We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and unpleasant room - maybe others are better?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Prefernottosay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“expensive and unpleasant room - maybe others are better?”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

although this hotel was more expensive than others, we chose to stay here because of the good reviews. did other reviewers have better rooms? we don't need a lot from a hotel, but would usually expect to get a little more if we're paying more. our room was difficult to get to, the doors didn't close properly, it was musty and sheets were stained, the shower spout holder was broken, and we only had one towel for 2 people. on the plus side, good tv and air conditioner - which we did not need or use, but perhaps paid more for? we later heard that there is an annex that is nicer - if you're interested in staying at la ribaudiere, probably best to check where your room will be before reserving. overall, expensive and wouldn't stay again unless there are nicer rooms for less money somewhere else in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler01010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    72
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
57
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Visited hotel La Ribauudiere in two occasions in October 2013. The service was helpful - every demand we had was taken care of, they welcomed us at 1 am, helped us with taxi when we were leaving and gave us advices how to get to taxi brousse station for Andasibe. Rooms are not the same quality because there is the old and the new building of hotel.
The restaurant was excellent and the food (mostly french) was pleasure to eat. Lots of people from Tana go there for dinner. They didn't mind us leaving our luggage after our payed time expired - so we could go and arrange some business in town.
Would recommend to young people or couples. It's too alive for older people or families who like to have peace and quiet all the time.

Room Tip: From my experience room number 2 is much more pleasant than room number 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zekokez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Good:
The restaurant was good and clearly a popular choice for (better off) people living in the city. The cafe/bar and yard were pleasant way to relax over a coffee.
The Less than Average:
The rooms were musty, and felt half decorated/rennovated. The bathrooms adequate.

We stayed on our way and way back from Nosy Be. Looking around the other choices on Tripadvisor I think you could do better for accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We started and ended our Madagascar holiday here and were pleased with our choice. Nice ambience, especially due to the courtyard. Perfect location helpful owner. Rooms are a bit dark and nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Having read the reviews I insisted my Malagasy contacts change my itinerary to include some time at the end of my holiday at this hotel. They reluctantly agreed and I stayed here for one night; my mistake Of the eight hotels I stayed in this was by far the worst, it didn't hold a candle to the others. My room, accessed along dark, narrow corridors, was small, almost filled by the double bed which in turn was covered by a mushroom coloured bedspread which together with the greyish walls resulted in a gloomy atmosphere; I think/hope the room was of average cleanliness. Located above the kitchens it was also noisy until the staff finished for the night. The shower and toilet facilities were adequate.
The restaurant alongside the small bar/reception was good with a wide ranging menu and served by almost an excess of young waitresses.
My Malagasy friends said they were treated very dismissively by the staff when they went to inquire of accommodation rates while they were compiling my itinerary, perhaps this had something to do with the location of my room. I wish I had know beforehand. Although I cannot comment on the other bedrooms and other reviews suggest other than my experience, I would not stay in this place again or recommend to couples or families. Young men going solo might be a different matter!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over kitchen or restaurant, bring a torch or better still choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryNorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
230 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for the first and last nights of our trip to Madagascar in October 2013. the room was clean and well decorated. The staff and food were excellent. It was located on a quiet street and was a great intro to the very welcoming atmosphere of this wonderful country

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

food was superb and great variety , rooms small but very clean. service was great and very helpful. management was great! loved it over all ,dint stay too long as was a a night on arrival and a night on departure. not too far from the main airport in tana.

Room Tip: room no 2 great and big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank husseinjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.2 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#7 of 59 in Antananarivo
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ribaudiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ribaudiere

Property: Hotel La Ribaudiere
Address: 18 Rue Paul Dussac, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ribaudiere 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Jovago.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Ribaudiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Ribaudiere Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing