We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night in Madagascar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Terrific location. Excellent view of the city, local market and more. Flat screen TVs. Spa very nice. Restaurant service was very good with decent menu. Hotel staff very friendly. Beds comfortable. Air conditioning needs some work, but otherwise very comfortable.

Room Tip: Get one w city view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkPurdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here on 3 separate occasions as we needed to take various flights from or via Tan! With the awful Air Mad, to visit different parts of the country. This hotel was a real oasis we looked forward to each time with comfortable, modern accommodation and facilities and friendly first rate service. The food is really excellent and of european standard and the restaurant offers a nice view over the town.

I treated myself to a manicure and pedicure in the spa and it was one of the best I've had at half the cost of uk prices. Unfortunately didn't have time to use the pool, gym or sauna but checked them out and looked good.

location is good if you want to venture out and a trip to Colbert hotel patisserie is highly recommended, but we were more than happy to hole up here each time. The only change I would request is a fan or air con in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed there for New Year night. Room was big on the attic floor. There was a New Year party in the hotel's restaurant, it was really funny and nevertheless it didn't disturb us when we went to sleep. Staff cooked good breakfast for us in the morning (it was a morning of 1 January!!). We enjoyed nice city view down from restaurant terrace. Also the hotel has good spa with open-air pool but the day was cold for swimming. This hotel is comfortable for most people: travellers, families with children, businessmen etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is our second trip to Madagascar, and our second time staying at the Palissandre. The rooms are spacious with very nice furnishings. The dining is excellent, we've been there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The view from the dining room and patio and the rooms is great. Service in all aspects was first class, plentiful and friendly.
This time we stayed there on three separate occasions, and so we left laundry and souvenirs to be picked up when we got back, this worked flawlessly.
We also stayed at their sister establishment Palissandre Cote Ouest on the beach at Morondava and it was excellent as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarigrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel just one night, but it was an amazing experience. The room was very good (love the hard wooden floors and furniture), but the restaurant took our breath away!

The view from the hotel is also beautiful - overlooking the city both from the rooms and from the restaurant.

The room itself was good sized and had a very comfortable king size bed. Additionally the furniture was very nice - made of hard wood. Finally everything was very clean.

The restaurant has a very nice seating area inside and also outside on the veranda. The service staff are super friendly. They were very helpful, always smiling (and they meant it!). Funny thing they had karaoke playing for Christmas evening dinner. After the official singing part was over...the staff also started singing Christmas songs while cleaning up... somebody was on the mike and others were singing along around the restaurant area. It was an amazingly warm experience that is hard to describe,.

Room Tip: 1st floor is just as high as the others (the hotel is on a hill), so just make sure you are facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fulcrum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great hotel - very clean and we had one of the larger rooms which was spacious and comfortable. The food at breakfast and evening meal was very good, staff were very helpful and we had the most amazing massage ever in the hotel which I would highly recommend as very good value. Also a great location as easy to get around centre of Tana (although we did take taxis at night) I would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJH20122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Nice rooms, Good food, Attentive service and a central location are what make this hotel an excellent choice. The free WIFI ( that works!) and the gorgeous use of palissandre wood throughout the hotel are a bonus.

There is a spa area in the hotel that we did not make use of, thus cannot comment on it's attributes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city as opposed to one on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Augrabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.6 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 60 in Antananarivo
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
2 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#13 of 60 in Antananarivo
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 60 in Antananarivo
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#25 of 60 in Antananarivo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Palissandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Palissandre

Address: 13 Rue Andriandahifotsy Faravohitra, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#2 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#13 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £78 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Palissandre 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on the hillside in the heart of the city, the Palissandre Hotel & SPA opens the doors of friendliness, hospitality and welcomes you in pure Malagasy tradition. Its 48 rooms have fine wood furnishings and rosewood are equipped with television, mini bar, safe, hairdryer, bathroom with bathtub. SPA - Outdoor Heated Pool - Space cardio - Hammam give you relaxation after a day of exploring or working from the terrace of the restaurant overlooking the city, you will enjoy fine cuisine and creative.Room service. Free Internet access, WIFI Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel & Spa Palissandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palissandre Hotel
Hotel & Spa Palissandre Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing