We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and beautiful”
Review of Hotel Sakamanga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sakamanga
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Amazing hotel in the centre of Antananarivo - full of twists, turns and corridors, all filled with fascinating artefacts and pictures - it would be worth coming here just to see these! We stayed in the suite, which was fantastic - right at the top of the hotel, stacks of space, beautifully decorated and with its own rooftop terrace - a very nice spot to have room service breakfast in the morning! There is a very popular restaurant in the hotel which seems to be booked out every night, so worth arranging your reservation in the morning. Food was very nice, and surprisingly well priced, and a good selection of drinks, including local wine which was really quite palatable!
Hotel is very central, with good proximity to lots of amenities. Reception staff very helpful and speak English which is good if your French isn't too hot (like ours...) Free WiFi available which works in most parts off the hotel. Lovely garden cafe/bar for breakfast (good value buffet or menu), lunch or just a drink.
Would definitely recommend the Sakamanga to anyone planning a visit to Tana, and we would stay here again in a flash if we return to Madagascar.

Room Tip: The suite is fantastic, shame there is only one of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandmatt1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Sakamanga is far more than just a hotel, its a museum and tribute to the history and culture of Madagascar. The collection of artefacts, pictures and various other bits and pieces is an amazing introduction or ending off (preferably both) to any trip to Madagascar which inevitably starts and ends in Tana. The rooms & bathrooms are comfortable and clean and perfect for a night or two in the capital city. Reception was very helpful and the staff spoke enough English for us to get by without any French.
Rooms near to the restaurant might be a little noisy into the evening, but this was not a serious bother.
The garden restaurant is a lovely peaceful space in a busy city, while the upstairs Sakamanga Restaurant is great food at good value. Highly recommended.

We stayed in a room in the "relax" category and it was everything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Sakamanga is my favourite place to stay in Antananarivo. I have been staying there for over 10 years.

The hotel itself is sort of shabby chic in some parts, but there is a constant upgrading going on, it is not unusual to stay in a room one month then return the next month to find new paint, new decoration. The restaurants are not the best in Tana but they get 10 / 10 for consistently high standards, speedy service (really, speedy) and friendly staff. The buffet lunches and breakfasts are very popular but I prefer to choose from the menu.

It has become quite busy, so you do need to book in advance, do not expect to arrive at Sakamanga and get a room. Of course, there are times when they do have space, so it is always worth trying, particularly mid week.

They have rooms to suit just about all budgets and, compared to what a similar establishment would cost just about anywhere else, is still amazing value for money.

If you want to spoil yourself a bit, try the suite. For around 70 euros (last time I checked) it is great value. The room is large, has a nice lounge room, separate sleeping area, private terrace, bathroom (with bath), office desk, fridge, etc. All of the Sakamanga rooms have a safe. They have no mosquito nets, but, every room has a mozzie zapper and they give you free inserts for it at reception. Free wifi reaches everywhere (most of the time) and there is a lovely garden / restaurant / bar with free computers for people who do not travel with their own (who doesn't travel with something to access the net these days?)...

They make great cocktails, the coconut punch is my favourite. They also have quite cheap champagne for special occasions.

They have a speedy laundry service, a pizzeria just a few doors down the street (that will deliver to your room - in fact just about anything you want will be delivered to your room), a gift and t-shirt shop, and they are always happy to reconfirm flights and help with onward travel arrangements.

In my opinion, everyone passing Tana should stay in the Sakamanga at least once, then decide for yourself, I am pretty sure you will want to return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dadamanga_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I couldn't believe all the positive reviews for a hotel in the center charging only 20€/night, but i booked any ways and am now a fan too.

The only negative point was the three cockroaches we found in our room, but it seemed like the room had been empty a few nights and they had decided to hang out there. (For those of you unfamiliar with the tropics, cockroaches are a common pest.) Besides, once we shooed them out, they never came back.

Small but clean, stylish rooms. Good, efficient service. Free Wifi!

The restaurant on-site was also excellent. Great local food, stylish atmosphere yet cheap - perhaps more expensive than a local joint, but still comparativly cheap for Europe, yet with great service. ambiance and cooking.

Plus they accept credit cards - hotel and restaurant. A big plus in a country where not many do and if youre not flush with cash!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles
1  Thank salkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed one night in the suite room, which was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, even to non-French speakers like ourselves. Everything in Madagascar is cheap so no need to worry about prices, just stay here and enjoy your time. The restaurant is excellent as well!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commando_Cotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Sakamanga was a haven int he midst of a crazy city. True, it has it's imperfections...our toilet did not work for 3 days (broken when we arrived and then it was the weekend so apparently no one was there to fix it...we weren't thrilled by that!). They also forgot to pick up my friend from the airport (they say "he didn't see her" but...avoiding a long and detailed story, it was clear that the guy was not there.) but I've no other complaints. Thing happen.

It must be said they were extremely accommodating. We were 3 friends arriving on 3 different flights and different days to all meet in Tana. And my flight plans changed several times. So with all that confusion we had to adjust our reservation about 10 times. Always they were nice and never showed any frustration. (I even took them some Fererro Rocher. That's how annoying I assume we were, admittedly!) Always they smiled.

The room was large, clean and lovely. The sweet housekeeper spent ages cleaning it thoroughy and with care. The bar is fun, the restaurant nice and social, the cafe is a tropical garden courtyard where you would never guess there is a smog choked city just over the wall.

Worth every penny. Would 100% stay there again, and every time!

Room Tip: We chose the triple/suite. Complete with private patio which we enjoyed very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ptesinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at the Sakamanga in November 2010 and everything was perfect.
Upon arrival we definitely had un apgraded room , as we stopped for one night only, in state the room we had returning from our trip was the right one, it was very nice with a views of the inside garden.
The food at the restaurant is good although a little too expensive by the standards of Madagascar and also the bar.
Exceptional collection museum style inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkZambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.4 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#13 of 59 in Antananarivo
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#16 of 59 in Antananarivo
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#6 of 59 in Antananarivo
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakamanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakamanga

Address: Rue Ratianarivo Ampasamadinha, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#6 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £27 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central vibrating Antananarivo, you will appreciate the peaceful atmosphere of Sakamanga. With its typical architecture, its traditional decoration (but with European standards equipments) Sakamanga is very original and different from basic standards hotels and you will certainly love its originality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sakamanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakamanga Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Sakamanga Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing