queen's Palace
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Sherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
245 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
#20 of 59 in Antananarivo
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#12 of 59 in Antananarivo
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino

Address: 29 rue Prince Ratsimamanga | BP 341, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Antananarivo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#6 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £60 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colbert Antananarivo Welcome. "The elegance, tradition and prestige are united with an attentive hospitality requirements since 1928" Hotel Restaurant Spa Colbert shines in the heart of the capital Antananarivo, in a perfect central location, prime location that will satisfy you, offering panoramic views of the different monuments city. Our goal is to make you feel at home, ensuring the effectiveness of a service associated with a unique travel experience. Whether on leisure travel, business, or romantic stay, we will answer all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colbert Hotel Antananarivo
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing