We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful staff, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tana-Jacaranda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tana-Jacaranda
Ranked #6 of 90 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful staff, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in the double private room on three occasions while in Tana and loved each visit. The staff were so friendly and helpful; one time my husband was ill so they arranged for a doctor to visit, and another time we arrived quite late so we arranged for them to have canard à la vanille waiting for us... They are so considerate! Our room was spacious and was next to a common room with a balcony overlooking the city. I would have preferred a mosquito net. The bathroom was clean and the whole place kept tidy. They arranged for a great driver to take us to and from the airport who we were really comfortable with. We were unable to get the Wi-Fi or internet on the computer to work. We'd return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our room was great but we know many do not have a window or were noisier because they were of the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Wanderer127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    37
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
22
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here four times for a total of five days during my month in Madagascar. There is good security with a doorman always on duty. The reception staff speak good English and are helpful with working out which taxi-brusse station to go to. The food in the restaurant is good but can be delayed if there are orders in front of yours, as only one order is cooked at a time. Some of the rooms don't have outside windows but this can be a bonus as it reduces the noise from the road.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 130togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed in at Tana-Jacaranda in May and June 2013 (unfortunately, I was very busy the last year, this is why I write this review with some delay).
I came to Madagascar for field research in Political Science. The hostel is well located, very close to the presidential palace (actually you can look in its garden from the balcony) several ministries, courts and the national library.

I liked the food very much. It was freshly prepared and the menu changed daily. Even after two months I got not tired of it.
The room and other facilities were very clean.
Room No 27 offers a great view of Rova, the royal palace.

The staff working at Tana-Jacaranda is very friendly and I felt very much at home as they always welcomed me very warmly. Once, I had a little accident with the window in my room. The management and staff took care of me very well. The manager insisted to call a doctor and paid for it. Afterwards they even changed the windows.

For longer stays they offer discounts on room rates and laundry service. Furthermore, I was allowed to use a small kitchen.
Very nice place to stay! I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlota W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is an absolute gem! The welcome you receive is warm and genuine. The Tana-Jacaranda is all about the details. Extremely clean, safe, and reasonably priced. I stayed in a single room which is small but very comfortable. The shared bathrooms were always extremely clean with very hot water. The food on offer is wonderful, some of the best I had in all the country. Where the Tana-Jacaranda really exceeds is the staff, from top to bottom. There was no request that I threw at them that wasn't handled quickly and efficiently, with a smile. The owner informed me that "This is your home in Tana", and that's exactly how it felt. I had several visits over my three months in the country, and can wholeheartedly recommend Tana-Jacaranda. Look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antananarivo, Madagascar
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Since I am only an English speaker it was fairly daunting to learn about the ins and outs of Tana. But the multilingual staff helped me immensely. Nary is like an older brother who will help you with any questions that need answering. The lobby and terrace was great place to meet other travelers who were all excited to walk the cobblestone pathways to get local cuisine. It is common to hear jazz music being played in the mornings. Its like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Its nice to be on the third floor by the lobby to meet other travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepers981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great place to stay in Tana. Friendly, superb service, good food and safe. Some of the single rooms with shared bathroom are small, but all in all cannot fault it and a great place for meeting people. Recommended and booking is essential. Telephone numbers in Lonely Planet are wrong (like most things in that book).

Room Tip: The wifi signal is stronger in the Annex, which is connected to the main place where reception and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rupertcdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The entrance is nothing and the facade is confusing but inside it is comfortable, safe, good food, great staff and reasonably priced. The location allows walking to the best and safest part of town and easy excess to the lake. But be careful in all these areas and never after dark or alone.

Room Tip: A wide variety to very cheap and basic to double bed with bath en-suite. Wi-Fi but a little difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sole Hotel
Sole Hotel
#36 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#19 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#10 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hotel Tana
Central Hotel Tana
#34 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tana-Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tana-Jacaranda

Property: Tana-Jacaranda
Address: 24 Rue Rainitsarovy | Antsahamanitra - Isoraka, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tana-Jacaranda guesthouse, "a home away from Home", is located in the center of Antananarivo. Room rates are reasonable, and our cooking of Malagasy, Asian, Italian and French is appreciated. Corridors provide access to balconies that offer a beautiful sight of Tana. Free use of an Internet terminal as well as a wifi connection for client laptop. "Tana-Jacaranda team" gives you useful tips for your trip. Pick up and drop off to airport can be easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tana-Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tana-Jacaranda Hotel Antananarivo
Tana-Jacaranda Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing