We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, tired amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Crossroads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crossroads Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, tired amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Despite only giving it three stars, I stay at the Crossroads whenever I am in Lilongwe. I don't really mind the tired furniture, the cracked bathroom tiles, the non-working aircon. I really love the friendly staff, the varied breakfast buffet, and the low-slung, garden-set architecture. The alternative, the Golden Peacock, is more modern etc., but way too clinical for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YumScrubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    54
    51
    11
    6
See reviews for
1
10
5
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
253 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Overall three star at best. I stay in numerous hotels throughout Africa and Asia, and understand differences in local as to what expectations should be.

Good: Bar man is fantastic; does his best in a bar that seems dark enough to be a night club. Breakfast buffet is very good with plenty of options. Henry who splits time between copper pot and breakfast buffet was one of the most attentive servers/hosts I've encountered. He's a bright spot here. Copper Pot for dinner isn't bad. Very expensive, but food options are robust by Malawi standards (Chinese and Indian primarily). Room size for executive rooms was huge.

Bad: Room quality was poor. Two lights in my room hung from the ceiling by the electrical wire. Air con was awful. Rooms had a very musty smell. Gym had great equipment, but was packed with locals and so you had a time getting to a treadmill. Pool area was very well manicured, but water quality appeared poor. Checkout took forever. Also, no Amex accepted which seems odd for a hotel that caters to many U.S. government and iNGO personnel from the U.S. The spa area mentioned on the website is never open as well. Getting a massage was impossible, but sauna area seemed well kept.

Also, the "shopping centre" next door does provide a limited grocery store in case you forgot something, water, soda (but no alcohol), sundry items. Also has two fast food options of a burger place and pizza place.

Overall, ok is what I rate it. Go in with your eyes open and alot of patience; but that is most of central and western Africa.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

For $185 a night this hotel is a disgrace. There has been no maintenance for many years, in our room both bedside lamps did not work, the safe was broken and the shower broke halfway through our stay. The cupboard was filthy, so much so that I did not hang up my clothes. Everywhere you look the place is just left to fall apart. I think it is a disgrace that they feel they can charge these types of rates for what you get. There are other options in Lilongwe for a lot less, there is no great hotel in this town but its about getting what you pay for. Its time the owners took responsibility to maintain the hotel if they want to charge these rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChickenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lilongwe hotels

Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

By African standards this hotel is super swanky. My room was decently sized with two beds. The bathroom is great as its been westernized with a fake shower (it still unhinges so you can take a European style shower) and the air conditioning unit seems to work pretty well. Our meals are part of the package so all of our meals are taken together at the hotel restaurant. They've all been family style and combine traditionally Malawian food with Pakistani food (the hotel is owned by a Pakistani family).

The hotel has both a gym and a pool which is awesome. I didn't use either but I did sit by the pool and enjoy the lovely weather. The conference rooms were pretty standard and like an ice box. The machine is set to 16C and we couldn't fix it most if the time. I did appreciate the constant supply of bottled water and juice. The juice was a combination of orange juice cut with squash which made it super sweet.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Let's face it, Malawi has very few high-end or even mid-range hotels to choose from. For a 3-star hotel, I found Crossroads to be very nice. The price is high for Malawi, but again, there's not many places to choose from. Upon arrival, I was upgraded to a Deluxe room (no idea why, but I wasn't about to question it!) and the room was very nice. (I peeked in to a Standard room and could see a big difference in the quality and size of the rooms.) It had a desk, fridge, and big bathroom which was fully stocked with lotion, shampoo, and body wash, etc. Most of the reviews about the water temp in the shower are spot on though: the water was either too hot, or too cold. I couldn't find a middle temp, which was strange and a bit frustrating.
They had a full breakfast buffet and room service was also good and efficient, available 24-hours a day. All of the staff I came in to contact with were especially friendly and very helpful. They seemed to go out of their way to make sure everything was just right. The hotel and my room were extremely clean.
I also enjoyed the very fully-equipped gym! (Both cardio machines and weights).
The location is good: it's in a complex with a bank (Foreign exchange), a super market, a couple of fast food restaurants, and a few stores. It is also not too far from Old Town and the main shopping/eating areas of Lilongwe.
My only main complaint was the price and functionality of the internet. You have to pay for an internet card (which again, was a bit steep) and the internet connect was spotty! So basically I was paying a lot for poor quality internet. This day and age I feel all hotels should provide free internet.
All in all, I will stay here again during my next trip to Lilongwe.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We used TA to search for more economical places in Lilongwe but ended up at Crossroads and had a decent stay. Other hotels in the area are in the same price range but we weren't sure why everything was so much more than what we thought it should be. The rooms were ok, a bit tired but well-serviced. The breakfast buffet was pretty good and we were happy with the selection. We later found out about how WiFi works in Lilongwe so did not feel so bad about buying "time" to use. Overall, the staff were helpful and fairly attentive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed here for a few nights on the way into and out of Malawi. Nice Hotel with a great location between the airport and Downtown Lilongwe. Located inside of a walled shopping area, the hotel provides travelers a safe convenient place to recuperate from a long flight and is adjacent to ATMs, food markets, barbers, and several restaurants. The rooms were nothing special, but were very clean and comfortable. The gym was huge and might be the best gym I've ever seen in an African hotel. The Clay Pot restaurant located in the hotel is superb and serves very authentic indian food. Great service all around from hotel staff.

Room Tip: Buy a prepaid WiFi card in the shop just off the lobby to get WiFi in any hotel in Malawi. The cards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan-Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
3.0 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.4 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossroads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Hotel

Property: Crossroads Hotel
Address: Mchinji Roundabout | Crossroads Complex, PO Box X1, Lilongwe, Malawi
Phone Number:
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crossroads Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossroads Hotel offers guests an illustrious and unforgettable stay. Adjacent to the Crossroads Shopping Complex, on the Mchinji roundabout, the hotel is located within minutes of the central business district, and only 25 minutes from Kamuzu International Airport. The hotel combines business services, contemporary dining and state of the art conference facilities, appealing to both leisure and business travellers, offering convenience and easy access to the city’s finest amenities and 124KMs north – east of Lake Malawi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Jovago.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crossroads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing