We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with excellent location”
Review of Hotel Sakamanga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sakamanga
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Gdansk, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place with excellent location”
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with superb staff. Conveniently located in Tana. In house like small ethnographic museum. Avoid rooms on ground floor where usual cochroaches are common. Excellent food in their superb restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlouhrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    200
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
75
214
78
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were in Madagascar during our honeymoon and stayed at Sakamanga I think 4 or 5 nights over 2 weeks in between trips to western and southern Madagascar. We left a bag there in storage in between stays. Great rooms. Wifi didn't always work but it worked one time when we really needed it. We found out our Air Mad flight had been cancelled before we left for the airport. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Maybe a little pricey by Madagascar standards but some of the best meals we had during our trip. Will definitely stay there the next time we are in Madagascar.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. The hotel is an oasis of peace located in the center of the city. It features a huge exhibition of historical furniture, plates and photographs on the walls, it's like being in a private museum. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bar is a little jewel in the beautiful internal garden and the restaurant upstairs offers the best food of Madagascar.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Four different categories of rooms. I stayed in the "soft" rooms which were quite nice. Expect a spotless bathroom with nice tile, fan, mosquito net, small TV, and a desk. As others have stated, there are enough artifacts lining the walls to open a museum! Lots of very interesting (and old) stuff to keep you entertained. The restaurant was amazing and people come from all over town to it. The bar was a nice, mellow place to relax as well. I also had lunch at the Saka, the small cafe next door, which was good too.

They will also arrange for a taxi to meet you at the airport which I'd highly recommend. Tana airport is a bit of a zoo with people trying to carry your luggage and/or drive you. My taxi driver was John and I just can't recommend him enough!!! I had quite a few internal flights in Mad and he dropped me off at the airport and picked me up a total of eight times. John also drove me to Lemur Park and all around the city. He has lived in Tana his whole life, speaks perfect English (and French), and knows every nook and cranny of the city.

Although Sakamanga is in central Tana, not Ivato, I didn't find it inconvenient for early flights. It will only take 20-30 minutes to the airport if you need to arrive by 430am for a 630am flight.

Room Tip: Definitely splurge the extra few euros for the soft room or the class above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sf_racerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Comfortable, quirky and welcoming hotel with a nice location in a pleasant Tana neighbourhood. We stayed in the suite, which was enormous with a screened-off terrace area, plus a big bathroom with a bath, shower and constant hot water. The room was a little bare in contrast to the communal areas of the hotel, which are choc full of interestingartefacts, but perhaps this was due to its size. No mozzies during our stay, no noise from outside and gowns and slippers were most welcome after a long international flight. Food here was great too – a haven of peace in Tana.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollopinglemurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a great hotel, clean, good service at the desk, and a range of rates for rooms. I paid 39 euro, about $50, for a one bed room with bath. Nice patio lounge. Free wifi. Looks like they are adding a big addition with a swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdavies110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here on two occasions and both times was impressed with the staff and the service. The rooms are simple, but comfortable and the onsite restaurant has delicious offerings. The rooms can amplify noise, so be forewarned and travels arrive at all hours, so ask for a room in the newer section on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer section, top floor for quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#13 of 59 in Antananarivo
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#6 of 59 in Antananarivo
133 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakamanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakamanga

Property: Hotel Sakamanga
Address: Rue Ratianarivo Ampasamadinha, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antananarivo
#6 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central vibrating Antananarivo, you will appreciate the peaceful atmosphere of Sakamanga. With its typical architecture, its traditional decoration (but with European standards equipments) Sakamanga is very original and different from basic standards hotels and you will certainly love its originality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sakamanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakamanga Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Sakamanga Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing