We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired - needs major overhaul”

Radama Hotel Antananarivo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radama Hotel Antananarivo
Ranked #38 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Reviewed 24 November 2012

A very tired and sad hotel with threadbare carpets on uneven stairs, the rooms are all dark and dingy with insuffieinet light to read a book or travel guide. The towels are unbelievably bad, but rest assured the brown stains are rust!! or so we were assured after trying to get them changed 4 times. Pillows are best boosted by a travel pillow. The staff hoewever are amazing, so helpful and always smiling. Showers in some rooms (mainly the front facing) are very narrow and have a high step so not easy for anyone with joint problems or wide hips!

Room Tip: So long as you dont find stairs difficult and can cope with low light take a room on one of the uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Good, clean & comfortable hotel although over-priced for what it is, although this is the general norm for Tana, with it seems a shortage of hotels creating pent up demand and hence over charges s- you can't really blame this hotel for following this trend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

It was a nice hotel except that there is no lift. it is in the city centre, close to banks,shops,restaurants and curios shops; especially when you are on business and do not have much time. The room are OK and clean, with AC and attached bath.Service was OK.

Room Tip: rooms with terrace view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vij85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

we were booked here by our organisation because the rest of the hotels nearest to where our seminar would be conducted was fully booked.
i was assigned a room at the top floor and loved it because of how spacious it was and the balcony that i was given. i could have enjoyed the balcony a little more if it was cleaner.
the bathroom was adequate but the water supply was a bit iffy. it was a bit difficult to bathe at times or to brush my teeth.
the breakfast was nice and the restaurant comes alive at night.
i didn't like that the hotel had no lift. so when i was dead tired at night from all the meetings, i had to endure the flight of stairs. since i was at the top floor, i could barely get any signal from the wifi. i had to always go out and go to the second floor, endure the cold to be able to access my emails.
overall, it was pretty ok for our stay in november 2008.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

An uneventful stay. Quite a nice breakfast. I don't want anybody to carry my bag.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We started our holiday in Madagscar at the Radama and found it adequate. As it happened all the other hotels stayed in were much better. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly in sorting out our safe.
Breakfast was adequate but the evening meal - I had chosen which was advertised as a typical Malagasy meal was tasteless.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAnnie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The dull grimy lobby tells you all you need to know. The street noise made it hard to sleep, the bed was uncomfortable, the pillow lumpy, the carpet threadbare. The cupboard, lamp and safe that were provided were all broken. Even the hook on the door had fallen off. By far the worst place I stayed in Madagascar, not to be touched with a bargepole. Try Chez Aina, a heart-warming experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRJStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.3 mi away
Anjary Hotel
Anjary Hotel
#37 of 59 in Antananarivo
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sole Hotel
Sole Hotel
#47 of 59 in Antananarivo
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#15 of 59 in Antananarivo
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Palace Hotel
White Palace Hotel
#40 of 59 in Antananarivo
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tana Hotel
Tana Hotel
#19 of 59 in Antananarivo
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de L'Avenue - Tana City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radama Hotel Antananarivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radama Hotel Antananarivo

Address: 22 Avenue General Ramanantsoa | Isoraka, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Price Range: £23 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Radama Hotel Antananarivo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel ideally located in the heart of Antananarivo for you to experience the genuine Malagasy hospitality: smile, attention and warmth. Rooms are authentic and equiped with air cond, telephone, mini bar, private electronic safe, international TV chanels, free wifi internet. Tatao Restaurant renowned for Malagasy Gastronomy for you to discover delights of our cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radama Hotel Antananarivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radama Hotel Antananarivo Madagascar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing