We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay Indian food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huts Restaurant

Huts Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 69 Restaurants in Lilongwe
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Hut's, where delivering mouth-watering flavors, fresh ingredients, and exceptional service is our passion. With pride, we present the culinary pearls of fine Indian Cuisine straight out of my kitchen to your plate. Hut's has earned a name synonymous with quality food and sincere service, that won't break your bank. We're located off Kamuzu Procession Road, near Lilongwe Hotel. Call us for directions. Call to make your reservation or place an order. 0888821533 0999821533. Mon-Sat noon - 1.30pm, 6.15pm to 9.30pm. Sunday closed.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Okay Indian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Decent Indian food, but not good enough for me to go back a second time probably. The dishes were all right but nothing really stood out for me. The owners are very friendly, though.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jcmauburkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe
1 review
“Best Indian Food in Lilongwe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

As temporary residents in Lilongwe, we visit here regularly, and have never ever been disappointed. The hosts are going out of their way to make you feel at home, and the food is simply superb. Recently had masala crayfish, what an experience. And their prawns are simply to die for! Above all, the most child friendly restaurant in Malawi! See attached pic of my 4year old enjoying their signature chicken lollipops!
Regards,
Marius & Betsie

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BetsieLilongwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Indian Restaurant in Lilongwe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have been to several Indian Restaurants in Lilongwe, and Huts is the best by far. Really, really good food, fresh and cooked to order. The owners made the atmosphere wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New location, same great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Back in Malawi from cold, rainy UK! thought I've visit Huts again. Realized they are at their new location in Area 10. great dining experience once again, in a larger location - our group (15) had a fantastic time. not one person had leftovers on their plate. a testament to great food, great memories! thank you again Huts. 10/10

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r4012xtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, warm hosts, affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

There is a central theme in the reviews, which I experienced immediately after I walked into Huts. The warm hosts - Dheeray and Mina. A couple who have a real passion for food, and serving their customers what they want - don't feel hesitant to customize an order. I was seated promptly. I got their renowned Huts Prawns, and washed it down with a cold Carlsberg - which is very popular in Malawi. For those visiting from abroad, this is very economical meal - considering the favorable exchange rates. A meal is approximately $15. As with most things, pay for quality and experience. In both cases, I was left very satisfied. Thank you for making my first experience in Africa such a warm one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenna_marsh_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huts Restaurant also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Been to Huts Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing