We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury in the middle of poor country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Peacock Hotel
Ranked #16 of 26 Lilongwe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2012

i visited lilongwe at the end of february 2012 on business and stayed at the golden peacock hotel .

i must say i was very impressed with the facilities at this hotel. the rooms were clean and spacious and even had cable internet in the rooms. room service was quick. the food was not great though as all you could get was chinese chinese and more chinese.

overall a good 4 day stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Samina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel really stands out and I was surprised to find such a stunning, well lit hotel somewhere
Like Malawi hence the sheer poverty facing the locals. I enjoyed my 2 nights however the staff need to be trained. I had a knock early am only to be told that they wanted to clean my room despite the fact that I was still in my nightwear. There is no direct phone connection to the room, I had to take my outside calls at the man reception. The hotel has a beautiful restaurant offering Chinese cuisine however it was empty during my 2 day stay. The hotel standards are very high and the only down sight was the staff despite their friendliness and the fact that I had to ask housekeeping for towels and toilet paper.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor in a twin room that was very spacious with all five star qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Foxy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Malawi is one of the poorest countries in the world, so when we drove up to the Golden Peacock, it was somewhat shocking as it looked like a hotel that should be on the strip in Las Vegas. It was completely lit up on the outside with blue and red lights -- you definitely couldn't miss it from the street. From what I understand, it just opened in August 2011. It definitely did not have an African feel to it. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and friendly, however, there are two very definite classes of employees. There are the Malawians and the Chinese. It appeared the Chinese held the upper management positions and the Malawians were merely employees, and in my experience, treated poorly by some management staff. We did not have lodging for the two nights we were in Lilongwe, so we decided to "check out" the latest lodging addition to the city. We asked about the hotel rates and were told that they were running a special. A twin room (which is really two double beds) was $118 per night. The rooms were extremely innovative. In order for the electricity to work, you had to insert your key into a slot in the room which automatically turned on the lights, etc. Each room has a refrigerator, coffee, tea, bottled water, and peanuts. The rooms were beautifully decorated (Western style), along the lines of a Westin. Breakfast was included in the rate. We weren't sure whether or not to take the rooms, so we decided to have dinner. Our waitress was Malawian and did not speak English very well. A member of our group was fluent in Chichewa so we were able to order easily. The food was very good, however, our order of spring rolls was not. The cabbage was obviously rotten. Apparently, our waitress had made a mistake on one of our orders and when we told her that the spring rolls were rotten, she told us that if she told the manager, he would dock her pay for both orders. When we got the bill, the spring rolls were not removed. We spoke with the manager of the dining room. At first, he refused to remove the charge, but later acquiesced. He was extremely dismissive and condescending toward our waitress. I went to the front desk and told them that I would be filing a formal complaint with the owner of the hotel. I also told them that were had planned on staying the night, but because of this manager's rude behavior, we had decided to stay elsewhere. The waitress came with us to the front desk and begged us not to lodge a complaint as she would be fired. I did not want to jeopardize her job, so I have not written to management. As we were leaving, the front desk manager approached us and apologized for what had happened in the dining room. He said he would give us two rooms for $90 each. We agreed and did spend the night.

If you are looking for a Western style hotel, then this is probably the place for you. For me, if I ever go back to Lilongwe, I would stay at the Forrester Inn, Africa House, or Heuglins. I want to experience the culture and feel like I'm somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjl202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Fatma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank 성식 안
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tiene dos edificios. Yo me hospedé en el edificio que da al centro comercial. Pese a ello, el ruido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhgonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#5 of 13 in Lilongwe
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#4 of 13 in Lilongwe
108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 13 in Lilongwe
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 13 in Lilongwe
177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#7 of 13 in Lilongwe
117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#2 of 13 in Lilongwe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Peacock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Peacock Hotel

Address: Area 13 Plot Number 97 City Center | Along Presidential Drive, Lilongwe +265, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lilongwe
Price Range: £104 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Peacock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide business to all type of guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Atrapalo and Priceline so you can book your Golden Peacock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing