We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I chose this hotel because I read the food in the restaurant was very good. We stayed here for 1 night and was very happy with my choice. The rooms are a little worn unlike the photos on their website but it had everything we needed for a short stay, TV, hairdryer and airconditioning. The restaurant is what made this stay at this hotel great, the food was excellent and the staff really friendly and a great selection of wines. The cost of the room and the cost of the food was excellent value for money. We stayed here for our 1st night in Madagascar and it was a lovely introduction to an amazing country

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

The hotel is well situated, between the old and new town and within walking distance of most sights. it felt very safe as there were staff sat at the entrance all day and night.
My room was across the road from the reception/restaurant, up a rather murky alleyway. The room was clean and spacious, but the furnishings were very basic, the pillow was lumpy and the bedcover had a cigarette burn. There was a small wall safe and a mosquito tennis raquet zapper - I would recommend taking your own plug in mosquito deterrent for all hotels in Madagascar.
Wifi connection speed was good - and free. Breakfast was simple, but good, and evening meals in the restaurant were delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janequelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The rooms are charming and the food is 2nd to none! We have been to Madagascar twice for a total of 6 weeks and have eaten at many restaurants. The hotel restaurant here is probably one of the best, if not the best in Tana. The rooms we stayed in were cozy and charming, air conditioned(necessary much of the time in Tana), and had a room safe. We couldn't have asked for more. Cheers!

James and Beverley

Room Tip: Get room 6 in the main building, over the restaurant - it's their "penthouse!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balabanovj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I was in Tana for a group tour but came a few days early (because that was the date the airline gave me for a frequent flyer flight) and stayed at La Ribaudiere for 4 nights. I was very happy there. Yes, the room was a tad small, but that doesn't bother me at all. It was clean, it was tasteful, and the bathroom (shower and toilet) worked fine. I found the staff exceptionally friendly. They are a little weak in English, but that doesn't bother me either. I don't expect the whole world to speak English. Their English was a lot better than my nearly nonexistent French. We always managed to communicate. The restaurant, as noted by many others, is OUTSTANDING. As for other restaurants within walking distance - I have no idea. Why would anyone want to go beyond such an excellent and reasonable restaurant that is right downstairs from their room? For lunch I went elsewhere, because I was out touring. For dinner, I ate at the hotel three nights out of three. (The first night I arrived approximately midnight, so had had dinner on the plane.) I wondered, when checking out of La Ribaudiere because my tour was starting, if the new place would match up. It didn't, and I decline to name it or write a review.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so you may want one that's not too high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a short business trip to Antananarivo. Booked through booking.com, and that worked perfectly. The rooms at La Ribaudiere are fairly basic, but very clean, and with all the essentials. Beds were comfortable (I was in a twin) and there is a good satellite TV system. Very good for Francophones, but at least BBC World was there with news for English speakers. As others have said, this place has excellent food, and a very pleasant green and breezy eating area. Easy to forget that you are in the middle of a very large city. We were told that the location was slightly problematic with regard to security, but it seemed less of an issue than we had anticipated. In fact, the central location is a real plus, and there are lots of good restaurants, shops and market areas in very easy walking distance.

Really, there were no significant deficiencies in this hotel, and for the very reasonable, it made for a great, good value stay.

Room Tip: Better to be in the main building. There is an annex over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legobeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

depends on the level of 'class' you are looking for, but this is the perfect place at v reasoble prices. Clean and tidy, v friendly, helpful staff, tranquil and calm, and the food is excellent. Breakfast is extra but a step above the usual 'continental' and pitched v well with fruit, toast, coffee etc. Rooms are simplle but more than suffiecient and well maintained. the place is well situated also just off the main run and just below the old area. A terrace area provides a calm and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed here for a total of three nights over a few weeks during our trip to Madagascar.
The hotel overall is very tidy, bathrooms and bedrooms are quite small but have everything that you might need in them. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant has excellent food for a very reasonable price and a good selection of wines.

My boyfriend was very ill one night (not because of food from the hotel just to clarify) and they were very efficient and helpful in getting a doctor to come attend him at 11 o'clock at night.

One word of warning though, if you stay here on a Friday or Saturday night there is a nightclub nearby that keeps going till about 4am and if you have a room near the stairs then the noise from the hotel does tend to carry.

Apart from the noise over the weekend i would definitely recommend this hotel as a lovely, centrally located place to stay in Tana.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms near the stairs (restaurant noise carries) and probably wouldn't recommend s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_Wey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.4 mi away
Sole Hotel
Sole Hotel
#45 of 59 in Antananarivo
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel Tana
Central Hotel Tana
#33 of 59 in Antananarivo
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
0.5 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#7 of 59 in Antananarivo
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#10 of 59 in Antananarivo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ribaudiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ribaudiere

Address: 18 Rue Paul Dussac, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £23 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ribaudiere 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Ribaudiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Ribaudiere Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing