We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience”
Review of La Varangue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Varangue
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It's a great hotel to stay in for a more authentic experience and has a great location. breakfast, ,great room. Excellent. We couldn't ask for more. Room was great, cleaned every day staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a fabulous dinner in a private room. Attentive wait staff, lovely decor, tempting items on menu. Our group ordered several items and desserts. Would definitely return in future if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We saw the Colbert and many other places in Tana, but La Varangue is not only well-situated with great views, it is also a charming, pretty hotel with espresso machines in the suites, air-con, etc. Double-glazed windows. Breakfast is great, French style. We were late for the dinner, but it is the most talked-about restaurant in Tana.

Take a suite with a balcony.

Room Tip: Take a suite with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Quality accommodation in Tana is a rare thing, and this is undoubtedly the pick of the bunch. Located next to the president's palace at the top of town, it's a beautifully decorated and highly appointed place and the restaurant reputedly one of the best in town.

Service was friendly, though the reception staff struggled with English. Wait staff spoke excellent English. Food was outstanding. My wife and I had the honeymoon suite and although it was absolutely amazing, my only gripe was that for some strange reason, they decided to place an extension of the restaurant, that seemed like a private dining room, on top of the suite. That meant that you had a lot of noise disturbance including hearing the voices of diners, clatter of cutlery and scraping of chairs until about 11pm. It was a negative in what was otherwise an amazing stay. Windows were well insulated so there was no street noise. A sound-proofed room door would probably help the noise issue. Noise comes in through this door and on at least two occasions we also heard the noisy passions of the guests next door! A nice noise compared to traffic perhaps, but indicative of the need for better sound insulation!

Our friend had another beautiful suite to the right hand side of the hotel away from the main building. We actually would have preferred this one and he had a much quieter stay there despite the lack of air-conditioning in the room.

All in all, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pezoporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here on a couple of occasions when we were in Tana (including on our first night, a great start to the trip!) and found the hotel excellent both times. As others have mentioned, it's full of amazing and quirky collections of old objects and has real character. We had different rooms on both occasions and both were comfortable and quiet, and breakfast was amazing. We were due to have spent more time here, and have dinner at the restaurant (which is meant to be fantastic), but due to the vagaries of the MadAir flight schedules we ended up arriving in the middle of the night and leaving first thing on each visit, which was a shame as it would have been nice to stay longer and properly appreciate. The staff were hugely helpful - we were particularly grateful that they opened the kitchen to make sandwiches for us when we arrived at 11pm after a flight delay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

An oasis in Tana! The perfect hotel to escape the chaos that is Tana. The hotel is nesseled beside the Presidential Palace, is only minutes walk to the main street and shopping areas. Being located in a narrow side street against the walls of the palace may seem a negative, but it creates a perfect quite escape from Tana's daily life. The hotel has an old and refurbished section, and over the coarse of two-three weeks we stayed in both, during 4 separate stays while travelling (driving/flying) around Madagascar. Ask for the refurbised rooms if you can, though the older rooms were still well appointed and had colonial charm. The reception/bar is cosy, with many local rums on offer.

The Restaurant, which I'll review separately, it also one of the best in Tana which should not be missed!

If staying in Tana, make sure you spend at least one night at La Varangue.....

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room if you can, or at least a room with a balcony to be able to feel the local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is simply charming! The owner is evidently a fan of collecting antiques and every corner is covered with antique objects (cameras, oil lamps, and gramophones are just a few. He also has an impressive antique car collection up front). The hotel is located near the presidential palace. The service at the hotel was excellent (they helped us get reliable drivers and confirm our internal Madagascar flights).
We had the opportunity to stay at two different rooms at this hotel and they were both comfortable. One of them was so large I believe it was larger than my first apartment! Not all rooms have air conditioners, but the ones that do not are equipped with mosquito nets and fans which made it perfectly comfortable to sleep.

The restaurant is a must. Reasonably priced, it offers really great dishes and a great selection of wines and beer. We could tell that it was a favorite of locals as well. We almost forewent dessert, but changed our minds last minute and ordered the “explosion”. It was a hollow chocolate ball filled with apple tapenade and ice cream and at the table they would pour hot chocolate on the hollow ball until it “exploded”. Delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alliejay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
258 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#7 of 59 in Antananarivo
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#10 of 59 in Antananarivo
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Varangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Varangue

Address: 17 Rue Printsy Ratsimamanga, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £70 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming guest house in the center of an upscale neighborhood of the capital. Fruit of the marriage of Madagascar and colonial style architecture, this house offers the proximity of the commercial district Antaninarenina.La Veranda is Ambohitsirohitra next to the office of the presidence.Le The Veranda restaurant overlooks a lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Varangue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Varangue Antananarivo
La Varangue Hotel Antananarivo
La Varangue Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing