We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you have to go to antananarivo, you have to stay at the hotel sakamanga”
Review of Hotel Sakamanga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sakamanga
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“if you have to go to antananarivo, you have to stay at the hotel sakamanga”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I went on a surf trip to Madagascar and was forced to overnight in Antananarivo which you should avoid if possible. If you have to stay to Tana, then you must stay at the hotel sakamanga. On the taxi ride from the airport you will swear you are being kidnapped and you will drive through the one of the filthiest cities on the planet but you will finally arrive at the hotel sakamanga on the top of a hill. it is an oasis in the pit of hell. It was such a refreshing find it was amazing. the service was great and the rooms were magnificent. they were large, clean and very well appointed. They would qualify as five star rooms in any city but especially in Tana. There is also a very good restaurant in the hotel so you don't have to risk venturing out into the city. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I understand they have several size rooms. Spend the 50 euros and stay in the large rooms overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60927John_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    192
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
68
204
76
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Fantastic hotel - comfortable, stylish, welcoming, well-priced - and a real oasis within the madness of Tana (which we loved!) - the apartment worked really well for us (3 adults and 3 kids under 12) as it is a stand alone part of the hotel (so you don't need to worry about annoying neighbours above, below or next door to you), it is spacious and comfortable, set over two floors. It has a great bath and shower and a simple kitchenette (microwave, kettle, fridge, 2 hobs, cutlery and crockery). This was the perfect base for us to explore Tana. The adjoining restaurant is unbelievably good (and reasonable).

Room Tip: apartment is perfect for a family of 4 to 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zungullila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great rooms with a stylish/charmingly crazy decor, very friendly staff. The lunch buffet in the garden (not the upstairs restaurant looking out onto the street) is divine, simple but super tasty dishes and such a tranquil environment.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room looking onto the courtyard/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here alone on two occasions a recent business trip. It was such a pleasant surprise. Beautifully tastefully decorated, charming. The rooms were a good size and clean. Lovely calm outdoor swimming pool and bar in a quiet courtyard surrounded by the hotel - lovely.

In both rooms there were two sticking points though: 1) there was no long mirror and in fact in the second room/suite I finally found a small head and shoulders mirror between two of the windows behind the curtains in addition to the bathroom mirror. In the first room, there was a half size mirror behind the bathroom door which when you fully open the bathroom door you can see 1/2-3/4 of yourself. 2) The water supply in the shower was worse in the first room. I was told there was a pipe burst in the road just outside hence the water pressure coming and going and fluctuating between hot and cold. It did slightly similarly in the suite but nowhere near as much. Hope the water situation can be resolved.

However having said that I would not hesitate to stay there again. Also many interesting historic pieces to view in glass cupboards en route from reception to the pool bar. Good breakfast and lunchtime buffet too and good value for money. Wifi wasn't excellent. It didn't work in the restaurant nor in the suite but did in my first room both of these were in the old part. These are old renovated houses so no lift and plenty of stairs to climb and some narrow. There are a few rooms off the pool courtyard though.

All the staff were attentive and the food excellent. Overall a great place to stay in a hustling and busy city. I will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, California
Level Contributor
347 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here on two separate nights during our recent visit to Madagascar. The rooms were spacious and comfortable - only comment I'd make is the toilet is in one room and the sink and shower in another - not a big deal but different. The shower water was hot then cold then hot as we took our showers but felt good anyway. We had a lovely buffet breakfast (expensive but plentiful) provided by very nice staff. We ate dinner twice in their well-known restaurant. The wine was pretty good and my shrimp exquisite. We were grateful to have such good meals without having to leave the hotel area. A special surprise as you wander the grounds is the museum-quality display that runs throughout the hotel. Be sure you have a close look at the walls between front reception and the pool/patio, but also wander toward the back to see the totems and guitar collection from the tribes. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were airy with the windows open and the heavy curtains allowed us to block a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here 3 different nights on our travels through Madagascar. We had 3 different rooms - all large, clean and comfortable. The reception area was being redone when we were there so our first impression was not good but once we made it past there everything was fine. Service was hit and miss. Some of the front desk staff's "service skills' could use some work. Our safe was locked when we got one of the rooms so we went back down to the front desk to ask them to fix it - after waiting our turn the girl said she would send someone up......1 hour later my husband went back down and asked if anyone was coming. The could not find the master key but were looking for it. An hour later we gave up waiting and went for dinner - no one ever bothered to get back to us and we were without a safe for the night. The next time we came back our electronic lock would not lock when we tried to leave the room, again my husband went down to the front desk, waited his turn and asked if someone could come and fix it. This lady came right away with the master key - locked it and let us use the master key until someone was able to come and fix the lock for good. So hit and miss. The food was OK. We found the breakfast quite expensive and the food at the restaurant La Saka was disappointing. We had read and heard good reviews about the restaurant but we found it to be marginal. Overall probably one of the better places to stay in Tanna.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Coming from East Africa I was not sure what the hotel would be like as the prices are quite reasonable. The rooms were nicely decorated, with very nice hard wood floors and a fantastic shower. We stayed on our way in and out, so we got to see two different rooms. Both were very nice. The restaurant at the hotel is amazing and also not all that expensive. Ask them to organize a place on the shuttle rather than a taxi as it will be quite a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETripAfrica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakamanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakamanga

Property: Hotel Sakamanga
Address: Rue Ratianarivo Ampasamadinha, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antananarivo
#6 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central vibrating Antananarivo, you will appreciate the peaceful atmosphere of Sakamanga. With its typical architecture, its traditional decoration (but with European standards equipments) Sakamanga is very original and different from basic standards hotels and you will certainly love its originality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sakamanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakamanga Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Sakamanga Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing