We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much like a rabbit warren to deserve a higher rating”
Review of Hotel Sakamanga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sakamanga
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The rooms are average at best. None have two beds, only one bed and a fold out sofa bed. You will need to leave a bread crumb trail to find you way back to your room. On the plus side, the food in the restaurant is good and there is a real good pizza place next door with beer that is very inexpensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muncie_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Absolutely loved this place, we were upgraded to the best suite when we arrived. Lovely room with great sunny little roof garden with trees & greenery from the garden below in view & a magnet for birds. We only ate here in the evening once as we are vegetarians & didn't fancy pizza two nights in a row, but I can't fault the breakfasts, best buffet we had all holiday. In fact we came back here to eat at the end of our holiday as our hotel didn't do breakfasts. It opens early but don't bother to come before 6.30 as the platter of pancakes doesn't arrive before then. The pictures, carvings & cabinets of antiques & nik-naks everywhere, even in the toilets are a great touch.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the largest suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancescaH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Yes this is a really nice hotel to comparing to the other hotels
at Tana. Well established and delightfully decorated and good
located. The restaurant is advisable with their large selection.

But If you will not get an A/C room the problem is beginnig
because there was neither an window mosquito net nor
anything over the bed. So some times it was hard to sleep
at nights. And guy at the reception was not an hospitable
person ''you can read this an rude person''

Finally one of the decent place in TANA.

Room Tip: Try to get an A/C room what you do not want to fight wight mosquitoes. And try to make very short c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vohilava, Propriétaire at Hotel Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

We read your comment. We are currently installing mosquito nets in all rooms, as they are all different, nets are custom made, it takes unfortunately a little time.
About our receptionist, he is famous for his moods but we like him ! We apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Well established with tourists , this central hotel is in a great location and has an excellent restaurant upstairs. We took the small suite for 8 euros extra which was large and comfortable with aircon and a great bathroom. Nice extra is the pool and terrace. Interesting historic artifacts line the walls. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supertraveltracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent our first night at Sakamanga at the start of our trip to Madagascar and returned for our last night there.
Sakamanga is not much to look at from the front but once inside the twisting little corridors full of museum treasures, the place opens out to a court yard with pool and very clean and attractive rooms upstairs. The restaurant is good with plenty of choice and friendly staff and breakfast is excellent.
We struggled with the lock to our first room there but staff sorted this after a bit of to-ing and fro-ing and similarly, the safe in the room was soon sorted. Nothing was too much trouble.

Mossies are pretty abundant in Tana so nets are provided over beds but be sure to use repellent if planning to sit in the court yard spaces. The hotel has free wifi which worked well in both the rooms we had as well as in the public spaces.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patriciaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We actually saw 3 different rooms in this hotel - stayed twice and had use of one of the very fine looking new rooms on way to a late flight (all arranged by our madagascar tour guide). It is quite a quirky style with narrow twisty passages and lots of artefacts from Mada history on the walls and in glass display cases. Our first room was beautiful - more like a suite. The only downside is it is all wooden floors and thin walls so noise can be a bit disturbing. The second room was very small but still comfortable and had all we needed apart from a mosquito net. We had one of our own so were able to hook it up ok. And you do need one as there are a lot of the flying monsters about! Staff very friendly and helpful and spoke english well. Their restaurant upstairs was really nice and actually surprisingly good value, very French style menu. Need to book on a weekend as it gets busy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4dchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I just recently had the pleasure of staying yet again at the wonderful hotel Sakamanga. The hotel, still with the same owner, has undergone another renovation with 15 new rooms just opened, around the new swimming pool. A fantastic addition to what was already my favourite place to stay in Madagascar. I was again received warmly by the staff (who also remain consistently good) and taken to my beautiful new room. Stone bathroom, wet room style, four poster bed, all the usual Sakamanga touches such as a fridge and safe, beautiful shower gel, shampoo and soap in the bathroom, and a little welcome gift personally addressed to me (I don't promise you'll get one of those!!). The new manager Beatrice is perfect for the Sakamanga, she's friendly and approachable and speaks great English. She really helped me out a lot, and constantly checked if everything was up to scratch. Obviously, with 15 new rooms opening, she was a little concerned that all was well. For 48 euros, with these standards, I just don't know why you would stay anywhere else. The standards of food are just as high as they ever were, the welcome is just as warm, the rooms are just as beautiful, the pool looks great (I didn't get in), in all, I had a wonderful ten days at the Sakamanga, and for the price, it simply cannot be beaten. Book in advance, they fill up fast. General message to all hotels: all hotel rooms should have full-length mirrors. That's my only complaint.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the new rooms around the pool, it was spacious and perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dadamanga_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.4 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
2 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakamanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakamanga

Address: Rue Ratianarivo Ampasamadinha, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antananarivo
#6 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: £27 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central vibrating Antananarivo, you will appreciate the peaceful atmosphere of Sakamanga. With its typical architecture, its traditional decoration (but with European standards equipments) Sakamanga is very original and different from basic standards hotels and you will certainly love its originality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sakamanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakamanga Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Sakamanga Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing