We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, despite regional instability”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel just finished a significant renovation and addition. I stayed in the new 'wing' of the hotel and was very impressive with it's new, crisp and modern feel, with every basic amenity you could want or need. I had a great wifi connection, although a friend staying in the older portion of the hotel stated he had a weak/sporadic signal. The bar and lounge area were nice, relaxing and well staffed. The customer service was varied (i.e., above and beyond or missing in action). The outdoor balcony area overlooking the pool was very nice, although there was some construction/renovations going on near the pool. By far the morning breakfast buffet was excellent and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing. If you're going to rent a car, do so through the hotel as it mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Convienient location in ACI 2000, very courteous staff for French speakers. Restaurants are ok but service is slow. Excellent breakfast buffet. Rooms are well furnished by Bamako standards ( you do need to have an IQ of 180 to figure out the shower in the business suite rooms)

The recent annex with standard rooms offer a better alternative for the business traveller. Good spa available with qualified staff.

Overall a soothing experience in Bamako and recommended as the hotel of choice in Bamako.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AWOL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Permettez moi tout d'abord de vous remercier d'avoir poster vos commentaires sur Tripadvisor en ce qui concerne votre recent séjour chez nous au Radisson Blu de Bamako et nous sommes contents de lire que vous avez été content de nos prestations et esperons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir trés bientot

Meilleurs salutation
Gary ELLIS
Directeur Générale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Overall a nice hotel. It is not Beverly Hills 5-star but it is ideal for where it is.
Staff are friendly, service is good, breakfast is great (coffee will be slow to the Americans distress). It is a fair distance from the airport but they can get you a cab easy enough.
Difficult thing was the WiFi, worked fine for the laptop but for the Android it was tricky. Took me a while to figure that out. Check the Wifi reception in your room on the first night, some of our group had great reception, others had zero the whole time they were there and were miserable.
Learn to speak a few words of the local language and see the people smile and come alive to you.
I enjoyed it, I look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Check the AC is functional and also run the shower to ensure you get hot water before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mr Richard,

I would like to thank you for taking your time posting your comments on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay with us in the Radisson Blu Bamako,

We apoligize for the inconveiniences that you lived and will work on them to assure that on your next visit we will look up to your expectations,

Looking forward greeting you again in the near future

Yours sincerely
Gary ELLIS
Generale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Suleman on front desk was a pleasure to deal with; I'm afraid that's where the positives end. No shower (a bath with a handheld water head that doesn't have a wall bracket is not a shower), room service food standard was not impressive and left 9/10's of it, internet constantly dropping out, asked for transport to the airport and was told no. It was only after a call from a local work colleague that they called me back and said oh actually it's ok now. I had 4 knocks at my door within an hour, 2 of them no idea what they wanted and one woman was so unimpressed that I couldn't speak French that she looked me up and down and sneered at me like I had done something terribly wrong. For the best Bamako could get, it's far from good. I'd recommend Raddison commit some resources to training and room detail.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Quindalup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

I thank you for taking your time to share your comments on Tripadvisor on your recent stay with us in the Radisson Blu Bamako and will work on your comments to improve the service we deliver,

Yours sincerely
Gary ELLIS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place suffers. It suffers from the total lack of competition. In a normal functioning economy this place would have been empty. This place has one advantage: it is nicely located. Everything else is horrible. The staff is of ridiculously low quality, have no manners and are dreadfully arrogant. I came with a longstanding reservation. It took the hotel 3 hours to give me the room - I only entered it at 19:00 in the evening and I did not even get an excuse. The rooms are decent but small and terribly expensive for what you get. The cleaning could be considerably improved and why is it so difficult to get a fresh towel every day????? The food? Yes it is food. It stops there. Slow, not tasty and greatly overpriced. Of you can, stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zevadrouilleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay with us in the Radisson Blu Bamako and are extremely sorry what you experienced, which does not reflect the normal service we deliver to our geusts.

We will work on your comments to improve ourselves and hope to have the pleasure greeting you again in the near future

Yours sincerely
Gary ELLIS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Congratulations to the staff of this hotel for their friendship and expertism. I was very happy to spend my Business Week end at this hotel because it is the best of Bamako and Mali hotels and very adapted for Business more than my Office or Home! There is nothing better than having a Super Breakfast with ALL products needed! Oh! the Lunch and Diner Buffets are sooo good

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Darebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mr Mrs Darebe,

I would like to thank you on my behalf and on all my Staffs behalf for having taken your time to post your comments on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay with us in the Radisson Blu Bamako,

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward having the pleasure we hope greeting you again in the very near future,

Yours sincerely
Gary ELLIS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Feels like an airport, with high security, high prices and a nightly milling of Air France crews in the lobby bar. The rooms are fine: international, standard.
But it's badly finished and maintained. The room phone didn't work. There was no hook on the bathroom wall for the shower head and no shower curtain to stop the floor and the toilet paper hanging off the bathtub from getting wet. When the holder fell off the tub it sat on the side all week.
The pool was cloudy and shedding tiles.
Breakfast was $26, nearly a week's wages for the average Malian.
All this said, if you want the convenience and comforts of a large commercial hotel, this is the best option in Bamako.



Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank TrotterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your time posting your comments on Tripadvisor as for your recent stay with us in the Radisson Blu Bamako and are sorry for the inconveiniences you had during this stay,

We will work on your comments to up grade our services and hope to have the pleasure greeting you again in the near future,

Best regards
Gary ELLIS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamako hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Loft
Hotel Le Loft
#1 of 38 in Bamako
77 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azalai Hotel Salam
Azalai Hotel Salam
#18 of 38 in Bamako
114 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azalai Grand Hotel
Azalai Grand Hotel
#6 of 38 in Bamako
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
#14 of 38 in Bamako
48 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Coccinelle
Hotel La Coccinelle
#7 of 38 in Bamako
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
#5 of 38 in Bamako
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako

Address: ACI 2000, Hamdallaye, Bamako 2566, Mali (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bamako
#2 Business Hotel in Bamako
Price Range: £96 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Rezidor, Evoline ltd, Jovago.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako Hotel Bamako
Bamako Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing