We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Africa House Malawi
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Lodging was good. The dinner was fairly mediocre. Internet was absolutely terrible when it was working. They should have multiple internet options available for example - Skyband and Globe available. This makes this a really poor option for business travelers.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank An0nym0us112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Africa House Malawi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I've been traveling to Malawi for work for about 3 years and love staying at Africa House. It's beautiful and cozy, the staff are wonderful and make you feel at home, and the gardens are lovely -- it's always so relaxing to stay here. Downsides are internet isn't always available throughout the lodge, and the food selection is quite limited. But it's a really beautiful space and the staff are truly excellent.

Room Tip: I especially love Egypt and Zanzibar rooms -- beautiful!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malawitraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I wish I could write two reviews for Africa house: a five-star review for vacation/holiday and a three-star review for business travelers. The property has hotel-like rooms with large friendly common areas that are great for lounging, reading, and impromptu social gatherings. The friendly atmosphere is conducive to making new social acquaintances. The food is good, but it's a guest-house arrangement: they offer one meal for dinner so you have to hope you like it. I always did, but if you're picky you may have a problem. The staff is friendly and the facility is always immaculately clean.

There is no internet in the rooms. The wifi reaches only a few meters outside the officer when it works at all. If you're there for vacation this offers the chance to get away from it all. If you're there for work, and work internationally, and depend on the internet for your job, this is a deal breaker so look elsewhere. Since this is a guest house, there is no business center.

Room Tip: The suites are very large and suitable for a longer stay. The non-suite rooms are tiny and really on...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Africa House is the perfect guest house. The building itself is beautiful, spacious and well designed. The rooms are large and comfortable with good facilities. The atmosphere is calm and peaceful and the staff are warm, friendly and attentive.

In comparison with other Lilongwe hotels and guests houses, Africa House has the nicest atmosphere - I think this is mostly because the staff are a very special group of people. They seem to genuinely enjoy their work and the company of their colleagues. It's not unusual to hear laughter and singing from the kitchen, or to see gardeners practising their somersaults on the lawn, cheered on by the manager. All this creates a relaxed and friendly environment that is a pleasure to return to at the end of a busy day - a bit like coming home to a family.

The service is excellent and every request receives a quick response. The food is very good and if you don't happen to fancy what is on the set menu, the chef will usually produce something else. (Or Ufulu Gardens is just across the road with a more extensive menu.)

For consultants or business people on work trips, if you don't want to be stuck in your room there are many quiet, cool places, indoors and outdoors, to set up a laptop and work undisturbed (using the free Wi-Fi which, for Malawi, is pretty reliable) or to hold a meeting. Families, children and couples come and go as well, and the place is spacious enough for everyone to enjoy it in their own way - whether working or holidaying.

The prices are very competitive and the best value I have seen in Lilongwe, especially if you get a long-stay discount.

I've tried other places in Lilongwe, but from now on I won't bother. Africa House is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I can't believe I didn't know about this place earlier. It's clean, it's gorgeous, it's comfortable. It's also in a quiet, residential neighborhood but not too far from town, nor the airport. It has a very beautiful ambiance and decor. It has a very competitive price, esp. when considering that internet is included. Rooms are clean. The restaurant makes great dinners and breakfast is also very good. They could provide a more extensive lunch menu, but they were happy to be flexible and provide items off menu. It makes for a lovely place for a work visit, even to hold small meetings. Service is almost too good. I will never stay anywhere else in Lilongwe now that I have discovered this gem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very lovely hotel with a great staff and beautiful ambiance. Breakfast is lovely. And the rooms are each themed as a different African country. I would definitely recommend this place anyone looking for a quiet place to work or relax.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank GES123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Fabulous guesthouse, reluctant to write a review just in case there is no room for me next time I visit Lilongwe! Lovely rooms, food was great, a little gym with all new equipment, pool and garden... all for a very reasonable price when comparing with hotels in Lilongwe. Friendly staff, personal touch, and wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms are larger as they become more expensive, but even the smaller rooms are lovely. The generator...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
4.7 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
95 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#5 of 12 in Lilongwe
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa House Malawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa House Malawi

Address: 43 Ufulu Road, Area, Lilongwe, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Lilongwe
Price Range: £72 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa House Malawi is a stylish contemporary lodge, created from a unique blend of African designs, furniture, fabrics and our personal collectables. The lodge has a varied collection of rooms, all en suite, and a restaurant for residents to dine in. Each room is named after an African country or culture and decorated in that particular style. During many years of experience and travel in Africa we have collected traditional arts and crafts; this collection shows how traditional cultures make use of locally available materials. Whether the material used is wood, stone, beads, paint, metal, fabric or leather, African people continue to make powerful statements about their cultures and create an extraordinary and rich heritage of artistic expression.This and working in the tourism and hospitality industry for more than 15 years, makes Africa House Malawi a true destination with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Africa House Malawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing