We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you really want to experience Lilongwe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Cape Town, SA
1 review
“Great hotel if you really want to experience Lilongwe”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel for a week and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. When there were things that needed attention, they were addressed immediately after a quick word with the manager/owner Irfan Sattar. Irfan was onsite often enough to keep a close eye on things and is clearly totally guest-focussed, which in my opinion is the secret to the success of any establishment. Thank-you for being so keen to try to meet all my needs. And thank you for Rodrick - the most humble, polite, kind porter who made my stay in Malawi that much more interesting and enlightening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    23
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
7
3
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

i attended this Hotel with no great expectations following previous reviews on Trip Advisor. I have to say i was more than pleasantly surprised however with the standard on accommodation, the politeness of the staff, the quality of service and with the overall experience. i would have no concern at all with using the Bridgeview again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnatbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip. Was a bit concerned about some reviews before i went. What a pleasant surprise. Good service,good location, good value and clean. Food was good and egg station at breakfast was really good. I would recommend

Room Tip: Good exchange rate in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I regularly stay at Bridgeview and have always found the hotel clean and well serviced, the rooms are ver generously sized, with the manager Ifan always ready to go the extra mile. The hotel is well located in the old town of Lilongwe, very close to the Shoprite, Spar and a number of good restaurants and bars. I tend to eat out, but I can recommend the Emporers toast!

Recently we held a mini conference and the staff and management really went the extra mile.

Downside: I like a beer and this hotel is dry, but this is not a big deal as there are a number of drinking holes to meet that need.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing north. The rooms can be a bit dark and the main road can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfropeanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 12 days, and also used their conference facilities.

Bridgeview was a great hotel, staff were attentive and friendly without being over the top, rooms were clean, and the showers hot!! Conference room was cleaned daily, with a/c and sound system provided.

Apparently they have a new house-keeping manager - which has meant the service and cleanliness has greatly improved. Rooms cleaned daily, and sheets changed daily as well

Good location close to the good restaurents in lilongwe, and also the spar/peoples mart/etc

Good points:
Authentic indian food !!
Large spacious rooms
Helpful staff
Free wi-fi!!!
Reasonable exchange rate of currency!!

Bad points:
The laundry service staples numbers to your clothes - which if you forget about is uncomfortable when you wear them!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psolanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If going to Lilongwe, one good option is to stay in the Bridgeview hotel. I know my stay there goes back a few years, and I hope that they have maintained the quality of service that was presented to me back then.
I stayed in the hotel for over a month with three other colleagues. As far as I remember, the service was overall excellent., good internet wi-fi access ,. The rooms were clean and staff attentive to your needs. I cannot remember the exact prices, but it must have been around 80 USD or so, regardless, it was way cheaper than the traditional other hotels and co types. .I retain a good impression of the hotel and its staff. One of my colleagues frequently returns there on his trips to Lilongwe and has not complained about it. I can't remember the contacts, but will try to dig through my archives and find something and then post it. Otherwise, any taxi driver should be able to take you there.
Liked — Better than the
Disliked — nooooooooooooooooo

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I was on a two week business trip in Malawi, 1 week in Blantyre and the final week in Lilongwe. I checked in on the 30 June. The next 3 nights were utter nightmare at this place. The room was big and spacious, but very dirty. The carpet was dirty. The wardrobe was so dusty, i needed a face-mask to clean it before unpacking my bags. Electric wires were hanging loosely on the head board of the bed (serious hazard). In the bathroom just above the window was a big blood stain. The water in the shower took a long time to drain. Sheets appear to have been changed once during my 4 nights.

First night I ordered chicken curry in the restaurant. I regretted this decision as I nearly lost a tooth while persevering with a very hard lump of something that shouldn't be called chicken.
During the 4 days i was there I picked cockroaches on 2 separate days during breakfast. Showed this to the staff and asked but failed to see the manager.

Never in my life have I seen one place so overstaffed with employees who have no clue what customer service means. It was not uncommon to see up to 6 employees around the reception area, doing absolutely nothing but staring at guests without a simple 'good morning'.

It was difficult to change this place as we had booked the conference centre for our training workshops, and changing the venue at the last minute would seriously inconvenience our traveling delegates. This is a place I never want to go back to even if it was the last one standing, never ever! So be warned - try it at your own risk!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IzzyAMDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
0.0 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Kamuzu Procession Road, Behind Game Stores, Lilongwe 1281, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bridgeview Hotel and Conference Centre, located right in the heart of Lilongwe on the High Street close to major banks, famous curio markets, vegetable markets, night clubs and a shopping complex. We are also just five minutes' drive from the city centre and Capital Hill, and 30 minutes' drive from Kamuzu International Airport.With a total of 36 elegant rooms comprising 32 Standard Rooms, two Deluxe Rooms and two Suites, all rooms are designed to meet your expectations, whether on vacation or a business trip. Each room offers air-conditioning, wireless Internet, DStv, M-Net, a 32" HD LCD, intercom facility, complimentary tea and coffee, and international bathroom amenities in the spacious bathrooms.Conferencing is all together a different experience while at Bridgeview Hotel, with a total of three conference rooms accommodating 10 to 130 delegates offering free conference amenities, a PA system and projector with screen, you can worry less and do more while we take care of morning and afternoon tea breaks and mouth-watering buffet lunches or dinners.Our in-house Lemon and Spice Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, will have you coming back to try something different from our a la-carte, Indian and Chinese menu, or simply come browse the net while we offer you the best cappuccino in town. Our friendly and dedicated staff are here to give you the best in the hospitality world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing