We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English Oasis in the Middle of Nowhere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lilongwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luwawa Forest Lodge
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Booked 1 night as stop-over between Lilongwe & Livingstonia, but changed it to 2 nights when I read Tripadvisor reviews saying they wished they had stayed longer.
As it turned out, a broken rental car key enforced a 4 night stay in what turned out to be one of our favorite venues.
George & Christine were tireless hosts. The staff, especially the chef supplied wonderful meals & service. The setting is sublime with extensive garden & forest walks.
Our highlight was a 5 hour trek to the Fire Tower as described in the excellent Info pack supplied. A troop of 25 baboons crossed the road in front of us then played in nearby trees - what a start on day 2 in Africa!
we also had a memorable family sauna at the bottom of the garden.
Tip: try to avoid driving the forest track to the lodge in the dark!

Room Tip: there will be hot water when you see smoke under the water tank towers. let it run for 5 minutes h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macthedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

The lodge is right in the middle of the forest, very bumpy road to get there but worth it. Beautiful location and gardens. Very helpful staff, good meals. Lovely to relax for a couple of days as a complete get away

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at luwawa in march 2013 for one night. We met the owners the day before in Mzuzu and they agreed to give us a ride, since they were going back anyways. Afterwards, they told us that it is 10$ per person, also for the way back to the main road (so 40$ in total, since there is no public transport). Unfortunately, they told us this right before we wanted to leave.
We brought our own tent, but also had a look at the dorm, which was not only the most expensive one I have ever seen in that region of Africa, but also in a bad condition and densely packed with 20 beds.
Staff is friendly and helpful, except from the owners, who mainly ignored us while being extremely friendly to the only two other guests. It seemed to us, like they don't really want to have backpackers/campers around, but are trying to get as much money out of them as possible.
The dinner was nice, nothing special, but quite expensive. The breakfast was great, and not too expensive.
If you are looking for a quiet, natural environment and are willing to spend a lot of money, this might be the right place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felefuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed over Christmas period after few days on Lake Malawi, and so welcomed the cooler climate and freshness of the air all around. Well signposted, a few km off main road, only three hours from Nkhata Bay or Lilongwe so perfect stopover.

The positives:
Staff were so helpful and clued in to our needs, esp with young children, preparing meals etc. Chef is great, and loves feedback, felt very family friendly, and indeed like you were part of family!
Lots of options for accommodation, self-catering, dorms, private chalets, camping.
Its got such a cosy homely feel, esp at night with the fire and the lovely comfortable dining.
Lot of activities, be it in and around the facility or hiking, cycling etc, they are well set-up and the guides were great. Playground and orienteering course was grea for kids of all ages.
Food is so homely and delicious. We paid small corkage for our wine but well stocked bar there.
George and his team really helpful and visible all the time, for any queries.
Great solar lights for night time after lights out.
One day is not enough!

Downsides:
One day is not enough and we felt it bit heavy on pocket for the accom side of things when you take activities and food on board. At 90usd/night for lodge room, while it was large, comfortable and well equipped, it would be pricey over few nights, and would suggest maybe offering special deals for 3 nights half price or discounts for longer stays t encourage activity breaks?
Rooms could have little make over, not much, but initially feels bit tired, though can't put my finger on specifics.

Well done for all the hard years in building the place up and developing the trails, and facilites, and making it a great destination

Room Tip: Self catering options look good if I was going again with kids. Great views from most of lodge rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingFunFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here with Kiboko Safaris from Lilongwe in March 2008. The Lodge was fantastic & we were made very welcome. The local dancers & singers there were amazing, they made our stay there special. Great scenery :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were en route to Nyika and stopped here for one night to break the journey. The location is amazing - the views of the reservoir are quite something.
The main lodge is very cosy, although is a bit tired and could do with a bit of a tidy up. However, the food was fabulous and Sandra the chef looked after us very well. We were up and away early doors so she gave us a huge packed lunch as we missed breakfast - sandwiches, boiled eggs, a packet of biscuits and bananas!
Our room was more like a dormitory - could have slept up to 8 people! It reminded me of my youth hosteling days and had that tired and damp smell - wouldn't take much to bring it up to scratch.
So, a handy stopover with lovely people but not anything more than that...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshirelittleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This place might be off the charts but it packs quite a punch! Lets start with how to get here - you veer of the highway and drive for 15 Kms of nothingness to reach this quite little resting place! The rooms are cosy, with good views; the small dining hall with its fireplace can warm anyone's heart on a cold night.....the welcome is kind and generous.... We found vegetarian food here....
There is no room service but with a dining hall like that with its warmth and soft music, you sure as hell don't miss much. Small paths lead to the waterfront and the lodge is guarded by two dogs, who sure make their presence obvious.
Communication (mobile networks) might be a challenge, but if you have chosen this place, you surely don't care....
It can get quite cold, at least when we went in may it was quite nippy out there...
Overall, it was our first night in Malawi and this place made sure we had lots to look forward to!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themanfromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
1.1 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#2 of 13 in Lilongwe
214 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 13 in Lilongwe
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 13 in Lilongwe
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#8 of 13 in Lilongwe
114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#5 of 13 in Lilongwe
208 reviews
1.7 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#4 of 13 in Lilongwe
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luwawa Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luwawa Forest Lodge

Address: 43 Private Bag | Mzimba, Near Luwawa Dam, Lilongwe, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Lilongwe
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luwawa Forest Lodge is an Eco -Tourism Lodge and Outdoor Adventure centre. Located 240km North of Lilongwe in the mountains of the North Viphya Forest Reserve. A very beautiful and peaceful Location far from the madding crowds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing