We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely gardens and pool but disapointing food”
Review of Ufulu Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ufulu Gardens
Ranked #5 of 25 Lilongwe B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely gardens and pool but disapointing food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Staff are friendly and helpful and this is a lovely setting. Gardens are just gorgeous, full of birds and flowers. But the place is looking tired and lacks a real sense of comfort. The room service food was consistently disappointing (once I was given no cutlery with which to eat it) and the local fish kept being off the menu.

There is no facility to change money, or ATM and only visa accepted which was inconvenient for me. The wifi is very good, but needs to be paid for separately by purchase of vouchers from reception, inconvenient

Why isn't there anywhere in the bars or restaurant that would make me a cappuccino?

I found my room too cold in the mornings and evenings, staying here in August. I couldn't make the Chinese aircon work to heat it up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    22
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
3
1
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Lovely garden setting with very nice setting for swimming pool and chalets. Can be a bit noisy weeknights amongst the chalets The staff are friendly and helpful and the location is ideal close to town but in the quite suburbs
A pity the attention to detail takes the edge off. Towels, water and room amenities not replced properly Garden maintenance between the chalets noisily getting down to work outside chalets early on weekend mornings but all in all well worth a stay compared to hotels in the city

Room Tip: Try get a room further away from the main service centre to take advantage of the quite location, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbovaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel has amazing, well kept grounds. The poolside area is beautiful as well as the out door eating area. The rooms are clean and are equipped with aircon. I would recommend this place to people however the food is so bad! If it is not cold because it took 50 minutes to arrive, it just doesn't taste as well as you hope it would from such a nice place. DO NOT eat at Ufulu Gardens. With that being said, amazing place to stay sans the food.

Room Tip: Eat out at another place in town. Breakfast is okay, you won't be missing much if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderfullAbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotels grounds are so beautiful. The many flies, cockroaches and other winged and multi-legged bugs not so. I was told the hotel has not been fumigated for a very long time, but had no way of verifying this. The television viewing was far from satisfactory, with a number of the 10 available channels not really clearly viewable (except if you like snow on your screen). The staff were lovely, always ready with a smile, but obviously need additional training.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ELG1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanark
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes in terms of accommodation, facilities and location - but the staff attitudes are dire. I stayed two nights on a recent work trip and hardly saw a smile from any person who worked there, far less any effort at true service. The menu in the restaurant was adequate for the two nights we stayed, but would have been very limited for a longer stay. My colleague had emailed a couple of weeks ahead to arrange a birthday cake for our first dinner but this did not materialise. Overall a disappointing experience, lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunloverLanark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are set in beautiful gardens and are clean and comfortable. Staff need training and could be more friendly and inviting. Food is ok, nothing special. The pool looks amazing! TV reception in rooms was poor.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Scamp1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was my third stay at Ufulu Gardens, this visit was 5 nights, The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable and room 38 had mosquito netting. Air con, internet, fridge, television all worked very well. Staff is friendly and helpful. The overall area is well landscaped, quiet, and really nice particularly when you come back from business, it is very easy to relax. Food is OK and if you stay there was a long time you may find the menu a bit limited. I plan to continue to stay there as I prefer the peace and quiet in the mornings and evenings and the opportunity to relax, take a dip in the pool, and enjoy my "down" time. It is out of the city, but VERY close the city. It provides all that I need and more at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several rooms and found them all nice, some had mosquito netting, some did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
1.9 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#2 of 12 in Lilongwe
168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
203 reviews
4.8 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
4.5 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latitude 13 Hotel
Latitude 13 Hotel
#3 of 48 in Lilongwe
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ufulu Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ufulu Gardens

Property: Ufulu Gardens
Address: 43-365 Ufulu Road | Lilongwe 43, Lilongwe, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ufulu Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ufulu Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing