We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of Korea Garden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Korea Garden Lodge
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As an overnight stop before catching a flight this is the place to be, the room we stayed in was basic but clean, with clean shared bathrooms. Breakfast buffet in the morning is good and sets you off nicely for your travels

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    30
    45
    23
    12
See reviews for
10
24
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in the bronze suite which seemed more like dorms. The rooms were poorly lit and mouldy. Toilets in the suite were often used by staff, and the staff took naps in the vacant rooms. Lots of 'staff' lurking around the Bronze rooms. Wifi didn't work and there were also intermittent power shortages. The food was not good value for money, and the waiters were lethargic at best. The pool also wasn't swimmable.

Room Tip: Don't choose Bronze rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcgle956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lilongwe hotels

american in africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My room, in the executive building, was quite shabby and not very clean. The free internet connection did not work the entire time I was there. The restaurant staff were friendly, but the front desk clerks were surly and unhelpful. For $80 a night, this is a very poor value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edipsos, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Moved here from mabuya camp and glad I did. The are expensive rooms here but I opted for the cheapest room, standard room with a fan and shared clean toilets and showers. Free buffet breakfast included in the room price, and very helpful and friendly staff, would recomend if you are spending a few days in Lilongwe

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

it was hot and the pool was very refreshing even it was not the cleanest but it was there :-) - simple but clean and reasonable for that price - for Malawian standard it is very well kept , i have seen more expensive places and not in better condition. I was there in 2010,2011
the people staff is friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

At first view, the b&b seems really nice. It's situated a little outside the centre, but still within walking distance. There is a green garden and a pool. Though the pool is nor the cleanest.
The rooms (silver rooms with en suite bathrooms) are spacious and clean, though quite basic and could use a new layer of paint and new towels. The mozi nets are ok and nor broken. There is quite a big breakfast buffet. The rest of the meals are a bit pricey.
The atmosphere is not very familiar and it somehow does not feel cosy. The personnel is not very helpdul and when internet was not working dor days, they did just shrug their shoulders in response.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I always stay at Korea Garden when I am in Lilongwe, because as far as I know it is the best value for money. The rooms are not expensive and accordingly they are rather simple without many extras. But executive rooms are large and usually very clean. Internet usually works well as wifi with a password and there is a safe locker in the room for your valuables,

I like the area arond the pool where you can sit and relax after work.

Breakfast is okay, though nothing exciting. Lunch and diner is also okay, but service can be extremely slow.

The lodge is very much frequented by groups from abroad and they are often booked an it is hard to get a room. Sometimes they do not get your reservation right. The restaurant is also frequently very busy at night, so service gets even slower.

The location is good. It is a green and quiet area, but also close to the center. I have not yet come across a better place in Lilongwe in this price category.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eulenspiegeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
0.4 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
67 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
3.3 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#5 of 12 in Lilongwe
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korea Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korea Garden Lodge

Property: Korea Garden Lodge
Address: Plot No.3056, Tsiranana Avenue | Area 3, Lilongwe, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Korea Garden Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Korea Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korea Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing