We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The oasis in the desert!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The upgraded wing of the hotel has well designed modern rooms - quite a ramp up!
Menus have been upgraded - quite positive.
Beware of the trinket seller in the reception area - thumbrule - he quotes 5-10 times of what he should depending on your nationality ;)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samirkapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip and was upgraded to the business class room. The room was very modern and spacious. The food is expensive however the quantity is very good. I ordered a soup you will not believe it was enough for 2-3 persons.
Overall this is the best hotel in Bamako to stay...

Room Tip: Choose business class room
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank yogeshgarg2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A five star hotel!!!with a comedy of errors every day.Staff (not all) who do not care and never do what they say they are going to do.I see a lot of managers,some doing nothing,others trying,but the place is extremely poorly managed!Not expecting perfection, however having to put up with the following every day demonstrates a lack of care to a customer who does spend a lot of money at the hotel.

No Water in the shower every other day
No Hot water for 5 days
TV not working for 3 days
Internet not working.Cannot get it repaired as the technician does not start until...(business hotel!)
Laundry missing for 2 days
wrong laundry arrives.
1.5 hours for a salad
wrong food on many ocassions
Rude staff
Rooms not cleaned properly
The promise of another room due to noise-straight away sir.........3 days later.Still in same room
In restaurant and Breakfast-lots of staff but no action

However on a positive note.....................let me come back to you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveBamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is poorly run by a GM who stays in his office. They have some good staff but they are not being managed.

To many inefficiencies throughout, lost laundry, no television, no phones, phone to reception gets you another room, knocking when do not disturb is shown

Requests for assistance are very rarely dealt with ASAP if at all

Food is poor and expensive with little or no change to the menu

Bathrooms smell like kitchen waste

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel have a very poor if any view and all balconies are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

On the plus side the rooms are fairly nice, nice bathrooms and clean, Internet is fairly reliable. Staff is friendly and speak English. On the down side, it is quite pricy. There is one restaurant and it is very expensive AND every slow. A soft drink is about $5 for a can. Service charge not included so you are expected to tip on top of that. Even with that i would probavly give this a 4 star, but there are three things that really bring this down to a 3 star for me. First, the airport pick up service is very unreliable and given that flights in from France arrive late at night and there doesn't seem to be any sort of formal taxi service from the airport, this was a problem for me. When my colleague arrived a day or so before me the pick up was late to arrive. In my case the driver just never came. When I contacted the hotel they told me to just find a taxi on my own. As a single woman, at night, who does not speak French, I found this to be an unacceptable solution. Second, the breakfast. The food is just so-so, which is fairly typical for a hotel, but worse, staff don't seem to be trained to provide any service beyond picking up dirty dishes. They do not bring coffee around; every morning I have to go up to the waiters counter and pour it myself, thou I have noticed that when some groups come in they are immediately brought a pot fo their own so maybe they just have their favorites. I have never been offered a refill of coffee. They are not particularly good at keeping food refreshed or resetting table either. And third, the pool appears to be open to the public so if often crowded. I was there on business and after a full week of 12 hour days and running from meeting to meeting when I finally got a break on Saturday afternoon I was really looking forward to relaxing by the pool. No chance. The pool was swamped with people, mostly locals and not hotel guests. There was no seating available anywhere near the pool, which was full of kids and teenagers, with club style music blaring, and when I finally found a seat in a far corner, I was out of sight and out of mind and could not even get someone to take a drink order for me. I understand guests come and go and local pool users are steady business, but at the rates the Radisson charges, I can't help but be annoyed that I can't really use the full services that are supposed to be on offer. Likewise, the gym, which is quite small, sells external memberships and so was quite busy before and after work whenever I tried to use it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrangeZoneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The rooms are large and well appointed. No shortage of hot water and fast free Internet. The food is outstanding and the service is top notch. The price is high, but you get what you pay for. I stayed at the hotel for four nights and enjoyed the entire time. The security at the hotel is better than most and with the German military staying there, you feel safe. Definitely will stay here again during my next trip to Bamako.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Jens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

the Radisson Blu in Bamako might not have the greatest exterior appeal but once inside this hotel is everything you would expect from a world class chain hotel.

Friendly and efficient check in and reception staff. Modern design and comfort.
The rooms are spacious and very nice. Food is of a great quality and taste.

Its a bit pricy and one has to pay extra for breakfast. This is something I would have expected to be included, especially since this is fast becoming a world wide standard to offer breakfast within a room charge.

The pool is a bit small but it was so warm outside that I preferred to stay inside in the conditioned confines of the hotel.

Overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is opening a new wing with "newer" rooms very soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamako hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Loft
Hotel Le Loft
#1 of 38 in Bamako
77 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azalai Hotel Salam
Azalai Hotel Salam
#22 of 38 in Bamako
113 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azalai Grand Hotel
Azalai Grand Hotel
#6 of 38 in Bamako
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
#14 of 38 in Bamako
48 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Coccinelle
Hotel La Coccinelle
#7 of 38 in Bamako
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
#5 of 38 in Bamako
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako

Address: ACI 2000, Hamdallaye, Bamako 2566, Mali (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bamako
#2 Business Hotel in Bamako
Price Range: £101 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako Hotel Bamako
Bamako Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing