We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can You say Fabulous? Risotto Please”
Review of La Varangue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Varangue
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can You say Fabulous? Risotto Please”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

What a fantastic stay. A room with a view, a comfortable bed, and the best risotto in town. I slept like a baby and when I woke up I walked down just a small flight of stairs to the best dining experience in Antananarivo. Sit inside or outside, or order to your room for a private dinner, I tried them all and every experience was wonderful. Brush up on your French, but remember you are in a French speaking country so this should come as no surprise. Learning some basic French before you come to Madagascar is just respectful to the culture and the Malagasy people.
La Varangue is within walking distance to the market, shops, banks, and a fine bakery is just a short up the hill on the right.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    46
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
63
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent a night in Tana. The hotel is ideally situated, with clean, spacious rooms......and CRISP, new towels. We enjoyed a superb dinner at the restaurant. The food was tasty, perfectly prepared, well presented and thoroughly enjoyed. The owner also went around to all the tables to inquire whether diners had enjoyed their meals - a nice touch. All in all a wonderful evening and a worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddenKift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Velha, ES
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel and for this part of the world we believe it is one of the best hotels in town. The service was friendly and efficient. The food was very good and tasty. The waitress of the restaurant was attentive and funny. And of course the large room with all this antique furniture made our stay very cozy. Definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel. Its not the most affordable option in Tana, but If you want a top end hotel with 3rd world / french charm this is the spot. The restaurant was amazing and Euros, Pounds and US dollars will go far there. The English here is limited, which can make the restaurant experience trying, but there was one english speaking waiter on duty each night. But if you can say your room number in french, you'll be fine.
When you land in Tana, a cab ride here should not exceed 40,000 Ariary...dont get suckered. The beds aren't that comfy, but depending on how jet lagged you are this may not be an issue.
there is wifi in the restaurant, patio and some rooms. I stayed here twice and didn't get wifi in the first room but got a good signal in the second. But its Madagascar, less internet and more Tana nerds!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The hotel is located in the "embassy" area of the city. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel is furnished in a unique way that gives great character. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The best part of the stay is their restaurant which is known to be one of the best in the city. An excellent place to stay while in Tana.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at La Varangue for only one night at the end of our tour—and we loved it. Our suite was enormous and well-appointed. The restaurant is excellent. Unfortunately we couldn't keep our room for a second night and ended up at the Carlton just up the street. The Carlton, while nice, is large and commercial compared to the homey feeling of La Varangue. La Varangue is definitely the place I'd go back to on a return trip to Madagascar.

Room Tip: Our second floor suite in a connecting building to the main building was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetwood1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The restaurant decoration look like an antique Store... why not ?
The service is correct but not soo kind...
Menu are very original but not incredible... No vow effect !!!
Desert chocolate explosion was very nice...
We are staying 2 hours in the restaurant and we were very happy to return at home...
Average is a perfect international rating and good is right for Madagascar...
But don't asking THE restaurant...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissflavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#12 of 59 in Antananarivo
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#22 of 59 in Antananarivo
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Varangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Varangue

Property: La Varangue
Address: 17 Rue Printsy Ratsimamanga, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming guest house in the center of an upscale neighborhood of the capital. Fruit of the marriage of Madagascar and colonial style architecture, this house offers the proximity of the commercial district Antaninarenina.La Veranda is Ambohitsirohitra next to the office of the presidence.Le The Veranda restaurant overlooks a lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Varangue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Varangue Antananarivo
La Varangue Hotel Antananarivo
La Varangue Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing