We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly but Safe for the Region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Mumbai
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Costly but Safe for the Region”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and I must recommend this for the safety and security that the hotel provides in the premises in commendable. The rooms are pretty small for the property rating. Also while they have 5 star standards, free complimentary water is provided only on the first day and not thereafter. Complained a no of times for the bathroom issues for flow of water, but never got addressed in the entire tenure. The breakfast is filling and with good variety of fruits and other hot and cold offerings. Overall a good hotel for peaceful stay in Mali (Bamako)

Room Tip: Ask for bigger rooms with better room interiors and structure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BK_TheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear BK,

On my name and through my Staff I would like to thank you for taking your time in posting your comments on Tripadvisor and appreciate that globally you enjoyed your stay with us in the Radisson Blu Bamako,

We look forward having the pleasure greeting you again in the near future when you travel back to Mali and please accept our best regards

Yours sincerely

Gary ELLIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    116
    61
    19
    5
See reviews for
6
8
20
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is quite nice for business travellers. Service here is excellent, although the cab drivers can be another story. Taxis here charge by the hour but try to negotiate a good rate at the beginning rather than waiting until the end. Otherwise they will try to spend as much time driving you around to charge you the maximum fare.

It was very warm when I came in April so I didn't end up spending any time by the pool, but something nice they do is mist cool air outdoors so that at dinnertime, if you're eating outside, it's not too hot.

The food selection here is a bit limited but if you like pizza you have lots of options. They have a great outdoor pizza oven and barbecue stand, in addition to the standard fare. You also have the option of either eating out by the pool or indoors. Breakfast here is very similar to other Radisson Blus but whilst they have plenty of juice options, there is a limited variety of cold cuts.

The internet was a bit slower than I expected, but it worked and that's always a plus! It was difficult to Skype/FaceTime but otherwise most websites loaded at an average speed.

Compared with other Radisson Blus, this hotel had wonderful pillows. Most Carlson hotels have pretty awful pillows that are too soft and collapse, but these pillows were nice and firm. Sleep quality here was great!

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeripateticToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sir,

On my name and through my Staff here in the Radison Blu Bamako, we would like to thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us,

We look forward having the pleasure greeting you again when you have the occasion to come back to Mali and hope that we will continue giving you entire satisfaction,

Wishing you a very pleasant day,

Best regards
Gary ELLIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel has the potential to be great but it is only average at best. The bathroom was just not well maintained with very visible stains everywhere. Staff did just enough and didn't go out of its way to please customers. Serious room for improvement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Senam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

I would first off all like to thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor and will surely use them to improve what you said in order to meet we hope your expectaions if we have the pleasure greeting you again in the near future in the Radisson Blu Bamako,

Yours sincerely
Gary ELLIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was staggered and relieved to end up in this hotel. I paid for a business class room, which was excellent for the solo traveller and worthwhile.
The usual West African caveats apply regarding food and service, but this is at the better end of the spectrum.
Safe, clean, good internet.
Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubai_tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madame,

We would like to thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Radisson Blu Bamako and look forward greeting you again when you travel back to Mali,

Best regards
Gary ELLIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week in early April. I was spoiled since I was given a Business Class room -- the bar in the room was a particularly nice touch. You'll find all the amenities in this hotel; the outside pool and covered table areas made evening refreshment time fun, and the band on Friday night was very classy. Breakfast is good, but pricey, so I only indulged once. I didn't try the fitness room; as others have said, the number of billeted NATO soldiers and other guests seem to keep it busy. As for my room's quality, it was very nice. The sink in my room didn't hold water, but I chose not to make a big deal of it. Never figured out how to make the bedside lamps work; not sure if they were there for show, or whether the switches were too sophisticated for me! The bed was very firm -- I like that. Don't know the firmness compares with other hotels in the city. Wifi connection was a bit of a challenge to connect, but I managed to do so with my iphone after only a few minutes of waiting and patience. However, the process had to be repeated nightly. The hotel staff is helpful. I'll be back soon and look forward to another stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are shaped around the inner foyer; probably better not to be facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesFroggies2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Mrs Herndon,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to post your comments on Tripadvisor, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Radisson Blu Bamako,

We look forward greeting you again in the near future and thank you for the confidence you show for us,

Yours sincerely

Gary ELLIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I travel extensively in Africa and of course expect western style accommodations when I'm in places like Johannesburg. In other places, the selections can be quite hit or miss. The radisson blu in Bamako was a real surprise. It's certainly not 5 stars by western standards but a truly excellent hotel for a place like Mali. The room was very well appointed with modern shower. The internet was mostly fast. And the restaurant offered very good ( quite delicious) continental cuisine. Even the wine selection was not bad. I highly recommend it

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dannyindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

May we firstly thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor and are plesed to read that we gave you satisfaction,
On my name and through the Staff we look forward greeting you again in the near future and wish you a very pleasant continuation,

Best regards
Gary ELLIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Modern hotel with nice rooms. Mine had two areas- half was the bedroom and bathroom and the other a living room and kitchenette. Outdoor pool area is nice to unwind after a day traveling or in the city. There are several security guards who limit both vehicle a pedestrian access. Only complaint was the $40 US cost for a bag of laundry- yikes!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Sir,

In my name and on behalf of my Team, we would like to thank you for the time you took to post your reveiw and are extremely happy to see that you enjouyed your stay here in the Radisson Blu Bamako, we hope to have the pleasure greeting you again soon and in the meantime please accept our kind regards

Sincerely
Gary ELLIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamako hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Loft
Hotel Le Loft
#1 of 38 in Bamako
75 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azalai Grand Hotel
Azalai Grand Hotel
#7 of 38 in Bamako
78 reviews
2.3 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
#5 of 38 in Bamako
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Azalai Hotel Salam
Azalai Hotel Salam
#17 of 38 in Bamako
111 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Coccinelle
Hotel La Coccinelle
#6 of 38 in Bamako
86 reviews
2.5 mi away
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
#25 of 38 in Bamako
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
Address: ACI 2000, Hamdallaye, Bamako 2566, Mali (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bamako
#2 Business Hotel in Bamako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako Hotel Bamako
Bamako Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing