We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average quality, quite pricey rooms”
Review of Korea Garden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Korea Garden Lodge
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Lilongwe
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

At first view, the b&b seems really nice. It's situated a little outside the centre, but still within walking distance. There is a green garden and a pool. Though the pool is nor the cleanest.
The rooms (silver rooms with en suite bathrooms) are spacious and clean, though quite basic and could use a new layer of paint and new towels. The mozi nets are ok and nor broken. There is quite a big breakfast buffet. The rest of the meals are a bit pricey.
The atmosphere is not very familiar and it somehow does not feel cosy. The personnel is not very helpdul and when internet was not working dor days, they did just shrug their shoulders in response.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

I always stay at Korea Garden when I am in Lilongwe, because as far as I know it is the best value for money. The rooms are not expensive and accordingly they are rather simple without many extras. But executive rooms are large and usually very clean. Internet usually works well as wifi with a password and there is a safe locker in the room for your valuables,

I like the area arond the pool where you can sit and relax after work.

Breakfast is okay, though nothing exciting. Lunch and diner is also okay, but service can be extremely slow.

The lodge is very much frequented by groups from abroad and they are often booked an it is hard to get a room. Sometimes they do not get your reservation right. The restaurant is also frequently very busy at night, so service gets even slower.

The location is good. It is a green and quiet area, but also close to the center. I have not yet come across a better place in Lilongwe in this price category.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eulenspiegeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The rooms are in need of renovation. We stayed in the executive block which was adequate. There was mould around the bath. The air conditioning doesn't work very well and one fan didn't work. Reported it but nobody came to fix it. We asked for some toilet paper but none arrived - just as well we weren't desperate!

The pool is in a very bad way which is a shame as it is in a nice area with plants and loungers but it isn't great to sit there and look at a dirty pool. Nobody used it on the two occasions we were there some eleven days apart. We did see a member of staff removing leaves from the surface but it needs a thorough clean. The tiles were also dirty around the edge.

The food was satisfactory but not amazing. We had to wait a long time for our food. The staff are pleasant.

We were looking forward to using the pool as it was so hot. If we returned we would stay at the Sunbird which has a pool.

Room Tip: from what we heard the executive rooms were bigger with more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

When we arrived there were no "Silver rooms" available so we got a "Gold room" which was cold (!), smelly, dirty and in bad shape. The white towels were no longer white and some had red stains on them. Pillowcases were raggedy and had holes and the bed was hard as a rock. A funny detail was that a member of the staff knocked on our door to give us a fresh table cloth, only it was full of stains. The staff was really nice but the owner seems like a greedy person considering the price of 69 dollars. Whatever you do, don't book the "Bronze rooms" as the reminded me of prison cells. Instead, follow the signs on the street outside to other, better hotels for half the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I usually stay here when I visit Lilongwe for work. The pluses are the location in old town (near the old town mall and post office), the free wifi, the pool area (although recently the pool has not been looking so inviting), the food and the ability to pay using Visa. The rooms however are mixed. They come in several grades; I have stayed in Bronze, Silver and Gold but not in Executive. The bronze rooms are small and I imagine would be rather cosy with two people in but were fine as a single. The rooms are a bit dark as they only have one very small window and you share a bathroom but they are the most comfortable beds and pillows I have had at KGL! The silver rooms can also be a bit dark but are ok, have their own bathroom and are quiet as they are further away from the pool / bar / restaurant area. The gold rooms are nice, big, spacious and lighter and have a TV in them but the mattresses in most of these rooms are incredibly hard and the pillows either wafer thin or rock solid! Also the rooms at the restaurant end can get quite noisy. I will continue to stay here when in Lilongwe as for me the pros outweigh the cons but it would really benefit from a bit of an update and some new mattresses and pillows!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I've stayed at Korea Gardens a few time as a Lilongwe base prior to travelling elsewhere in Malawi.

The grounds are ok and the hotel is within a secure compound. The reception area offers free internet connection and wifi which, when working, is a useful service. I have stayed in the Executive rooms which are large and the bathrooms are ok - and I have stayed in the Gold rooms, which are more convenient for the restaurant.

The area around the pool, bar and restaurant is nicely set out and there are plenty of chairs. The food is fine without being exceptional. There was a power cut both times I arrived back and it would appear the hotel does not have a backup generator - or it takes a long time for them to get this working. This is a pain in Malawi as it gets pitch dark very quickly at around 6pm regardless of the time of year. In my gold room the bed was fine and it had a powerful fan which meant the "white noise" from this drowned out any noise from the kitchens or restaurant. The tv was working most of the time and there were a few satellite channels in addition to Malawi state tv. The bathroom was poor with a shower curtain that was almost completely useless, no hot water and the water from the hot water tap was brown despite running it for a long time to try to clear it. The whole bathroom was soaking due to the wild spray from the shower head and the failure of the curtain.

I'm reluctant to be too critical of a hotel in Malawi, but the cost of staying is comparable with accommodation that of western nations - so I expect basic services to work.

The administration also continued to fall down with staff forgetting that they had already agreed and been paid to provide us with meals. This confusion and protracted discussion was wearing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DTR3197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Centrally located with lovely landscaping, the Korea Garden Lodge is certainly in the right place for busy travelers. It seems to be a popular place for the ever revolving crowd of ex-pats and Malawians looking for an affordable place to stay or meet. Upsides: great location, pleasant surroundings, restaurant onsite with a breakfast buffet, helpful staff. Downsides: Room 42 is incredibly noisy and required a fan to keep enough white noise for sleeping. Hot water works, but not for long. Very handy to have the restaurant on site but for someone highly allergic to cats, a meal surrounded by the browsing felines is not always pleasant. Service is incredibly slow (especially in comparison to other restaurants in the city) and the food uninspiring. Overall: average hotel but the location makes it a good value.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the parking lot and avoid room G-42
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 13 in Lilongwe
217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#6 of 13 in Lilongwe
77 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 13 in Lilongwe
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#5 of 13 in Lilongwe
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#8 of 13 in Lilongwe
115 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korea Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korea Garden Lodge

Address: Plot No.3056, Tsiranana Avenue | Area 3, Lilongwe, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range: £41 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Korea Garden Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Jovago.com so you can book your Korea Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korea Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing