We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I eat here a lot (never slept)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kiboko Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiboko Town Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I eat here a lot (never slept)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have never stayed here (bit pricey) but I have eaten there over 20 times and never had any issues, the food is good and varied and not that expensive, but probably the most important thing is that the staff are excellent. They are well trained and just so professional, thye make you feel welcome, there is a little playground (converted landi) for kids to play in and even though you are in the middle of town the restaurant is at the back so it feel like you are not there...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    100
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
48
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Kiboko Town was a fine place to stay in Lilongwe. It has very nice "common" ares in both the garden restaurant serving both breakfast and lunch, beers etc until 4pm and upstairs bar area open for cocktails into the evening. All the rooms are on the second floor and the place has gates and excellent security. For daytime walking it is in a convenient location with access to Malls across the street and the old Town Mall a few blocks away( Mamma Mia is located there). Evenings , there is a very good bistro "Don Briani" on the main flor of the building next door. I recommend: Tobacco Auction House, very interesting. We tried to see the pottery in Dedze but the minibus took too long to get out there....3 hours so we never saw the pottery, but it WAS a Malawian experience. We did go to Gumbali Lodge for lunch and a wonderful walk to the cultural village there through corn stalk cow pastures! Very Nice. Many banks around the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

First time to Lilongwe. Welcoming, clean hotel. Short walk to stores. Great breakfast! All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Good value. Would definitely stay there again.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed one night here while passing through Lilongwe, and it was fine. The hotel is in a good location in the Old Town, and there is is secure parking, which was important to us. There is a very nice cafe area that serves a delicious breakfast, which is included. The room itself was just ok. Don't be fooled by the pictures on the website - the rooms aren't actually that nice. They look pretty worn and like they could use a serious facelift. The room seemed clean, though I found a dirty washcloth in the shower, which made me wonder how well it had been cleaned. Lilongwe seems to be on the expensive end as far as loading goes so this is at least a decent value. And the staff were all very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel. The room was very small, but clean. The bed was tiny with a worn down mattress, not really comfortable for two people.

Lunch in the nice courtyard was good but the portions very small.

In the afternoon we were sitting on the balcony which was nice to observe the street life below. There is a big supermarket in walking distance. Right outside the hotel you will find a craft market, we found the sales people very pushy.

The continental breakfast in the morning was OK, if you want more than 2 slices of toast or an refill of your coffee/tea you have to pay extra.

The staff in the hotel was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had an excellent couple of nights stay in Lilongwe. The staff is wonderful, the food is excellent and the surroundings of the hotel is very pretty. We would go back there again and recommend it highly to anybody who visits Lilongwe!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyorgyi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

In my first time in Malawi, I stayed at the Kiboko Hotel. From what I was able to see in Lilongwe this hotel offers a good cost-benefit. The rooms are pretty ok, staff is friendly and the location is excellent. There are some places to eat around and if you enjoy african art (or gifts you find everywhere), there is a bazaar (tourist trap) nearby. I guess they also offer some trips which I did not take... Anyways, I love it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, as the road can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tumbuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
3.0 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiboko Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Town Hotel

Property: Kiboko Town Hotel
Address: Mandala Road 4/278, Lilongwe, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kiboko Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing