We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and lovely friendly staff….best stay in Tana!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Louvre Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Antananarivo
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location and lovely friendly staff….best stay in Tana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Located near some great eateries, a bank and retail shops this hotel was a delight to be in. I loved the breakfast in the morning and the staff were nice enough to give directions. The fitness too is small but can be useful if you are looking for just a simple workout. The pool is divine and located under the lobby, but the steam room was my favorite place to relax. I would stay there again should I ever return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLouvre, Responsable Hébergement at Le Louvre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for your review.
We're really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    101
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
17
43
14
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hotel du Louvre is where I stay whenever I have to go on business to Antanarivo . Besides the good location , the hotel staff , specially at reception are courteous and friendly . To be greeted by your name when you have not seen a staff person for more than a year is always ( for me ) very special ) . Breakfast service has " new " system that is rather awkward : I refer to butter and ham , etc being under a counter that can not be accessed by patrons ! Television needs at least one or 2 more English channels . Rooms are OK , not too large and service in general quite good. Food at the restaurant or room service is of very good quality ( and room service is efficient ! For me no other hotel to choose when in " Tana ".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CdMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLouvre, Responsable Hébergement at Le Louvre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
Be sure that we'll pass it to our team.
We've just added an English TV (an indian one) and we'll try to add others next year.

Hope to welcome you soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

love the view. large and comfortable bed. loved the green patio. There is security outside the hotels, which is a big plus. The service is very good.
to improve, the bathroom a bit squeezed, needs some renovations.
the breakfast a bit more variety could only be better

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa_Manrakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The Hotel Le Louvre is both a hotel and a Spa. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with good finishes and attention to detail. Mini Bar is stocked and the pillows ample. For those who read my reviews will know that the bathrooms are the one facet of my stay that irks me the most.

Well I am afraid to say that the one thing lacking is the hot water and the pressure that I so desperately seek after a long hard day travelling and working in Africa.

I really should learn to write these reviews once the annoyance has abated. When you consider the obvious expense laid out on the decor, the finishes, why the heck can you not sort out the plumbing. But I did have running water......

A nice touch is the coffee machine in the room, but what is with only one Coffee cartridge. At least offer two that I can have a second cup in the mornings. More coffee please!!

The restaurant is spacious and the staff attentive. The meal was good, especially the Fois-gras as an entree. Prices are reasonable, but certainly out of the reach of local Malagasy people.

I have now stayed at 6 different hotels in Madagascar in Antananarivo over the past 3 years and this is by far the best experience so far. But get the water sorted.......

Room Tip: Ask for 4th or 5th floor as the view over the city is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilotdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I spent three weeks there on business. Great staff and great location in the heart of Tana. Sadly i probably won't be coming back but if I did......I'd be staying at Hotel du Louvre. A few tot's out side the hotel trying to sell you local art but one your by them it's smooth sailing thought the local streets and markets close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobiecat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly Beach, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night at each end of our wonderful holiday in Nosy Be as Air Madagascar changed their flights. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We were only here 1 short night when Air Madagascar made a mess of our flights, but we really liked it. The rooms are a bit small, but the decor is modern and the balcony had a great view of the city bustle. The staff was very friendly. The bathroom didn't have a tub but the stone shower had great water pressure, a nice shower head, and a little bench inside!

Breakfast was great with ample selection of meats, cheeses, bread, pastries, and an assortment of hot dishes. Wifi was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#19 of 63 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
1.4 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#11 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tana Hotel
Tana Hotel
#16 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tamboho
Hotel Tamboho
#8 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Louvre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Louvre Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Address: 4 Place Philibert Tsiranana, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#8 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Louvre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in an old "Eiffel" building in 1998, Hotel du Louvre offers international rooms with free internet access, located in the center of Antananarivo, the best place to visit and to organize business appointment and your trip. You will be touched by the kindness and availability of our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Louvre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing